We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bike In, Hike In, Car In to the Harpers Ferry HI Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
HI Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a small (33 beds plus campground) seasonal (spring, summer, autumn) hostel. Groups can rent the entire hostel during the winter as well as during the "season."

Clean, good hot water, and comfortable beds. The kitchen is immaculate. The common room/living room is comfortable and inviting. A computer with free WiFi and board games are available in the common room with its impressive 19th century fireplace.

Breakfast is usually hostel guest made pancakes from a batter prepared by the hostel manager. Juice, milk, coffee, additional breakfast foods are available usually free. Snack foods are available for a price.

Of note is the "Rosie the Riveter" Room and the family bedroom in addition to the normal hostel dorm rooms. The "Rosie the Riveter" room is dedicated to the many women who worked in local and national manufacturing plants during World War II. A number of these women were instrumental in founding this hostel.

There is a horse shoe pitch; frisbee, volleyball, or badminton equipment for use by the hostel guests.

Harpers Ferry is a National Historic Park. Gettysburg & other U. S. Civil War battle sites are near by.

If you are arriving via foot or bike from either the Appalachian Trail or the C&O Canal Trail, exit the Appalachian Trial/C&O Canal at mile post 59 C&O Canal, (US 340) and make your way, .3 mi./.3 km. to the hostel. You will have to very carefully cross the railroad tracks at US 340 and turn east on to Sandy Hook Rd. This is a main line railroad with at least 17 trains per day. You will not hear the trains at the Hostel, trees & other vegetation block the sound. You will have to climb a hill. If you've come this far on either trail then this hill is a piece of cake! See directions on the HI Harpers Ferry Hostel web page.

There are shuttle services from Harpers Ferry, WV, just across the confluence of the Potomac & Shenandoah Rivers from Knoxville MD. The Hostel itself does not have a shuttle service unless some hostel guest with a car is willing to pick up hikers or bicyclists.

There is MARC (Brunswick Line) & Amtrak transportation from Washington DC. There is very limited or no municipal bus service between the Hostel & Harpers Ferry, WV/towns in Maryland or Virginia and the Hostel. This lack of municipal bus routes is a failing of the USA's public bus system.

The current resident manager, L. S., is very efficient and accommodating. The hostel is a one person (the manager) plus a half or quarter time staff person operation. Make certain you clean up after yourself, as all hostels throughout the world request hostel guests to do. She does not have an automobile.

The hostel office has limited hours. Check the HIusa.org web site.

Room Tip: Dorm rooms; two special private rooms Rosie the Riveter Room & the Family Bedroom. There is an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harvey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 29 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a quiet little hostel in the woods that feels like home. It's about a mile from downtown Harpers Ferry. The C&O Canal trail and AT pass by the hostel, but you have to cross the railroad tracks to take the short way there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElementDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Went here with ten Boy Scouts and tent camped. Went bicycle riding on the c&o. Loretta was very nice and welcoming. We cooked breakfast and dinner in their kitchen. They provided the pancake batter and add ins. Kitchen and bathrooms were clean. Nice screened pavilion for campers and volleyball net too. Would stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank ppt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed at the HI Harpers Ferry Hostel recently with over 100 scouts and a dozen counselors. We had the whole place all to ourselves and it was a great experience for all. We set up 15 ten man tents for the kids in the yard and had a great view of the Potomack river from the hostel's location in high ground.

In addition to the location, the one thing that makes this hostel special if the attentive and personal service of Manager Loretta. Although we were such a large group she was there 24/7 to make sure all of our needs were being met.

If you are in the area or hiking on the trail, make it a point to stay here at least one night. You will not regret it, rather you will enjoy it. Free food, free wi-fi and a small convenience store on property for any snacks or drinks.

Room Tip: If you want privacy ask for one of the two private rooms. If you are setting up a tent, pick a locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WIKITRAVELPEDIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I went to Harper's Ferry for the weekend with my friend and we stayed at the HI- Harper's Ferry hostel for all three days we were there. We got a private room for a great price! The hostel was clean, and the staff was fantastic and very friendly! They treated us just like family! Loretta cooked us a wonderful meal in the evenings and even stayed up a little later to let us in after the ghost tour. (They close their doors at 10pm) The only negative of this place is that the fastest way there from town is walking down a road with no sidewalk at night. We were told though that there is a hiking path that connects to the canal trail so we could have had that option if we chose to hike a bit longer. I would stay at this place again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We had a private room near the kitchen. (It's the family room) If you choose this room and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarrWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Chose to get away from DC with my girlfriend for the weekend and needed a cheap place to stay. The Harpers Ferry Hostel was a great place for our short stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. I called and was able to reserve a private room for only $40.00 which is a great price. The Hostel is clean with a friendly atmosphere and perfectly located on the C&O Canal and close by to the Maryland Heights Trail and other Harpers Ferry trials and attractions. They had a free pancake breakfast in the mornings, offered dinner options (for a small $5 donation), free internet and a relaxing common area that felt just like your living room. Only negative is since they don't staff the Hostel 24/7 they do close their doors at 10:00 so if you do go out to another town for dinner or a drink make sure to be back before they 10:00. Overall a great, cheap, friendly and comfortable stay that will be visited again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 276Robb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

drove from Dulles to here at 11pm Thursday night.Easy with GPS. Driveway entry is ( from Dulles) upward left turn through gates. Large flat car park at rear , with grassed flat yard. Can see the rivers from the rear property boundary. Very clean inside, great modern sperate toilets. Good kitchen & lounge. Twin bunked room was sufficient for 2 people. Short drive to Harpers Ferry village

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janellesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HI Knoxville Harpers Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Knoxville Harpers Ferry

Address: 19123 Sandyhook Rd, Knoxville, MD 21758-1330
Location: United States > Maryland > Knoxville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Knoxville
Price Range: $29 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your HI Knoxville Harpers Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing