We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was Good but did not Wow Me.”

Carolina Kitchen Bar and Grill
Ranked #4 of 137 Restaurants in Hyattsville
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Maryland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“It was Good but did not Wow Me.”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I enjoyed my food & I would go again but I would not make a special trip. I got the Carolina BBq Sand with their "Special Sauce" & the cajin fries. The fries tasted normal to me. I did get a small sauce that was not hot but did have a good taste on my fries. I did really like the cornbread (One cupcake size Free with meal). The presentation of the free cornbread was great. Overall is was a good meal but I did not get the Wow that I was expecting based on the other reviews.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    52
    15
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best greens in the world!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Oh the greens are soooo good. I always get the jerk chicken, I add some texas pete and it's oh so perfect. The string beans, mac n cheese, and corn are also very good. The cornbread is sweet and good. This Hyattsville location is very nice. I've also been to the one at BLVD at Cap Centre but that one is cafeteria style, go through the line and get your food. This one has a bar and is like a sit down restaurant. It's more expensive. This restaurant won the hoodie award for best soul food 2012 and 2013. No wonder, the food is fantastic!! I love it. Each time I went I was by myself. Try it, you won't be disappointed. One day I'll buy a large side of greens and feed them to a guy and let him think I cooked them. LOL

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frankenberi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Soul Food”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Went to Carolina Kitchen for first time. Everything was excellent. Food to die for! Excellent waitress and friendly staff. Can't wait to go again soon. They sang soulful birthday song to my stepson. Want good food and pleasant atmosphere, then you must visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“TALK ABOUT SOME GOOOOOOOD SOUL FOOD”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Every time I come into town I MUST stop here to eat. The wait time sometimes seems to be longer than normal, but the food is AMAZING and you can get it to-go. I will be honest the menu can be pricey, but at least the food is good. I ALWAYS have to get a to-go box so you get good portions.

The one unique thing is this soul food restaurant has a BAR!!!!

GOOD FOOD, GOOD DRINKS...it doesn't get any better than this.

PS: The one thing I would tell a manager is that remember people are tourist...not everyone is from there even tho it's not the heart of D.C so there should be someone to great the people at the door or at least a sign to tell me where the restroom is located.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diva_Jones_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mouth watering”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is the best southern style food in Maryland..I have had crab claws, fried green tomatoes, rustic soup, mama stew chicken and more every dish is great..Corn bread is to die for...My favorite dish is the smothered fried chicken.my husbands is the smothered pork chops. The gravy is like a drug...it calls me several time a month...

Also the place is sooooo clean...ya gotta go

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TLaboogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina Kitchen Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Carolina Kitchen Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing