We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Tent camped, nice place, friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HI Knoxville Harpers Ferry

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HI Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Baltimore, Md
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tent camped, nice place, friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Went here with ten Boy Scouts and tent camped. Went bicycle riding on the c&o. Loretta was very nice and welcoming. We cooked breakfast and dinner in their kitchen. They provided the pancake batter and add ins. Kitchen and bathrooms were clean. Nice screened pavilion for campers and volleyball net too. Would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ppt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
5
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed at the HI Harpers Ferry Hostel recently with over 100 scouts and a dozen counselors. We had the whole place all to ourselves and it was a great experience for all. We set up 15 ten man tents for the kids in the yard and had a great view of the Potomack river from the hostel's location in high ground.

In addition to the location, the one thing that makes this hostel special if the attentive and personal service of Manager Loretta. Although we were such a large group she was there 24/7 to make sure all of our needs were being met.

If you are in the area or hiking on the trail, make it a point to stay here at least one night. You will not regret it, rather you will enjoy it. Free food, free wi-fi and a small convenience store on property for any snacks or drinks.

Room Tip: If you want privacy ask for one of the two private rooms. If you are setting up a tent, pick a locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WIKITRAVELPEDIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I went to Harper's Ferry for the weekend with my friend and we stayed at the HI- Harper's Ferry hostel for all three days we were there. We got a private room for a great price! The hostel was clean, and the staff was fantastic and very friendly! They treated us just like family! Loretta cooked us a wonderful meal in the evenings and even stayed up a little later to let us in after the ghost tour. (They close their doors at 10pm) The only negative of this place is that the fastest way there from town is walking down a road with no sidewalk at night. We were told though that there is a hiking path that connects to the canal trail so we could have had that option if we chose to hike a bit longer. I would stay at this place again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We had a private room near the kitchen. (It's the family room) If you choose this room and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarrWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Chose to get away from DC with my girlfriend for the weekend and needed a cheap place to stay. The Harpers Ferry Hostel was a great place for our short stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. I called and was able to reserve a private room for only $40.00 which is a great price. The Hostel is clean with a friendly atmosphere and perfectly located on the C&O Canal and close by to the Maryland Heights Trail and other Harpers Ferry trials and attractions. They had a free pancake breakfast in the mornings, offered dinner options (for a small $5 donation), free internet and a relaxing common area that felt just like your living room. Only negative is since they don't staff the Hostel 24/7 they do close their doors at 10:00 so if you do go out to another town for dinner or a drink make sure to be back before they 10:00. Overall a great, cheap, friendly and comfortable stay that will be visited again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 276Robb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
133 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

drove from Dulles to here at 11pm Thursday night.Easy with GPS. Driveway entry is ( from Dulles) upward left turn through gates. Large flat car park at rear , with grassed flat yard. Can see the rivers from the rear property boundary. Very clean inside, great modern sperate toilets. Good kitchen & lounge. Twin bunked room was sufficient for 2 people. Short drive to Harpers Ferry village

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janellesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I'm surprised to see that others enjoyed this hostel--I was treated like a second class citizen during a stay here as a camper and it was the worst treatment I've ever received. I highly recommend you go to the Brunswick Family Campground instead (http://www.brunswickmd.gov/campground.htm) which seemed lovely and was much closer to the C&O trail! I had to pay $5 to use "bathroom facilities", but in reality this meant I could take one shower. Every time I tried to use the facilities afterwards, a staff member essentially guarded the door and questioned me. Their rationale was that it was too crowded, but the bathroom was empty! We were forced to use a disgusting port-a-potty that had no hand sanitizer and smelled awful, and a garden hose was our sink/water supply. The sanitary conditions were definitely questionable. The worst part about the whole place was how poorly we were treated--the staff was rude and refused to let us come in despite a mixed message on the door. As someone who respects the place they stay in, I was horrified.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryB2011ATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Beware camping at this hostel. You are not welcome generally. You can pay for bathroom access, but soon after doing this the staff decided that they would only allow us to use the bathroom once, although we were not previously informed of this policy. Apparently this is their new policy because they changed their signs the next morning to say that you only get to use the bathroom once. We were a clean group of middle-aged cyclists. Otherwise you have to use a port-a-john outside, with no sink. So you are not getting your money's worth when you pay for the bathroom. Overall the staff were rude. Getting to the hostel walking or biking is dangerous because it is at the top of a steep hill and is on a busy, winding road with fast driving trucks and cars. The yard also has a ton of no-see-ums. Generally very unpleasant place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ratm9m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knoxville
0.2 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
2.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
3.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
12.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Knoxville Harpers Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Knoxville Harpers Ferry

Property: HI Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Address: 19123 Sandyhook Rd, Knoxville, MD 21758-1330
Location: United States > Maryland > Knoxville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your HI Knoxville Harpers Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing