We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

The staff was friendly, the room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. The only "issue" I had was that the air conditioning was noisy. Every time it kicked on, I would have to turn the TV volume up and when it shut off, I would turn the volume down. I don't recall an a/c unit as noisy as this one in any of my previous stays at IHG owned hotels.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Infidel_Sheepdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We really apologize for the loud A/C unit in your room. We will definitely report this issue to the proper department for repairs/replacement to resolve this issue. We really appreciate your comments and feedback to help us provide our guest with the best customer service we can. We're glad to be able to accommodate all of your lodging needs. Again we thank you choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    88
    21
    14
    5
See reviews for
56
47
17
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Euclid, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for our family reunion. The staff was exceptional. Very accommodating and pleasant. Group rate was very good. Only setbacks: front desk could have had more staff for check in. There was another family reunion and other groups checking it at same time. Also took too long for rooms to be cleaned. However, when cleaned they were very clean. Thanks to Shawn, Towana, Terrell, Pauline, Kevin and especially Erica who took very good care of me through the many changes of confirmations. Excellent customer service which is very important. I would recommend the HIE BWI Airport to anyone traveling to the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. It's wonderful to see that our staff took great care of you as well as being able to accommodate all of your lodging needs. We really want to apologize for the delay in checking in and for all of your patience during that process. It is always a pleasure hosting wonderful families for their family reunions. Everyone was very nice and a pleasure to be of service to. We also want to thank you for taking the time to give us your comments and feedback as it helps us to improve and provide our guest with the best customer service. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

If you stay a night here you can park you car for free for up to 30 days, possibly more if you make direct arrangements. It is a good HI Express, rooms are clean, linens are clean, beds comfortable, everything was in working order. If you are doing park and fly you won't get discounted rates, like military, senior and such but the cost is reasonable and much less than paying daily parking if you stay longer than a few days. So if you live locally and are flying out of BWI and need to park your car for a week or more, this is the place to stay. Only place I could find that allowed 30 days free parking near BWI. There is a Denny's on the property; but nothing else within walking distance. Lots of options within driving distance.

Room Tip: Higher floors away from the Denny's side are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgmarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We're glad you've had the chance to take advantage of our Park Stay and Go Package which is a great savings on parking. I really apologize if there were any miscommunication as far as the details of the package. The package includes parking your car up to 14 days only and each additional day $5.00 per day there after. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your comments and feedback. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We held our 2014 Family Reunion at your facility and it could not have been a better choice. The staff at the front desk were professional, kind, courteous. The management staff (particularly Tawanna, Kim and Shawn) were excellent ... very professional but also very personable. There was not one request that we made (and we made many!!!) that they did not go out of their way to make it happen and accommodate us. With over 97 attendees over this past weekend, I don't know of any venue that would have been able to handle us so well. Thank you HE BWI AIR!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Leslie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We really appreciate you taking the time out of your busy day to give us your comments and feedback as it helps us to provide the best customer service that we can for our guest. We would like to thank you for allowing us to host your special event and we hope to be of service to you for your next one. It was a great pleasure to have had such great people here at our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels. Thanks again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

I was there for 3 nites for a family reunion. the staff and managers were all extremely helpful, professional, and accomodating. i definitely will recommend to others.

(thanks Sean/Shawn///i forget how he spells his name!)

The room was comfortable and clean. the hallways were kept up and brightly lit. the room we used for our events was clean and in a great spot. a bit too small to comfortably sit "9-10 to round tables,10 tables"...perhaps 6 to 8 MAX (total of 70-80 maybe). but otherwise it served its purpose

FOOD option hint:
Although Dennys is 'attached' to the hotel, "hidden" behind the hotel is a plaza that offers Pakistani, Indian, Mexican, Thai and even dunkin donuts/baskin robbins! Dennys is not 'the only' option within walking distance.

i was slightly disappointed that despite arriving at noon (yes, i know check in isnt until 3pm) My room was still not available till after 5p. "fortunately" i was able to stay busy organizing family stuff, however, had i been 'doing nothing', i would imagine i would have been pretty perturbed sitting and waiting the extra 2hrs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redlocs_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. It was a pleasure having you here at our hotel for your family reunion. We would like to sincerely apologize for the delayed check-in and we really thank you for your patience during your wait. It great to know that we were able to accommodate all of your lodging needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your comments and feedback as it helps us to ensure the best customer service that we can provide for our guest. We hope to see you again next year for your special event. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we really appreciate your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
92 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

First and foremost, the smoking station is right by the entrance. I mean seriously, the last thing I want walking into a hotel is walk through a cloud of someone's cigarette smoke. Not cool. The room was pretty comfortable and at least the coffee pot clean, however the shower had mold in the grout and on the caulking. I don't allow mold in my home, let alone do I want to see it in the hotel. Breakfast was the standard HIE setup, but the carpet and area dirty with crumbs - and I was one of the first people at breakfast as it opened. The front desk check in and checkout process was pretty slow. All in all... I'll look for a different place next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Becky K,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stay. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Again, thank you for the feedback and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

The front office staff was incredibly rude and very inexperienced. Was charged $50 a day incidental fee without being notified of this. Upon checkout, they charged me an addditional $178.54 completely unauthorized, and refuse to refund my money. Tried contacting hotel and was told management would not get back to me for at least 2 days. They won't even provide the general manager's name to contact for a complaint. I will NEVER utilize this hotel again, and hope every other customer will STAY AWAY!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We would like to apologize for your unpleasant experienced during your stay at our hotel. Our hotel as well as many other hotels authorizes room and tax for your entire stay along with a $50 authorization for incidentals, which is a one time authorization not per night. When using a debit card it automatically places the total of your stay plus incidentals on hold therefore removing the funds from your bank account. The room and tax is then actually charged at the time of check out in which the $50 for incidental will fall back into the account within 7-10 business days depending on your financial institution. This policy is explained at the time of check in as well as a sign that is placed at the front desk. As a courtesy we issued a credit back to your account for the half day rate that you were charged for leaving late on the day of your departure as well contacting your financial institution to have any funds that we were not using to be released back into your account. Again we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that this matter may have caused you and we hope that you'll give us another chance to make your stay with us a great experience. Thanks again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West and we forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanover hotels
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Arundel Mills BWI Airport
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arundel Mills / Baltimore
0.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Arundel Mills / BWI Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Hotel at Arundel Preserve
0.4 mi away
Aloft Arundel Mills
Aloft Arundel Mills
#5 of 14 in Hanover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Arundel Mills BWI Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West

Property: Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West
Address: 7481 Ridge Road, Hanover, MD 21076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hanover
#4 Business Hotel in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express BWI has heard your comments about the need to upgrade our hotel and are happy to report that we have just completed a 100% total renovation. From walls and cielings to carpet and furniture you will find we have thought of all your comments and needs. We eagerly look forward to your comments as you visit our location and see for yourself what a great product we have to compliment our staff that is eager to make your stay a great one. Hotel offers free shuttle service to BWI Airport & local attractions within 5 miles. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express BWI Airport Hotel West! Conveniently located just 7 minutes from BWI Airport; and 3 minutes from Arundel Mills Mall featuring over 200 stores, Dave & Buster's and Medieval Times Dinner Theatre. The hotel is an 18 minute drive to the Baltimore Inner Harbor, Baltimore Orioles at Camden Yards, and the home of the Baltimore Ravens at M&T Bank Stadium. Other attractions include the Baltimore National Aquarium, Annapolis Naval Academy and Historic Annapolis, Six Flags, Timonium Fairgrounds and Washington DC points of interest. The hotel is minutes to Northrop Grumman, Daimler Chrysler, Siemens, John Hopkins, Ft. Meade and NSA. Enjoy the comfort and services you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express, including the complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar with our signature Cinnamon Rolls and Simply Smart bedding and bath initiative. The hotel offers free local phone calls, high-speed Internet and shuttle 24/7 to BWI Airport, MARC Commuter Train, MTA Light Rail, and Amtrak Station. Tired of paying expensive parking fees at BWI Airport? Our park and fly package is the perfect solution! Make the Smart Choice for a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - Bwi Airport West Hotel Hanover
Holiday Inn Hanover
Hanover Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing