We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret”
Review of Royal Tea Room - CLOSED

Royal Tea Room
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Had a tea party for my 8 year old niece here. We had a blast and the staff was wonderful. I love the look of the establishment and appreciated how they were able to alter the princess tea on the menu to my niece and her friends liking. We have visited many times and enjoy going to have tea during holidays like Mother's Day and Christmas. The food is yummy as well!

Helpful?
1 Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indian Head, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“crab cake”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

the crab cake was delicious and so was the crab soup

service was very good ,made a few errors however that is expected.

food took A long time

but that is normal on a busy day

i would definitely recommend

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brittany c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Alton, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good for La Plata”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The review title was my wife's comment, and she would consider it praise. I an stingy in offering 4 stars for restaurants, but would have provided for this place except for one thing, mentioned below. Appetizer of fried pickles and cream of crab soup were both very good. Excellent breading on the pickles. My Reuben sandwich was also very good, packed with corned beef. While I customarily only finish only half a deli sandwich, I felt compelled to eat all of this Reuben. My wife and daughter each had the roast beef sandwich. Each was piled with enough roast beef for three people( there were carry-outs). The roast beef was flavorful and tender, very well done. While the beef was not dry, when eaten on a French roll it would have been "very good" instead of just "good" if it had been served "au jus." The restaurant, formerly an old home, was nicely decorated, the ambience quiet, and the service very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank phd842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite place in town for lunch!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I love everything about this place. Food is always wonderful! They have the best cream of crab soup ever. Just a darling quaint place, and I always have a great time there. Such an asset for La Plata.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winslow, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Sit back and enjoy”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I wanted to find a nice place for my daughter's baby shower. We rented the Royalty Tea Room this May and had a wonderful time. The food was excellent and the service was fast and courteous.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tymtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Tea Room also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing