We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A most pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hunt Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hunt Valley
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Hunt Valley
USAFret
Level Contributor
160 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A most pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I had stayed at this property before when it was operated by another major chain and there was much room for improvement. Holiday Inn has really turned the place around! The lobby, elevators, breakfast area, and most importantly the rooms were all remodeled. The room was spotless and comfortable with a couch that was a nice alternative to laying on the bed to watch TV or read. The Wall Street Journal was provided in the morning. The breakfast was typical for a Holiday Inn but very nice and put out promptly at 7:00. The staff was very accommodating. It is not an inexpensive stay but it is the best price available in the area for a comparable property. There are several nice restaurants in a mall just a few blocks away and several other options in the hotel's immediate area. If you are coming to Hunt Valley or the Baltimore area this is an excellent place to stop.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank USAFret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hunt Valley, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! We are very glad to hear you enjoyed our accomadations and hope to see you back during your next trip to the Hunt Valley area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    36
    27
    13
    4
See reviews for
26
19
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I was leary about staying here after reading a few negative reviews.. I'm glad I decided to.. I'm not sure where those negative reviewers stayed because this hotel is wonderful! The perfect location.. Perfect room.. Perfectly delicious breakfast buffet... We have absolutely no complaints.. This place exceeded our expectations.. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hunt Valley, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel! It is always nice to hear we were able to exceed our guest expectations and wee hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Upon entering the lobby we were warmly greeted by Rosalind, the manager. She allowed us to check in early as we had to get ready for an afternoon wedding. The room was clean and smelled fresh, the beds were super comfy and we slept amazingly! It was a quiet, family oriented hotel and the only negative was the air condition unit. We couldn't get the unit to ever put out cool air. We only stayed one night so never worried with calling it in. The breakfast was super for a continental offering, pancakes, danishes, granola, cereal, breads galore, eggs and sausage, biscuits and gravy, yogurt, fruit and more! The staff were all super friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay again. There is an Amish market across the street, a converted garage bbq restaurant down the road to the right as well as a shopping center with all sorts of shops and eateries back towards the 83 exit. Very convenient location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pwsmith901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keedysville, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have stayed at many Holiday inn Express hotels and have enjoyed my stay in all of them. This location needs some help. First, it is on a main road and you can hear the traffic. My room smelled like dog urine. It had no toilet paper on the roll. there was a roll wrapped in paper under the sink. The trim around the bathroom floor was also misisng, really no bi deal but it did look dumpy. the staff was polite and the breakfast was good. Not a place i would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skzkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hunt Valley, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear skzkitty,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We’re sorry that you received room accommodations that was less-than-satisfactory due to the noise challenges and unacceptable cleanliness of the room. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hunt Valley hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel for several years, through three brand changes. We come up in the area for the Shore Leave science fiction convention every summer.

The good: Breakfast was by far the best I've had through any iteration of this hotel.

The bad: We arrived early on Friday. I've never had an issue getting checked in early. This time, I was informed that it was too early to check in, and we should come back later. The guy didn't even bother to look us up in the computer, see if maybe they had some King rooms open. Nope, just "come back later".

So we checked in later. Free bottled water isn't much of a Priority Member perk when I can get a whole case of it for $4 at Food Lion. Checking in when I arrived between 12:30 and 1pm, that would have been nice.

Saturday evening, we returned very late from the convention, around 3AM. The back door from the upper parking garage was locked. So we had to go around the front. The front, rather than having a keycard reader, had a buzzer. We buzzed. The guy working the night desk looked really annoyed that we bothered him, buzzed us in, and didn't say one word to us as we walked to the elevators.

Parking at this hotel is a challenge, because the location just doesn't allow for much of a lot. This weekend, there was a small flatbed truck parked diagonally in the corner of the upper lot and a camper taking up 4 whole spaces along the side. Really?

I really like staying at this property because of the location. However, the rudeness of the staff gives me pause about coming back here, because I haven't had any issues like this when it was a Hampton Inn or Comfort Inn. We never had to wait to check in, and we certainly never had to play games to get inside after coming in late. This property isn't in a high crime area, so I question the need to inconvenience guests by forcing them to play musical doors at 3AM.

Also, I hear that Holiday Inn Express typically forces to you pay your entire bill upfront when booking online. That didn't happen to me this time, as I booked when the hotel was between brands, but I assure you, if I'm prompted to do so when making plans for next year's Shore Leave I'll be staying somewhere else. I've never had to pay for a hotel up-front, and I'm not about to start.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side away from York Road. Otherwise, the traffic noise will wake you up in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hunt Valley, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Good day. First and foremost I would like to apologize for any negative interactions you had with our staff. Certainly we do not condone the type of interacation you described in your comments. I am confident in our ability to exceed your expectations not only in service but as a product and brand during your next trip to Hunt Valley and we hope to see you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were in for a Lax tournament so it was a busy weekend for the hotel. Wanda at check-in was friendly and helpful. Room was clean, nice decor, very small bathroom. No pool. Breakfast was stocked regularly, they were well staffed for the amount of people at breakfast. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdPuodziunas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed this past week for several days. I was met by very friendly and helpful desk staff. I was handed an ice cold water bottle upon my arrival (last week was a heat wave and being a Priority club member it was a welcome touch!) The lobby smelled clean, and upon entering my room, I was very pleased. This hotel was recently redone and they did a great job. I read before that is was another name/chain before it was a Holiday Inn. My experience was a very clean, well appointed room and comfy bed and pillows (they label the outer pillowcase so you know which is soft, medium or firm.) There was even an iron and ironing board which was great. The TV was a nice big one. Breakfast was was a good selection of cereals, yogurts and various style eggs were available each morning. I forgot my toothbrush and was given one right away. The ONLY thing I could say could be done differently, is the toilet paper is hung on the wall opposite the toilet so it was a little reach. I will stay here again next year when I return for the same sporting event and will recommend this to others traveling there as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LakesMomNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunt Valley
0.8 mi away
Hunt Valley Inn A Wyndham Grand
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore - North/Hunt Valley
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore North / Timonium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Baltimore Hunt Valley
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Timonium
Holiday Inn Timonium
#2 of 3 in Timonium
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Baltimore Hunt Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hunt Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hunt Valley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hunt Valley
Address: 11200 York Rd, Hunt Valley, MD 21030 (Formerly Comfort Inn Hunt Valley)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hunt Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Hunt Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hunt Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hunt Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hunt Valley Hotel Hunt Valley
Hampton Inn Baltimore
Hunt Valley Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Hunt Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing