We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't go wong at Jesse Wong's”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jesse Wong's Kitchen - CLOSED

Jesse Wong's Kitchen
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: York Rd.
Cockeysville Hunt Valley, Maryland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Can't go wong at Jesse Wong's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Live within 2 miles of this place which has been there for over six years, but I never noticed it. Then a colleague told me that he had dinner there and I should check it out. Went on a Tuesday night, and found mostly business people having dinner. Unfortunately, it was not very crowded. What did my colleague know that apparently no one else knew? So we started with the coconut shrimp appetizer, which was four shrimp dipped in coconut on skewers with a dipping sauce. Not a bad way to start. Then a ordered a bowl of hot and sour soup which was very tasty. For dinner, I got he sweet and sour chicken, was a huge portion of chicken with a red sauce on top. Overall, way too much food but very good. Remember this is Chinese food so expect to gain several pounds overnight from the salt content. As a comparison, this is a step above P.F.Chang's with much better food and service, with freshly prepared food in lieu of warming up frozen dinners. Overall, i was quite pleased with my experience and called my colleague to thank him for the recommendation. In my opinion, you can't go wong at Jesse Wong's.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mike_kwiatkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    9
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice dinner date before the movies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

A good variety to choose from. The 4 course meal was worth it. I really liked the spicy and tangy wontons and the soups. The waitstaff was attentive and friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReeseLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville, MD
Level Contributor
129 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Surprised at the mixed reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Very pleasant evening ouside on the patio. We both enjoyed sushi that was well made,interesting and flavorful. Service was attentive and pleasant without being overbearing. The non sushi dishes at the other tables looked appetizing. We overheard the couple across from us commenting how good their dishes were. We live in the area and will be returning to try other dishes.

Don't understand why the reviews are so sharply divided ... Almost like their are two different restaurants. A manager type even dropped by with refills on th drinks to check on how we were doing ... Nice touch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annapolis2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lunchtime is a good time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Good food. Never crowded during the day. You can have any table that you like. Get the california rolls. Freshly made to order. Delicious.Large. 6 pieces for 5.50. Not bad value.
There is a $7.50 lunch special menu. Also, regular lunch menu( which is a smaller portion of the night menu). We had the orange chicken lunch special and the singapore rice noodles. The singapore rice noodles were a little bland as we had the hots reduced but the meal came to the dinner totally removed of hots. A little hots as requested would have been better. The orange chicken special came with the hot & sour soup. My complaints.Our lunch companion ate the entire meal.
Would recommend the restaurant. Will go again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meya76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Average food, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

The food smelled great as we walked in, and the atmosphere is nice enough. The hot and sour soup was plentiful and very good, though we waited a very long time for it. When we asked to take the remainder home, the waiter brought a container to the table, picked up the large soup bowl, and poured the soup--over the table and floor, as well as into the container! He did not wipe off the soup from the outside of the container, did not clean the table or floor--just kind of laughed and said, "Just a little bit," before hastening away. Our entrees were served by another wait person, who also did not clean anything up, but brought hand wipes when we asked for paper towels. The sesame chicken was fair--tender white meat, but quite bland. The moo shu vegetables were okay, a little crunchy, but nothing to particularly remember.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cadbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jesse Wong's Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing