We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Unique local place that has potential” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crossing at Casey Jones

The Crossing at Casey Jones
Ranked #11 of 61 Restaurants in La Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unique local place that has potential”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Very good food but poor service they need more servers great sle
slection on draft

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BroncoTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    26
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lusby, MD
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sat. Dinner....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Our group of 4 had 4 different dishes. I think the medium-rare lamb was a bit underdone. The scallops were excellent. One person had the fish and chips appetizer as an entree. The french fries were the most thinly sliced ones I've ever seen. The skirt steak special was so salty it was nearly inedible. When I said something to the server she explained it was the teriyaki sauce. For quite a fews years I've had lunch and dinner here, and as usual, the best part is the desserts. Our group of 4 had 3 different desserts which were all excellent. The overall cost was $50 per person.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dressage62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome pizza, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

My husband and I go here quite often. It's close to our house and the food is always good. Of course, we almost always order their pizza... the Mediterranian and Three Cheese pizzas are my fav!! We've ordered other things off the menu and they're good too, although just kind of your typical american fare. The wait staff is freindly and the service is good. I like sitting in the rail room. It's casual but nice and still allows for a romantic evening (away from the bar atmosphere).

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland
1 review
“Really nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

I don't get the reviews that are printed but it made me want to write one. I've been to this place three times now and had the best experience ever. I've sat in two of their different spaces and had a great time in each one. The food is great and the staff always makes nice recommendations. I'd just say its friendly and I've had a great time and look forward to going back. Its nice that there is an alternative to chain food that isn't the usual dive.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
167 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Class Act... amazing food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Very nice place for a special dinner... the food is great. They also have a pub on the same property that offers shall I say, gourmet bar food... hand made pizzas, NOT frozen and gets a fun crowd young to old.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crossing at Casey Jones also viewed

 

Been to The Crossing at Casey Jones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing