We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book club visit”

The Havre de Grace Maritime Museum
Attraction details
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Book club visit”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We visited this museum as part of our book club discussion group. It is a wonderfully spacious museum with a number of changing exhibits. It has wonderful examples of maritime travelling from the history of European settlement of the Chesaoeake Bay.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank PecatonicaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edgewood, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Been to other Maritime Museums but here, if you leave without learning anything about the way boats were built, the times on the Bay or anything else, then you didn't visit here!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pride01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and quick”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a VERY small museum. Even so, they did a nice job making the most of what they had. Their exhibits range from 1600's Native American through early 20th century. Don't plan on being here more than 30-45 minutes.

There is a suggested donation of $2, which I feel is about right for you get.

Clean bathrooms, easy parking and a small gift shop also help.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank tinacaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lost their Best Attraction”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I used to go to the museum and get live demonstrations from the Boat Building School. Since they were kicked out, there isn't much left. At least the Boat School found a new home in North East. Save your time and go to a Maritime Museum with boats!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank HistoricalEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not Bad for a Small Town Museum”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We are rather new in the area and went to "explore" Havre de Grace. We love boats and, basically, all things "water". We drove into town not knowing about ANYTHING and had a GREAT day!
We "found" the museum while looking for a parking spot to check out the Concord Point Lighthouse, we spotted right across the street. (Also cool to check out)
The museum has a rather nice collection of nautical artifacts, photos and bios on display. No, it's not the Smithsonian, but Havre de Grace isn't DC either!! We enjoyed looking at all the old equipment and reading the fascinating captions on the (very) old pictures. Of course there is a wonderful Gift Shop with something for "the shopper" in all of us! We bought a CD of old "Sea Shanties".
(Fun to listen to on the deck, in the dark, with a brandy!)
I suggest it as part of a nice way to spend the day in Havre de Grace. It only takes about 45 minutes, or so, to give it a good "once over". Then check out the lighthouse. Next take a leisurely stroll on the water's edge boardwalk promenade. There's is a wonderfully funky marina restaurant at the end to grab a bite. Or have dinner in one of the waterview restaurants in the "downtown" area. (That's what we did.)
We plan to make it one of our seasonal places to visit.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank maxanddenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Havre de Grace Maritime Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Havre de Grace Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing