We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Sports Bar”
Review of The Green Turtle

The Green Turtle
Ranked #15 of 60 Restaurants in La Plata
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Sevierville, TN
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fun Sports Bar”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Spent an evening with friends at Green Turtle. Enjoyed patio area and drink specials. Had fish tacos which were great. Someone ordered the nachos too. The price was not cheap but not overly priced. The service was great. Very friendly young lady. We watched part of Monday night football game on one of the many large screen TV's. We left by 10:30 so not sure about the late night crowd. I would go back if in the area again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TripTaker83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    17
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Late night dinner”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Loud music from bar made it difficult to carry on a conversation.

Food was good.

One of our party found something in his dinner. It was handled well and he was not charged for any meal.

Drinks took a long time to arrive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPlata, MD
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Young Crowd, kind of noisy”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

typical chain, nothing great, OK, decent value. Concret floors, simple, youthful decor, sports bar atmosphere, live music some Saturday nights

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tomrealest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“DO NOT ORDER TAKE OUT FROM THE GREEN TURTLE!!!!!”
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We are new to the area and decided to try the Green Turtle, it was a lazy Saturday and decided to call in and go pick it up or have it delivered. To start off, when I called and asked if they delivered the girl said yes so I proceeded to give her our order and then after I was finished I then proceeded to give her our address and she said "Why do I need your address?" I said "to deliver our order..." she laughed like a school girl and said "oh we don't deliver" I replied with "you said you did?" and she giggled again and said she got confused. Really??!! Well on top of that frustration...we went and picked up the food. It is a 10 minute trip (round trip) and the food was HORRIBLE!!! It was cold and had no flavor and way too greasy!!! My husband and I looked at each other after 2 bites and dumped $34 in the trash. That's how much we paid to fill up our trash can. Disgusting, horrible food and less than intelligent staff. Note to the town of La Plata....don't waste your money or your time at the Green Turtle.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank AbbeeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good sports bar”
Reviewed January 10, 2010

My girlfriend and I eat here all the time. I would say that it is my favorite sports bar in the area. The food is normally very tasting, and most things are a good value for the money. There are TVs all over the place, including in your booth so you can watch whatever you desire. Sometimes on really crowded days the service may lack a bit, but that is to be expected.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RebelKB475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Turtle also viewed

 

Been to The Green Turtle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing