We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVE, LOVE the Vandiver!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vandiver Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vandiver Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Bel Air, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVE, LOVE the Vandiver!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We LOVE the Vandiver! It is our go to for a night out. We were married there 6 years ago and continue to feel that we made the best choice. We received compliments from our guests regarding the beauty of the venue and service from the staff. The history of the town and house can be seen everywhere. The food is always delicious!!! We are regulars at the Valentine Dinner and Mother's Day Brunch. We highly recommend the Vandiver for a weekend away, dinner out, or special event!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klevans57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    39
    16
    9
    2
See reviews for
60
144
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed over the weekend following Valentine's Day. The entire staff was extremely attentive. I especially enjoyed their knowledge of the history of the inn. One of the staff members was outside as we were touring the grounds and offered to take our picture in front of the gazebo. We stayed on the O'Neill room. Beautiful eclectic antiques- just what you would expect in a B&B. We enjoyed the private entrance. We definitely plan to go back again. Great job to John & Sue!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buhler96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royal oak
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

My fiance and I stayed there this weekend and couldn't be any more impressed! Everyone was very welcoming and friendly from the start! We stayed in the vandiver suite in the Kent house, the bed was extremely comfortable and the room was very clean!! It was the best night sleep we have had away from home and delicious breakfast. We highly recommend it and will definitely be back in the spring!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

The staff of the Vandiver Inn could not have been better, very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the John Henry room, it is a tired room. The carpet needs to be replaced or at least cleaned. The furniture is also tired. This review only applies to the John Henry room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank va7runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I and two other couples were recently looking to take a road trip to get out of town to relax and have some fun. We chose Havre de Grace because it was centrally located to our friends from Philadelphia and us. We searched through several hotels and B&B’s in the local area. After some research we finally decided on the Vandiver Inn. What a great choice that was.

The Inn is beautiful and full of history. The rooms were all great but most of all the service and hospitality was excellent. You and your staff did a great job and we enjoyed our stay immensely. Please share this with your staff and take pride in the service and hospitality you provided. People make all the difference.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gzembower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have been going to the Vandiver Inn for a quilt retreat every Winter for the last five years. There is a reason we keep coming back to the same place - it is amazing.

The people there are always so friendly and helpful. Even when we called John with a problem late at night, he was there right away and sorted everything out.

The food was delicious! I think I gained five pounds, everything was so tempting that I couldn't stop eating. There was good variation from meal to meal - some more international, others focusing on local favorites (oooh, the crab cakes!) that were excellent. There were also accommodations made for food allergies - both chicken piccata and glazed salmon were served Friday night since some people had a problem with seafood.

The Inn itself is incredible. There is such a sense of history. The mix of period furnishings that have been carefully updated for maximum comfort is priceless. We slept on a vintage four-poster bed outfitted with a modern memory foam mattress. It was perfect. The bathroom kept some of the older tiles but with newer faucets, showerheads, etc. The owners have cleverly chosen which features to update and which should be left alone. They've retained the charm of the old homes without sacrificing convenience.

There is a reason we keep coming back to the Vandiver year after year. It really has the complete package. Great place, great food, and even better people.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Once a year, every winter, we run a quilting. retreat at the Vandiver Inn, Havre de Grace, MD. 2013 was our tenth anniverdary at this beautiful Inn. The owners, John & Susan, and their staff, could not be more gracious and accomodating; and their food is scrumptious! We're twenty women who look forward to returning every year!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicheleMMiroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havre de Grace
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen
6.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Baltimore Aberdeen
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Perryville
Days Inn Perryville
#1 of 2 in Perryville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN North East Inn
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 17 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vandiver Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vandiver Inn

Property: Vandiver Inn
Address: 301 S Union Ave, Havre de Grace, MD 21078-3201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Havre de Grace
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Havre de Grace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vandiver Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Vandiver Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vandiver Hotel Havre De Grace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing