We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome trails, scenic views”

Susquehanna State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Charlestown, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Awesome trails, scenic views”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I come to this park quite frequently to run on the trails, but this trip we decided to camp over night. For mid August is was not very crowded and the weather was fantastic. The park staff are great, very helpful and always with a smile. We also go the chance to meet with the volunteers who ride their horses in the park and work on the trails, etc. Great group of people and the kids love the horses. Great little park that I recommend to anyone who's interested.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    35
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well-kept campgrounds and pretty scenery”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a short weekend camping spot, and were pleasantly surprised by our trip to Susquehanna State Park. There are several short (2-3 mile) hiking loops that had some uphills to get you out of breath (but not too challenging for our older dog). You can also walk for several miles along the river which is also a pretty view. We brought our tent and stayed in the Acorn loop (#67). It was pretty full even in mid-September, mostly family groups with small children. The camp sites were well-kept with a picnic table, fire pit, trash hook, and place for our camp stove. Sites with higher #'s (>50) tended to be tucked away off the road especially our little group of 3 site (65-67) which were a short walk from the car but that made it nice and quiet without traffic going past. We walked through the Beechnut loop, and found most of the campsites on that side were directly next to the road, so we were glad we had selected the other side. The bath houses were very new-looking and well-kept, with automatic sinks and hand sanitizer. This made for a very pleasant experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank LRH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice campsite, good tubing”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent Labor Day weekend at a tent campsite and really enjoyed ourselves. The sites are fairly spread out and arranged to provide some privacy. There are some sites that are basically just glorified pull-offs, so be sure to check out the photos of each available site on the reservation website.

We found the campground to be cool, well-shaded and not very buggy. There are trails leading from the campground to the rest of the park. Even though it was a holiday weekend it didn't feel overcrowded. There was a nice fire ring with a grill over it and a picnic table, and the bathroom has showers.

We decided to go tubing in Deer Creek and had a great time. There's a place to put in at the pumping station that has room for cars to park along the side. We floated down and walked back along the road that parallels the creek, but there are pull offs downstream where you can park the car. It's hard to see them from the river though, so I'd recommend hanging a bright object from an overhanging tree limb or something. The pull offs are just about the perfect distance for a 1.5 hr to 2 hr float down the river. Don't try tubing or kayaking on the Susquehanna; the current is very strong.

Some campgrounds have staff that will harass any group of young people, but we weren't bothered except to ask us to move where we parked our third car. There is a two car limit per campsite, but they tell you when you check in that there's overflow parking in some areas. Definitely read the fine print on the reservation website, though - there's a two tent and six person maximum, and a three night minimum on holiday weekends. You also have to buy your wood there ($5) to prevent the spread of a tree-killing insect. The staff are very nice, though.

Would definitely come again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank diddakoi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

It is a beautiful park and the campgrounds are well kept. 62,63 and 64 are the best tent sites. Only one complaint is there is no Dishwashing area...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JCNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rock Run Historic Area”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Rock Run Historic Area is the site of an historic grist mill, the mill-owners' home -- the Rock Run, or "Carter-Archer" Mansion, an old spring house, a gorgeous stone carriage barn (that helpfully provides restrooms for the over-saturated traveler), a mill pond and rather lovely little waterfall, the miller's house, and the toll house for the covered bridge (that washed away in the 1850s). The old grist mill, built in the last years of the 18th century and operational in 1800, has much of its machinery still intact inside. Although because the mill operated until the 1950s, not all of what remains actually dates back to 1800. Not far from the mill is the mansion, which is well worth touring.

Take the opportunity to hike along the river as well -- the trails and view are lovely. For more about the Susquehanna State Park and the Rock Run Historic Area, check out my blog: http://www.midatlanticdaytrips.blogspot.com/2013_07_01_archive.html

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Dayripgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Susquehanna State Park also viewed

 

Been to Susquehanna State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing