We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic charm, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antietam Overlook Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Keedysville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen County NJ
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rustic charm, but...”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Antietam Overlook Farm is everything the previous reviews said...Great location, rustic charm, comfortable,friendly staff and generous amenities, but a couple of things leave a sour taste in my mouth. The first is the breakfast. We were told 9ish, which is late for those of us who like to get up early and go, but we could live with that except by 9:30 there wasn't any indication that we would have breakfast anytime soon.All the guests were left waiting in the great room. We were finally served and breakfast service was over about an hour later. Way too late.
The second thing really bothers me. I have been to inns and b&bs where there is an envelope discreetly left if one wishes to leave a gratuity and I do so if I feel the service is exceptional. Here there was an envelope which asks us to remember the housekeeper, breakfast server and chefs/innkeeper. It says that gratuities are a substantial part of their income. Really? Shouldn't the innkeeper pay them a decent wage so that they do not have to ask their guests for money? Include a service charge if you must, but don't ask me to provide for their income.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zillexamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    25
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
121
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights and greatly enjoyed the great breakfast, views, and location of this most beautiful farm. I would have given a higher grade but a few things needed to be corrected. First they have free drinks but the gin was empty and I reminded them about it and it was not filled for 2 days. The abundant bird feeders were also empty and the windows in our room would not stay up. I tried to get something to keep the windows open and failed. The screened in porch was a great hit and it let in fresh air so we did not need the AC. I would try to get the upstairs room because if your below; you can hear foot steps.

Room Tip: Get the upstairs room if you do not like to hear people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjdalydublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Loved this place! Everything about it. Location and views in beautiful part of Maryland are exceptional. Accomodations were also exceptional. Very roomy and most comfortable. Great breakfast served in outdoor screened porch...also with great views. Very helpful staff. Close to historic Antietam battlefields. Would definitely go back...am already looking forward to doing so.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollydick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at this beautiful farm for just one night. We wish we could have stayed for a week. Warm and friendly staff and great rooms. The house is yours. Make yourself at home. Bountiful breakfast. Just love this place.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a beautiful B&B in a beautiful landscape. Shepherdstown is a great nearby town for restaurants and the arts. The Overlook room was large but cozy, with a great porch and tub. The rest of the inn is also inviting, and you can ask for assistance but also see to your own snack, drink, reading, and entertainment needs if you wish. Michelle and Tiny are great conversationalists and the property is perfectly maintained. We loved our stay and hope someday to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 324cog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Words can not express how delighted my husband and I were! Mark, Michele and Tina were very accommodating! The breakfasts served every morning were very ample and relaxed. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. The sunsets were breathtaking and the grounds are great for bird watching. The inn is so close to many site and restaurants.

Room Tip: The garden room has a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

The place is idealic,and so restful. The bed was really comfortable (something important for those of us with bad backs). Food was fabulous and it was especially nice to be able to sit out on either our room porch or the common porch with a glass of wine or some brandy in the evening. Loved the company and the cat who loved to be petted even though he wasn't allowed inside. Location was close enough to town and the battle grounds but still far enough away that you were out in the country way far away from tour groups and crowds. It really made our Antietam experience wonderful and I would stay there again in a heart beat!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keedysville
5.3 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
809 reviews
6.2 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
135 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
8.0 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
5.6 mi away
Thomas Shepherd Inn
Thomas Shepherd Inn
#1 of 2 in Shepherdstown
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antietam Overlook Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antietam Overlook Farm

Property: Antietam Overlook Farm
Address: 4812 Porterstown Rd, PO Box 30, Keedysville, MD 21756-1418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Keedysville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Keedysville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Antietam Overlook Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Antietam Overlook Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing