We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC - BW Parkway
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hyattsville
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
“Bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Beware, this hotel has no backup generator if the power goes out. We spend the night in a super hot hotel room with no A/C, no hot water in the morning to shower and no breakfast in the am and the rain from the storm was dripping inside the room. They offered 50% compensation for this miserable experience.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC - BW Parkway, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Hello P W, we are very disheartened about the uncomfortable situation this storm caused to all of our guests and everyone else in several other cities. We have received some informative feedback to further help us prepare for future situations such as this since this is the first time the city has experienced such storms. We greatly appreciate your feedback as well. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you during this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    60
    22
    7
    9
See reviews for
59
32
10
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband and I just stayed here 2 nights while we were visiting D.C. for fun. There is a complimentary shuttle to the metro station from 7am to 10pm every hour which made it VERY easy to get to the station and into the city.The trainride from the station into the city was about 25 minutes. Our room was clean and well-maintained. Some comments mention this hotel being in an "iffy" or "sketchy" part of town, but honestly, it wasn't that bad and if your going to be somewhere else during the days it really doesn't matter. There is a bank, gas station, a few fastfood restaurants, and a Walmart very close by. There were are variety of options for breakfast and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC - BW Parkway, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Amy B, thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel! I am happy to hear you and your husband had a very pleasant stay with us for 2 nights. It seems you were able to experience all of the offered amenities in and outside of the hotel. I look forward to having you both return in the future whether for fun or if you are in the area for business as our shuttle also goes to some of our local offices as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, MA, USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

It was graduation weekend all over the DC area, so hotel rooms were scarce in the suburbs. This hotel is on a busy street in an 'iffy' urban setting, and it was not near any conveniences. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, the beds were comfortable, and the towels were large and fluffy. We didn't spend much time in our hotel room, which had a musty smell. The cleaning in the bathroom lacked attention to details. On the plus side, the breakfast was good with many offerings. My major gripe was that the front desk failed to put through our wake-up call at 6 AM the morning of the graduation. They asked what the could do to make it up to us, but how do you make up for a missed wake up call? Given a choice, I wold not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz7614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC - BW Parkway, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Liz7614, we appreciate you choosing to stay with us during the busy graduation week! It's wonderful to hear that our staff members were always friendly and accommodating to your needs. It’s unfortunate you were not able to experience the several conveniences the area has to offer, as we are within walking distance to the Italian Inn Restaurant, Wal-Mart, AMC Bowling Alley, and some fast food restaurants. If you were looking to experience anything a bit further out, we have several area maps and the Front Desk Agents are extremely knowledgeable on activities and locations you can get to within minutes. Wake up calls and responding to guest concerns within a timely manner are services we pride ourselves on providing, and would expect you to receive your requested amenity as promised. I hope you do give our property a second chance if you return to the area. Have a wonderful week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We recently completed a lengthy stay at this hotel (8 nights). The staff was excellent and always helpful. We even had to endure a storm that knocked the power out to 45,000 people including the hotel. The staff provided assistance during the outage and worked to keep everything as normal as possible. The breakfast was always well maintained and the Village Inn next door was a real surprise.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC - BW Parkway, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Hello S C! 8 nights is a long stay with the family, so I am very happy to read that everyone enjoyed their stay even with the storm shutting down everyones power and air conditioning this past weekend. We greatly appreciate your patience and understanding! When ever you return to the Hyattsville area, we would be more than happy to have you and the family stay with us. Remember, anytime you stay with us and eat next door at the Italian Inn show them your room key and you can get a 5% discount. Have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweet Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We spent 3 days at this Holiday Inn Express and had a wonderful experience - the rooms were clean and updated, the complimentary breakfast had alot to offer and the shuttle to the Metro was efficient. The staff was helpful and very friendly, even ordered pizza to our rooms without any problems! Made our DC experience very enjoyable and hassle free...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAtraveler163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC - BW Parkway, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
We are glad to hear that your 3 days with us turned out to be a wonderful experience! We take pride in the amenities we provide to all of our guests. It's wonderful to hear that you were able to utilize all that we have to offer, from the shuttle, to the breakfast, and easy access to some fast food/delivery restaurants in the area. We hope to have you stay with us again on your next visit to Hyattsville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We just returned from a week long trip to the DC area. We stayed at the HIE in Hyattsville, MD. Everyone we encountered on the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and secure. We ate breakfast at the site every morning before taking the complimentary shuttle to the Metro. The food was good and plentiful.

On the advice of the staff, we tried the Italian restaurant next door to the hotel. We liked it so well, we ate there three times!

We have no complaints about our stay and would definitely recommend this HIE to our family & friends planning a trip to the DC area.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor so traffic noise was at a minimum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaina S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC - BW Parkway, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
E L we are very pleased to here you had a great experience while staying with us! I'm glad you were able to experience all that we have offer and more during your 3 night stay, as well as a local restaurant. The Italian Inn is one of our favorite restaurants to eat at as well! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neshanic Station, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Overall the rooms were comfortable. However, There was no hot water until the day I checked out. Only one day, but still...

I was disappointed in the lack of urgency to fix it and the fact they didn't let me know about it when I checked in. Unfortunately, I wasn't terribly comfortable with the area. Although the people I met at the restaurant next door seemed friendly enough. But I probably wouldn't have tried it had I not been starving. I definitely wasn't wandering too from from the hotel.

Don't ask the manager for a room away from the elevator and vending he'll put you there anyway. Try and work with the girl at the desk. She tried to accommodate me before the manager stepped in.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zonabona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaina S, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC - BW Parkway, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
I'm sorry your stay was not at the top-notch level we know you should have experienced with us. We understand your feelings in regards to the hot water and were urgently trying to resolve the issue as we understand hot water is important for all guests. It would be great to have you return and try a few other local restaurants that are just as accommodating as the Italian Inn next door, which also have wonderful menu selections. Our complimentary shuttle travels within a 5 mile radius and would be able to drop off and pick up from several of those locations. I hope to have you return and give us another try as we strive to provide a home away from home experience for everyone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyattsville
2.6 mi away
Courtyard New Carrollton Landover
2.6 mi away
Metro Points Hotel - Washington North
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Largo/Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites College Park-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Washington DC - BW Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Washington DC - BW Parkway

Property: Holiday Inn Express Washington DC - BW Parkway
Address: 6205 Annapolis Rd, Hyattsville, MD 20784-1307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hyattsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hyattsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Washington DC - BW Parkway 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyattsville Hotel's guests discover DC with ease whether marveling at the monuments of Washington, DC or enjoying a quiet, comfortable workspace near the capital at the Holiday Inn Express® Washington, DC - BW Parkway hotel. Situated in Hyattsville, Maryland, this hotel's location only 7 miles from downtown DC offers capital convenience from tours of the White House to concerts at the Verizon Center. Keep in touch with the office using free Wi-Fi and the 24-hour Business Center. Major corporations, including the IRS and NASA, CSC, Prince George's Hospital Center and Doctors Community Hospital, are all within 11 miles, so you can travel to meetings effortlessly. Our complimentary shuttle takes will take you to area businesses within 5 miles. Cheer on the Redskins at FedEx Field before showing off your athletic skills at Prince George's Sports & Learning Complex. Enjoy free parking then hop on our complimentary shuttle to the New Carrollton Metro Station to enjoy DC. You can begin each morning with a plateful of warm cinnamon rolls, cheesy omelets and pancakes from the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar and energize in the well-equipped Fitness Center with a 40-inch HDTV. All guests enjoy free access to laundry facilities and microwave and refrigerator in each room. For a monumental stay in the DC area, book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Washington DC - BW Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Washington Dc - Bw Parkway Hotel Hyattsville
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC - BW Parkway Maryland/Hyattsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing