We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“B and B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antietam Overlook Farm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Antietam Overlook Farm to your Saves list
Antietam Overlook Farm
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4812 Porterstown Rd, PO Box 30, Keedysville, MD 21756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Keedysville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“B and B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at this beautiful farm for just one night. We wish we could have stayed for a week. Warm and friendly staff and great rooms. The house is yours. Make yourself at home. Bountiful breakfast. Just love this place.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    21
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
104
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a beautiful B&B in a beautiful landscape. Shepherdstown is a great nearby town for restaurants and the arts. The Overlook room was large but cozy, with a great porch and tub. The rest of the inn is also inviting, and you can ask for assistance but also see to your own snack, drink, reading, and entertainment needs if you wish. Michelle and Tiny are great conversationalists and the property is perfectly maintained. We loved our stay and hope someday to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 324cog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Words can not express how delighted my husband and I were! Mark, Michele and Tina were very accommodating! The breakfasts served every morning were very ample and relaxed. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. The sunsets were breathtaking and the grounds are great for bird watching. The inn is so close to many site and restaurants.

Room Tip: The garden room has a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

The place is idealic,and so restful. The bed was really comfortable (something important for those of us with bad backs). Food was fabulous and it was especially nice to be able to sit out on either our room porch or the common porch with a glass of wine or some brandy in the evening. Loved the company and the cat who loved to be petted even though he wasn't allowed inside. Location was close enough to town and the battle grounds but still far enough away that you were out in the country way far away from tour groups and crowds. It really made our Antietam experience wonderful and I would stay there again in a heart beat!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Antietam Overlook Farm does just that: overlook the battlefield that was Antietam. The view is spectacular, even if you are looking down at the site of a bloody skirmish over 150 years ago. We didn't tour the site as it was very hot that week.
But the inn was wonderfully peaceful. Once we got off the main highway it took us about half an hour to reach it, and the roads made us question, "what did we sign up for?" It was pretty out in farm country.
But once we got there we were very surprised and pleased. Our innkeepers made us feel quite at home, and our room was well-appointed, even if it didn't have television (which we didn't miss). In fact, none of the rooms had televisions. There was a parlor with games, books, magazines, coffee and complimentary alcoholic beverages. Yes, that's correct. We had beer and liquor at our disposal (found a great beer called Top Hat that way).
Anyway, the room was right by the main entrance, but it was quiet, as the first two nights we had the ten-room place to ourselves. More people arrived by mid- and week's end, but they were quiet as well.
The breakfasts were delicious, and we could eat them in the main dining room, on the rear porch, or even our room's patio.
There's also a resident cat called "Mr. Meowsers," who has a really throaty meow. We were warned not to let him in, as he has his own little "room" outside. And there were hummingbird feeders with the little creatures hovering about everywhere!
For a wonderful restaurant try "The Press Room" in Shepherdstown just 20 minutes away. Great brick-wall atmosphere, cozy tables by the front windows, and Ingling beer (my new favorite). Seafood and Italian dishes are great. The town is home to Shepherds College. Nice coffee houses and shops. Harper's Ferry is another 20 minutes away, and is a world unto itself, brimming with Early American history.
If you want a lot to do, try Baltimore. If you want to do some introspective musing with Mr. Meowsers, I heartily recommend Antietam Overlook Farm.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrpips56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I attended a retreat at this B&B over the weekend, and will definitely return. It is one of the coziest, most beautiful, relaxing places I have ever been. The innkeepers are hilarious and the type of people you become friends with right away. The building is amazing - lots of fireplaces, warm interior design, and very clean. My room had a fireplace, big soaking tub near the fireplace, and a screen in porch overlooking the Antietam valley and mountains.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

My wife and I chose this location initially for the close proximity to Antietam and Harper's Ferry. We were very happy with the overall experience, room, breakfast and friendliness of staff. We fully expect to return in the coming year.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bkelmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keedysville
5.3 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 688 reviews
8.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#3 of 3 in Shepherdstown
3.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
8.0 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antietam Overlook Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antietam Overlook Farm

Property: Antietam Overlook Farm
Address: 4812 Porterstown Rd, PO Box 30, Keedysville, MD 21756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Keedysville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Keedysville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Antietam Overlook Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Antietam Overlook Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing