We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tidewater Grille

Tidewater Grille
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Essex, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Time”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Tidewater is alsway a great place to relax and enjoy a great dinner with an amzing view. We spent the first part of our after party here where the entertainment, Dennis Shocket was awesome and fun as well, and then of course a big thank you to Julie and Julia for an amazing time!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    194
    82
    46
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a late (2pm) lunch at the Tidewater Grill, a restaurant we've been to several times before. I ordered their Broiled Seafood Platter (small portions of salmon, crab cake, shrimp and scallops). It came with string beans and garlic mashed potato. In a word, it ranks among the best meals I've ever had. Everything on the plate was hot, perfectly cooked (not under, not over). The green beans were not only plentiful, but had a seasoned butter sauce on them that made them extraordinarily flavorful. Likewise the mashed potato.

My wife had the Pasta Primavera. She said it was good, not excellent, but that may have been a matter of her taste. You can get it with either marinara or alfredo sauce. She opted for the marinara; I'd have chosen the alfredo because the vegetables had pronounced "raw veggie" flavors that would be softened by a white sauce.

My daughter had the soft shell crabs, which was a special, since soft shells are only available this time of year. She rated them excellent.

Atmosphere in the dining room is casual; nothing special. We ate in the dining room rather than the porch or outside because of no waiting time. Despite the relatively late time, they were packed, a sign of how popular the restaurant is.

The server was pleasant and very attentive.

If you're ever in Havre de Grace, eat here; you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrugalGormet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
115 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great mixed drinks”
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We stopped at the Tidewater to kill some time, and a few drinks. Their mixed drinks are awesome, and the service was great. Would. have liked to sit outside but the wait was long. Excellent waterfront location

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nmpd2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A nice find on a day off”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Havre de Grace is a shell of its former self, and I fear that the continued development of the waterfront in its current configuration will kill what was once a fine city. For better, for worse, the corner of the peninsula closest to the Susquehanna is about the only open view of water left in town. So, the chief draw to the Tidewater Grille is the view. The food is fine, the staff works hard, the menu is relatively standard but executed well enough. There are a couple of decent things to see in HdG, and lunch here is a fine centerpiece.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank mg o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, Maryland
2 reviews
“Great view & drinks!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Visit here often for the view! Food is good but alittle pricey for what you get. Adult beverages are excellent! Service is always great & staff very helpful and knowledgable about menu.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joie0617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tidewater Grille also viewed

Havre de Grace, MD
 

Been to Tidewater Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing