We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antietam Overlook Farm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antietam Overlook Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Keedysville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huntingtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

The location is quiet and private with nice grounds and view. The Michelle and Tina were very pleasant. The rooms are rustic with no closet or TV. The great room does have a TV and computer access. Breakfasts were just okay. I'm not sure about serving spicy sausages for breakfasts but that might just be a personal preference. If we had not paid for breakfast as part if the room fee I would have gone to a restaurant. There is not a sink in the bathroom, it is across the room in the bedroom area by the tub which seemed odd. Also the walls are very, very thin and noises from neighboring rooms are very noticeable if you are a light sleeper. Overall I'm not sure about the value especially the weekend rates, however, I think this is probably one of the nicer accommodations in the area. If you want solitude this would be a good choice.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 2ofustravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antietamoverlookfarm, Owner at Antietam Overlook Farm, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thanks, The roooms are all one of a kind and so is the three course breakfast. We spoke with the other guests and always accomodate special needs all the way down to Vegan. Not sure what happened there. Nope the sink is in the room and it was planned that way for several reasons, as was the Tub. We are tucked in on about 100 acres and it requires a great deal of care, we only have 6 rooms and they are all insulated from each other and the walls are not thin at all. Pobody makes everyone happy. :) Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    24
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
114
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at the Antietam Overlook Farm with friends for two nights in March. The weather was cold--in fact, we had a few inches of snow the first night that shut down the Antietam Battlefield Visitors' Center (we made it to Gettysburg instead). The view from the inn is fabulous and it makes a great place to visit the nearby Civil War sites, which was our intention.

The inn is certainly cozy, but it is "rustic". The room we had was spacious, although as I recall there was no closet space so we lived out of our suitcases. Pipes in the wall from other rooms were extremely "musical", and not in a good sense. The other issue with the rooms was the presence of "stinkbugs". I gather these are (so far) an east coast phenomenon, and one that we are not accustomed to having come from California. They didn't particularly bother me, but some of our friends were upset with them.

The main room at the inn is comfortably furnished, with many Civil War artifacts and books, and is a great place for meeting with other guests. The breakfasts we had at the inn were very good. My only comment about the service is that the lady who greeted and assisted us was pretty crude in her language, really unnecessarily so, and seemed to have had a bit too much to drink when we arrived.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antietamoverlookfarm, Owner at Antietam Overlook Farm, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Stinkbugs are gone. Noise from the pipes in the insulated walls is very minor. We are on about 100 acres and offer an unparalleled view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
376 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

If you are looking for a restful location, look no farther than the Antietam Overlook Farm! This B&B overlooks the Antietam Battlefield near Sharpstown, MD. The views are breathtaking! All of the rooms have private screened in porches and the inn itself harkens back to a time forgotten.

Michelle and Tina prepare a wonderful 3 course breakfast and are available to provide suggestions for dinner - from fine dining to casual relaxed. Dining is available in the towns adjacent to the inn and are excellent.

Rooms are nicely appointed with private baths. The grounds are well-kept with nice walking trails. You can expect to see wildlife.

We celebrated our 41st anniversary there and were thrilled with the inn.

History abounds in the area from the Antietam Battlefield and Harper's Ferry just a few minutes' drive away.

Highly recommended! And ask for Bob Murphy to guide you around the area. (RCM History Tours - 301 302 0740) - EXCELLENT

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed for two relaxing, renewing nights. Michelle and Tina were terrific in making our stay memorable. It was great to get away to such a charming place with large rooms and private porches. The breakfasts were ready each morning at 9:00 and were fresh, tasty and quite filling. There was a "great room" with lots of comfy chairs and sofas and lots of material about the Civil War. Soft drinks, coffee and some alcoholic beverages were complimentary. The views were great and watching and listening to so many varieties of birds was a nice treat. Battlefield tours were available but we chose to take it easy and relax on this trip. Met some nice guests while we were there.
A very enjoyable time for some good relaxation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveabargain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moneta, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our two night stay at the Overlook was FANTASTIC !!. First time staying at a B&B and what a treat it was. Room was spacious and comfortable, warm friendly atmosphere. Breakfast was delicious and grounds are picture perfect. Meeting Mark was a treat, Michelle was just a Blessing to have and Tina was as sweet as pie. Very accomodating staff who couldn't do enough for us. Enjoyed relax time with friends for a reunion B/Day gathering. Home base for our two day stay in area. Michelle assisted with suggestions for dinner and enjoyed battlefield tours. Enjoyed the birds and wildlife abundant everywhere. Mountain Top viewes everywhere. Would recommend to everyone to experience Antietam Overlook Farm's warm friendly welcome for an enjoyable time.

Room Tip: All rooms are special. We stayed 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antietamoverlookfarm, Innkeeper at Antietam Overlook Farm, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you very much. We enjoyed your company as well.. I am glad you guys could meet in the middle for the special birthday and just having a small reunion with great friends. You guys packed alot in and still seemed relaxed and that is what makes our job so fulfilling.
If your every MEETING in the MIDDLE anytime soon, give us a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Antietam Overlook Farm, and found it completely relaxing. The Inn Keeper Michelle and the House Keeper Tina, were warm and friendly. The room was spacious and comfortable and we were able to see part of the Antietam Battlefield from our room. Breakfast was at 9:00 each morning. It was nice not to have to get up early for breakfast, and they were filling enough that you might not want lunch. It was convenient to Harpers Ferry and the Battlefield. Michelle was extremely helpful when we asked about restaruants in Shepherdstown. She gave a great recommendation. I enjoyed myself immensily.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArchaeoBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
304 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay. Room was very large and comfortable. Ther Eli's a small screened in porch which we used both nights we were there. As others have said, breakfast was served at a single time, 9:00. While this was just fine with us, I can see how this might not suit everyone. The breakfast was excellent however. The great room was comfortable with a stoked fire going and there were sodas, beer and some drinks. My wife and I agreed we would not hesitate to return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JE01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antietamoverlookfarm, Innkeeper at Antietam Overlook Farm, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We thank you and are glad you enjoyed your stay. Although we want everyone to enjoy their stay, it does not always work out that way. Constructive criticisim is the only way we can perform to meet expectations of all. We hope to see you at a future time, maybe a different season. In which all are wonderful in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keedysville
5.3 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
8.0 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
8.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antietam Overlook Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antietam Overlook Farm

Property: Antietam Overlook Farm
Address: 4812 Porterstown Rd, PO Box 30, Keedysville, MD 21756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Keedysville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Keedysville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Antietam Overlook Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Antietam Overlook Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing