We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home during Sandy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express La Plata

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express La Plata to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express La Plata
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6860 Crain Highway, La Plata, MD 20646 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in La Plata
St. Leonard, MD
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home during Sandy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I am a nurse and work at the local hospital and this hotel is convenient for me to get to if I cannot get home because of bad weather.

I stayed here previously when it was a Sleep Inn, and this stay during hurricane Sandy was the first time I stayed here since it became a Holiday Inn Express. The facility was ok as a Sleep Inn, but has improved now that it is a Holiday Inn Express.

Everyone on the staff, especically Donna, was kind, friendly and helpful. The room was cl iean, and the bed was comfortable. The towels in the bath were soft and fluffy.

There is more selection with the morning breakfast and the cinamon buns are to die for....
Hopefully we will have another mild winter in Maryland and I won't have to use this facililty any time soon, but i know that if I do, that I will get a good nights sleep and be comfortable during my stay..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murka69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    34
    12
    7
    12
See reviews for
31
11
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
D.C. Metro (Maryland side)
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Let me start by saying that with hotels there are two things that mkae a hotel a hit or a miss, Service and cleanliness! This hotel was a big hit with both.

The Good - The cleanliness. Overall it was a clean hotel, nothing dirty, everything in it's place, and a pleasant atmosphere. It is not a place you walk into and say OMG look how new and shiny this place is, but it is definitely good. The rooms were stocked nicely, the sheets were clean, and I got 6 pillows instead of my usualy request for 8.

The Great - The Service. The entire staff seemed dedicated to making sure that every need or desire (appropriate ones) were met if within their power. Despite the hotel being completley booked, they were able to make me feel like my wife and I were the only people there. We also got the room with the jaccuzzi right in the bedroom! Seriously, a holday inn express that has a jaccuzzi right in the bedroom so you can bath and watch tv to your hearts content! I will make sure whenever I am in this area I stay at this hotel! Definitely a place worth going to for enjoyment.

Why You'd Avoid - Location Location Location. The Hotel is right across the street from a sheriff station and a jail. While it is true most criminals want to be as far away from cops as they can, it still creates a slightly uneasy feeling. Don't get me wrong, I am definitely going to stay at this hotel again, but I think if this makes you uneasy, you should know.

Overall a great experience. The staff was amazing, was willing to give great recomendations on what to do, or eat, or whatever. Thank you for renewing my faith in small town Holiday inn expresses. Gosh I love the pancake makers!

Room Tip: Get the Jaccuzzi room! SOOOOOO worht it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blewjaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This holiday inn express is a great place to stay. We stayed here this past weekend attending a wedding in the area. It is in a good location with plenty of places to eat around it. The beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms were spotless.We asked for a room with 2 queen size beds and not only did we get that the room also had a couch with a pull out. For just an ordinary hotel we were very pleased with our stay here. they also offer a good breakfast in the morning with plenty of choices complimentary.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel was very easy to find on what seems to be a main strip and is located among many shopping malls. It was recently renovated. The front desk staff is very nice, friendly and helpful, both the evening and morning person. Breakfast was hot, plentiful and varied. Very pleased and will definitely be back. The room was comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

The Holiday Inn Express in La Plata, MD is just off the main road through the county (301/Crain Road) which, if going south, goes all the way to the toll bridge into Virginia (maybe a 20 minute drive), and if going north, will take you up to the routes towards the beltway around Washington, DC (probably a 45 min drive).

The hotel is nice and looks like most well kept Holiday Inn Expresses. Large lobby, small pool and gym, and meeting areas. It isn't as large as other HIE's we have stayed in, but even so, the rooms were amazingly large. We had a king room, which came with a sleeper sofa. The bathroom had a walk-in shower (no door, you just step in and walk a few steps to the shower), which might be ideal for anyone who has trouble getting in and out of a shower.

The hotel is near all kinds of shopping, restaurants, and a short ride to historic La Plata. It is good value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Finally there is a HIE in this area. I stayed here on business in mid-August and was pleasantly surprised how nice the property was. This hotel is $20-$25 less expensive than the hotels that are in Waldorf, plus the hotel is brand new and everything looks nice and fresh. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7Patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

They have completed a top notch renovation at this location. Our rooms were beautiful. Slept awesome! Quiet air conditioner. White fluffy towels & plenty of them. Good shower head. Cookies in the lobby & 24 hour coffee (good coffee too, not that weak hotel coffee) & tea service. Military discount too! There are plenty of restaurants on Crain Highway. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rlburch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Plata
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus La Plata Inn
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Waldorf
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Waldorf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Waldorf
Hampton Inn Waldorf
#3 of 12 in Waldorf
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
12.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in King George
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
7.9 mi away
Courtyard Waldorf
Courtyard Waldorf
#5 of 12 in Waldorf
4.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express La Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express La Plata

Property: Holiday Inn Express La Plata
Address: 6860 Crain Highway, La Plata, MD 20646 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > La Plata
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in La Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express La Plata 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express La Plata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn La Plata
La Plata Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing