We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Just me” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Jessup / Baltimore Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Jessup / Baltimore Area
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Jessup
HOUSTON
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Decent hotel. Clean towels and linens. Parking lot is very small. Coffee was weak and 8 item continental breakfast left a lot to be desired. Cable had decent channels, but DVR was disabled even on local programming. Check was delayed for an hour to "clean" room on 1st floor, yet no-one entered room to clean it. Close to restaurants and DC. But rush hour traffic to DC is horrendous.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank DENNIS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    15
    13
    8
See reviews for
14
11
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

As far as Super 8 Motels go, this one was average. No one was at the desk when I arrived to check in, so there was a 15 minute wait, but when the Manager arrived he was apologetic and polite. Check-in went well. Room was clean with fridge and microwave. Heater ran all night on high just to make the room comfortably warm. The small parking lot on a hill just above a major highway posed a special challenge the day of my departure due to a huge snowstorm (2.13.14). But the manager provided a shovel and I was able to get to my HazMat Employee and RCRA Training Seminar (Daniels Training Services) on time. Continental breakfast was cold cereal, pastries, and coffee. I'll stay here again when I return to the Baltimore/Jessup, MD area.

Room Tip: If staying in winter or during potential for storm, position your car the night before for a good ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielsTrainingServ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Clean. Smells good and even towels smell clean. Microwave and small refrigerator. Parking lot is small, but variety of cable channels make up for this.Only problem was I requested a 1st level room and was given 2nd floor. I was told no rooms available on 1st floor. Yet I checked after midnight and 3 rooms were not used that night or next night. But overall hood location and price. But if you have knee problems and request 1st floor, get ready to climb stairs.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DENNIS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
766 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,280 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

DAY 1
Upon arrival, I noticed that the hotel was on a hill and was pretty close to Washington Blvd. which is a five-lane highway with two travel lanes in each direction plus a center lane for turns.

Check-in went as expected. I arrived early and asked if I could check in before the 3:00 PM stated on the website. I explained that I was very tired. I was allowed to go through the check-in process, but I was not given my key card or allowed into the room. The compromise was 2:30 PM.

Leaving the office, I noticed that the continental breakfast was served off a narrow counter in the office. There was no seating there. There were two cereal dispensers, a toaster, and a serving case for toasting breads and room for only a coffee carafe and a juice dispenser on the counter. It was THE MOST MISERLY BREAKFAST OFFERING I'VE EVER SEEN IN ANY WYNDHAM CHAIN HOTEL. I started planning BREAKFAST OUT ELSEWHERE.

Meanwhile, I did local sightseeing and shopping. Then, I had a late lunch at Mid Atlantic Seafood at 13718 Baltimore Ave. in nearby Laurel, MD. See my review.

When I returned to the Super 8 just before 3:00 PM, I was allowed into Room 116 which was at the OPPOSITE END OF THE HOTEL FROM THE OFFICE. My online reservation had a special request that said: 1st FLOOR ROOM PLEASE---KNEE PROBLEM. Room 116 was elevated at the stairwell one story above the parking spaces near it. I had to park near the office and walk all the way over there. It got old fast.

As soon as I stepped inside, an OVERPOWERING ODOR of CLEANING CHEMICALS and DEODORIZER ASSAULTED MY NOSTRILS. I had to air out the room by leaving the door open while I made two more trips back and forth to/from the rental car to get my luggage and carry-on.

Once in the room, I looked to my left and spotted the LARGE PICTURE WINDOW THAT FACED THE REAR OF A DERELICT PROPERTY and its DILAPIDATED STAIRCASE ABOUT 30 FEET AWAY. I closed the draperies. I should have taken a photo to post on this website.

Next, I heard an ENDLESS, RAPID TICK-TICK-TICK sound. I traced it to a small box on the BACK OF THE REFRIGERATOR. It was NOT the refrigerator motor; it appeared to be attached to the freezer compartment.

I went to the office. I asked to have the refrigerator replaced. The owner said he could not do it alone. I'd have to wait until morning when he would have assistance. He said to unplug it. I asked for a room transfer. That request was denied, claiming there were no other available rooms on the first floor. The next morning I noticed only 6 or 7 cars in the parking lot, so I question the accuracy of that statement.

SO, I WAS STUCK WITH THIS PLACE FOR TWO NIGHTS BECAUSE IT WAS THEN AFTER 4:00 PM; AND, WYNDHAM HOTELS REQUIRE CANCELLATION MORE THAN 24 HOURS IN ADVANCE.

Was there anything good about this hotel? Yes.
1) The room was clean enough.
2) The updated bed cover was attractive.
3) The bed was comfortable.
4) The A/C worked and did not have loud motor.
5) I liked the small table with two chairs instead of a desk up against the wall because that set-up enabled me to watched news and weather while working on my itinerary for the following day.

So, I went to bed about 4:15 PM. Traffic on the highway kept me awake awhile; but, I was so tired that I fell asleep from exhaustion and became oblivious to traffic noise. When I awoke later about 12:30 AM, I did notice that traffic noise just about disappeared. It remained quiet until nearly 4:30 AM when trucking noise started, followed by increasing vehicular traffic after 5:00 AM.

DAY 2
I left for breakfast a short distance down the street at Frank's Diner. Very good. Read my review.

Then, I left on my daytrip.

When I returned at 7:00 PM, nothing had changed. The unplugged refrigerator was still sitting there. I was glad that the fruit snacks I had did not require refrigeration. I would have liked to have my bottled water cold as the weather was over 85 F and humid.

Again, I took a nap. When I got up later, traffic quieted down after midnight.

I got a decent night's sleep until 5:45 AM when BLARING RAP (I won't call it music) SHATTERED MY SLEEP and MY EARDRUMS. It was as though the SPEAKERS WERE IN MY ROOM AND PLACED NEXT TO MY RIGHT EAR. I jumped about a foot off the mattress. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED THE FRONT DESK. The night man was still on duty. He said that he heard it and that he was just leaving the office to locate the source of the deafening noise and to tell the person to shut it off. All was quiet about one minute later. THE NIGHT MAN DID A GOOD JOB ON THAT PROBLEM. His swift action partially counteracted the inferior customer service on other matters.

Since I was up so early, I decided to have some cereal from the office. There was a bonus in the refrigerator. This Super 8 served small cups of Activia yogurt. Those items and a small banana that I'd purchased at a local supermarket made a good enough breakfast for Day 2 as I planned a nice lunch in my next location of Solomons, MD. See my reviews of The Captain's Table and Calvert Marine Museum there.

Overall, I was not impressed with this hotel. I doubt that I'd stay there again. There are dozens of hotels in that area, including two more Super 8's.

I'd selected this one quickly as part of Plan B for my vacation. Plan A was to Washington, DC; but, with all the national parks sites closed, I decided on Maryland, and this hotel was about halfway between Baltimore and Solomons/Calvert County---my two primary destinations in Maryland under my alternate itinerary.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurene_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jessup
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Jessup
Sleep Inn Jessup
#3 of 7 in Jessup
4.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbia Jessup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbia East - Jessup
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Jessup / Baltimore Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Jessup / Baltimore Area

Property: Super 8 Jessup / Baltimore Area
Address: 8094 Washington Blvd., Jessup, MD 20794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Jessup
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Jessup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Jessup / Baltimore Area 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to I-95, Baltimore Inner Harbor and Washington, D.C. Our Super 8 Jessup / Columbia Area hotel is convenient to Baltimore, MD, and Washington, D.C., allowing easy access to both cities. Our Jessup hotel off Interstate 95 at exit 41 provides handy amenities, including microwaves and refrigerators. Check your email or look up local destinations using free Wi-Fi Internet. Our hotel serves free 8-item SuperStart breakfast bonanza daily. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult, and handicapped-accessible rooms are available. Upgrade to a Jacuzzi suite for extra comfort. University of Maryland is within 15 miles of our Jessup hotel, while Baltimore / Washington International Airport is less than 10 miles away. Fort Meade is also nearby. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS The best Washington, D.C. and Baltimore attractions are at the doorstep of our Jessup hotel. Catch a live band at outdoor Merriweather Post Pavilion or shop the outlet stores in Arundel Mills mall. Travel northeast to watch the Baltimore Ravens tackle their hefty opponents, or see the Orioles sliding toward home at Camden Yards in the Inner Harbor. While there, visit exotic aquatic life in the National Aquarium. Drive southwest to Washington, D.C. and see such institutions as The White House, Smithsonian Institution, Lincoln Memorial and the Washington Monument reflecting pool. DINING OPTIONS For a quick bite, Frank's Diner up the road from our Jessup, MD, hotel, hits the spot. For tapas, try Aida Bistro and Wine Bar, or for Greek and Turkish fare visit Parsa Kabob. Morning Star Deli crafts hearty sandwiches, while Cazabe Restaurant serves taquitos, tacos and quesadillas. Familiar restaurants are clustered nearby on Benson Drive and in Snowden Square Shopping Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Jessup / Baltimore Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Jessup
Super Eight Jessup
Jessup Super 8
Jessup Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing