We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, both Waldorf and LaPlata” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Tolteca

La Tolteca
6625 Crain Hwy, La Plata, MD 20646-4287
301-934-2802
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 54 Restaurants in La Plata
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good food, both Waldorf and LaPlata”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Waldorf location is the first and my favorite but the food is always great and the staff and owners are wonderful!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michele83MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reedville, Virginia, Usa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great specials!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Specials always good & authentic! Ask for salsa picante. All pork & fish tacos wonderful. Chips are homemade. Servers are friendly.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rvrlady01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favor and just go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Great food and great margaritas. Both very affordable. Just go. You'll prob see us there.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LetsGoCaps83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
135 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Mexican Restaurant owned by Mexicans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

La Tolteca Restaurant in La Plata, Maryland, is a sister restaurant to its namesake in Waldorf. Both are owned by a family from the State of Jalisco in Mexico, west of Mexico City. The La Plata restaurant is larger than the other and decorated more in the Spanish colonial style. The menu features Mexican staples - burritos, enchiladas, tacos, quesadillas. Unlike Tex-Mex franchise restaurants, it serves cooked to order meals with ample side dishes like refried beans, rice, tomatoes and guacamole. Dinner for two, without alcohol, typically runs about $20.00, a great value for an order-from-the-table restaurant. Like the meals, mixed drinks are very generous.

The staff is friendly. The owners are often there, and they remember their repeat customers.It is a pleasant place to eat.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeFlynnLaPlataMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“We love to meet here for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

About half way between my house and my daughter, that's why we started coming here. We keep coming back because of the food and service. Love the white cheese dip and chips! And they do special requests that have always turned out great. Every server we've had has been good, helpful and quick. Price is reasonable. We don't often drink since it's a couple hours drive for each of us, but I did have a margarita on a couple of occasions, and they are really good. Atmosphere is the usual mexican restaurant in a strip mall, but who cares if the food is good!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tolteca also viewed

 

Been to La Tolteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing