We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“One of the nicest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antietam Overlook Farm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Antietam Overlook Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Keedysville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hagerstown, Maryland
1 review
“One of the nicest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stumbled upon this place and were extremely pleased! Very comfortable, beautiful, bucolic setting. Great quiet place for a getaway, romantic or otherwise. Food was fine; typical B & B fare. Hosts were gracious and engaging. If you want a TV in your room, you might as well go to Motel 6; if you want a nice place to either get some alone time or enjoy your significant other, this is the place!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Battlefield Overlook room." Great view. I think all rooms have screene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antietamoverlookfarm, Owner at Antietam Overlook Farm, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time for the review. It means a lot to us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    24
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
114
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
107 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed two nights to attend the Contemporary American Theatre Festival at Shepherdstown. We were very comfortable in the 'Overlook ' room and the air conditioning managed to cope with the crushing heat wave. We appreciated the screened porches both downstairs and off our room, as well as the fridge stocked with cold sodas, wine and beer. The room was clean, free of the dustiness and clutter found in some b and b's. The room could use more light to read by.

Keeping in mind that this is an expensive (almost $300 per night) place....
Breakfast at 9 - in practice considerably later -- was too late, and took too long to serve. It would be better to accommodate guests' preferred time. Since several previous commenters have mentioned this same issue, I am wondering whether the establishment is even paying attention to the feedback they are getting.
The place has a pet cat and rooster that are both loud and intrusive. These animals cross the line from 'quirky and charming' to ' unpleasant and obnoxious'.
It is odd that they would have placed the noisy main AC unit right below the rooms overlooking the view. Similarly, building an inn from scratch, why put the washbasin in the bedroom instead of within the bathroom ?
Anyway, overall, a pleasant, quiet, discreet, nature-oriented place.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms overlooking Antietam, not he parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spadina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antietamoverlookfarm, Owner at Antietam Overlook Farm, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Sorry to have fallen short of perfect. I just became aware of the way Trip Advisor works and the things that people say that are good and bad and that I can respond to them. One thing about the internet, you don't have to talk to someone, you can write anything. Most of our guests love the layout of the rooms and come here for what we have to offer. 95 Acres of seclution, peace and quiet. Sorry about the rooster, I don't know what happened but he must have gotten out. He has been taken to another farm and is very happy. The cat is an outdoor cat - "Mr. Meowsers" friendly and effectivly in charge of fending off small 4 legged animals. He is sweet and kind and I don't like cats, but have adopted him and love him a lot. The majority of our guests love him too. The AC Unit is over 50 feet away from the Inn and can hardly be heard. It is even covered and shielded from the rooms. There would be no better way to deal with it other than turning it off. None of the porches overlook the parking lot, but the Garden room dose face in that direction but buffered by a pond and beautiful garden. Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Oh my gosh! Gorgeous and everything we needed and hoped for! Even in the freezing cold, this was an AWESOME place...Stay here! It's incredibly awesome. ...great view, great people, and great fun. Thanks Mark, Michelle, and Tina! Abby and Josh from that show :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSSentinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antietamoverlookfarm, General Manager at Antietam Overlook Farm, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks guys, Abby, Josh, Larry, Mark, Ron & Mike & producers, film crew and the behind scenes crew.

It was our pleasure to get to experience the meeting and interaction with the cast and crew. We are glad you had the chance to enjoy our beautiful surroundings. Its always nice to be in good company. Stop back when ever in the area. Happy Hunting !

Michelle, Mark & Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

The location is quiet and private with nice grounds and view. The Michelle and Tina were very pleasant. The rooms are rustic with no closet or TV. The great room does have a TV and computer access. Breakfasts were just okay. I'm not sure about serving spicy sausages for breakfasts but that might just be a personal preference. If we had not paid for breakfast as part if the room fee I would have gone to a restaurant. There is not a sink in the bathroom, it is across the room in the bedroom area by the tub which seemed odd. Also the walls are very, very thin and noises from neighboring rooms are very noticeable if you are a light sleeper. Overall I'm not sure about the value especially the weekend rates, however, I think this is probably one of the nicer accommodations in the area. If you want solitude this would be a good choice.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 2ofustravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antietamoverlookfarm, Owner at Antietam Overlook Farm, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thanks, The roooms are all one of a kind and so is the three course breakfast. We spoke with the other guests and always accomodate special needs all the way down to Vegan. Not sure what happened there. Nope the sink is in the room and it was planned that way for several reasons, as was the Tub. We are tucked in on about 100 acres and it requires a great deal of care, we only have 6 rooms and they are all insulated from each other and the walls are not thin at all. Pobody makes everyone happy. :) Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at the Antietam Overlook Farm with friends for two nights in March. The weather was cold--in fact, we had a few inches of snow the first night that shut down the Antietam Battlefield Visitors' Center (we made it to Gettysburg instead). The view from the inn is fabulous and it makes a great place to visit the nearby Civil War sites, which was our intention.

The inn is certainly cozy, but it is "rustic". The room we had was spacious, although as I recall there was no closet space so we lived out of our suitcases. Pipes in the wall from other rooms were extremely "musical", and not in a good sense. The other issue with the rooms was the presence of "stinkbugs". I gather these are (so far) an east coast phenomenon, and one that we are not accustomed to having come from California. They didn't particularly bother me, but some of our friends were upset with them.

The main room at the inn is comfortably furnished, with many Civil War artifacts and books, and is a great place for meeting with other guests. The breakfasts we had at the inn were very good. My only comment about the service is that the lady who greeted and assisted us was pretty crude in her language, really unnecessarily so, and seemed to have had a bit too much to drink when we arrived.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antietamoverlookfarm, Owner at Antietam Overlook Farm, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Stinkbugs are gone. Noise from the pipes in the insulated walls is very minor. We are on about 100 acres and offer an unparalleled view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
376 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

If you are looking for a restful location, look no farther than the Antietam Overlook Farm! This B&B overlooks the Antietam Battlefield near Sharpstown, MD. The views are breathtaking! All of the rooms have private screened in porches and the inn itself harkens back to a time forgotten.

Michelle and Tina prepare a wonderful 3 course breakfast and are available to provide suggestions for dinner - from fine dining to casual relaxed. Dining is available in the towns adjacent to the inn and are excellent.

Rooms are nicely appointed with private baths. The grounds are well-kept with nice walking trails. You can expect to see wildlife.

We celebrated our 41st anniversary there and were thrilled with the inn.

History abounds in the area from the Antietam Battlefield and Harper's Ferry just a few minutes' drive away.

Highly recommended! And ask for Bob Murphy to guide you around the area. (RCM History Tours - 301 302 0740) - EXCELLENT

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed for two relaxing, renewing nights. Michelle and Tina were terrific in making our stay memorable. It was great to get away to such a charming place with large rooms and private porches. The breakfasts were ready each morning at 9:00 and were fresh, tasty and quite filling. There was a "great room" with lots of comfy chairs and sofas and lots of material about the Civil War. Soft drinks, coffee and some alcoholic beverages were complimentary. The views were great and watching and listening to so many varieties of birds was a nice treat. Battlefield tours were available but we chose to take it easy and relax on this trip. Met some nice guests while we were there.
A very enjoyable time for some good relaxation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveabargain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keedysville
5.3 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
8.0 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
6.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antietam Overlook Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antietam Overlook Farm

Property: Antietam Overlook Farm
Address: 4812 Porterstown Rd, PO Box 30, Keedysville, MD 21756-1418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Keedysville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Keedysville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Antietam Overlook Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Antietam Overlook Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing