We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pretty bland Thanksgiving”
Review of Barrett's

Barrett's
Reserve with OpenTable
Barrett's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Hunt Valley
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: York Road
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A pretty bland Thanksgiving”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

So, family members wanted to go to Barrett's for Thanksgiving. I knew it was a 'meat' place, and I am a vegetarian, so I was prepared to be open minded and just eat vegetables. But really, the caesar salad was terrible - they only used the spine of the lettuce chopped in tiny bits, room temperature, mayonnaise-like dressing, blech. The mac and cheese was full of ham or bacon and so overcooked the pasta was mush. My family members, who ordered the turkey platter, had to send their platters back twice to be re-heated. Who wants re-heated dinner at a nice restaurant? Our waiter complained that he had to speak to the management to get the drinks from the bar, as they were too backed up to make a simple high ball. Our waiter was good...seemed like he was doing the best he could. They were swamped on Thanksgiving, but seemed completely unprepared. Lastly, carrot cake for dessert was the worst I have had - full of syrupy sugar and very little cake - no flavor. I will not go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maggiemuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    94
    34
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Towson, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything just right”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Going to Barrett's before a movie at the Multiplex next door has become an instant tradition for us The food is always delicious, prepared to specific requests and delivered by well-trained, service-oriented, wait staff. The four of us each had something different, and swapping taste bites, it was easy to tell that all of the dishes were excellent and hard to tell which was the best. By far, our favorite dining place in the area that has several quality restaurant opportunities.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank younggeezer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't do it”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Went here on Sunday for a birthday dinner with family had confirmed reservations for 11. When we all got there and were seated table was only set for 10. The worst part was I got the meatloaf stack and got very sick a few hours later from eating it. Symptoms were in line with Staph auraus type food poisoning. Was also automatically charged 20% tip for larger group and service was sub par. Disappointing can't recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Duck Dinner; intimate atmosphere”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The service and atmosphere was excellent. The Duck dinner was wonderfully seasoned and the duck was good quality from the beginning. My husband had the pork chop and it was cooked to perfection. Cheers to the chef to prepared the ceaser salad, as the dressing was just enough on the salad and not over done . We both had a beautiful meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beautiful Western Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cooked to Perfection”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Excellent service staff in a clean comfortable dinning area. Dinner was cook to perfection and was able to subsitute a side salad for the vegatable of the day. Great meal with a glass of wine.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GodandCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barrett's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing