We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Very pleasantly surprised. Usually use Hampton Inn, but it was full. HIE staff was very friendly and efficient; beds comfy; choice of firm/soft pillows (hooray!); breakfast better than Hampton (got love those cinnamon buns!) and exceptional service in breakfast room. All in all -- what's not to love? Only minus (?) was that the A/C was very loud, but it did drown out flight noise, so maybe it's actually a plus. Will definitely try a HIE again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peirins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thanks for staying here with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and had the chance to taste our delicious hot breakfast, especially our signature cinnamon rolls. Our cinnamon rolls are always a big hit at the breakfast bar. It was our pleasure to be able to accomodate all of your lodging needs. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you agian during your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 271 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. Wednesdays they have a managers reception. Van service to BWI airport. Van runs 24/7. Gym. Nice breakfast. Good place to stay if you have a early flight.
Only thing I didn't like was there was no coffee before I got on the shuttle.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balucanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments and feedback. We're glad your overall stay with us was great with the exception of not having any coffee during your departure. We sincerely apologize for not having any fresh coffee ready. We will definately take the proper measures in correcting this matter to insure that it never happens again. Thanks for choosing the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West and we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Good location and great service. Also, conveniently located by a Denny's diner for quick food. Check-in process was great even though I was early and checkout process was automatic. Staff was very pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for staying here with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. It was our pleasure to be able to provide all of your lodging needs. Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments and feedback as we value your opinion and it also helps us to provide our guests with the best customer service. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed at this HIE before when flying out of BWI. The staff is great and check in is quick and easy. The hotel has a complimentary airport shuttle that runs frequently and will pick you up at BWI on demand when your flight arrives. You can park and leave your car in their lot if you pick the Park n Go rate. We just recently stayed 2 nights- one night before our early outgoing flight and one night on our return because we didn't want to drive the 1.5 hrs home at 1:00am. We've never had any problems and will stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwi2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thanks for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We're glad that we were able to accomodate all of your lodging needs. It's good to see that you were able to take advantage of our Park Stay and Go Package whick is a great deal for guest wanting to leave their car with no worries while taking vacation. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express BWI West for the 1st time in September.

1. Some of the staff need to be re-trained on how to deliver great customer service. Didn't meet 1 friendly staff member and no one smiled the whole time I was there. Additionally the front desk staff
appeared to get bogged down with phone questions and making reservations and guests are left standing waiting to check in, etc. while the staff is on the phone ofr long periods.

2. The Express breakfast area is a "train wreck". On a busy weekend you will find the seating area space is way too small for a crowded breakfast. People are almost stacked on one another with tables and chairs packed into this tiny little area with little to no room to manuver around. On a positive note they have "BACON" which isn't found at Marriott Residence Inn properties and the breakfast has a well balanced variety.

3. Also on a positive note is their complimentary shuttle service. It makes no sense for the Marriott properties in this same area to "NOT" offer complimentary shuttle service. They are shooting themselves in the foot and loosing valuable customers. Holiday Inn and Hilton properties will gain from this ammenity and Marriott will loose out. The shuttle service at this location is excellent.

4. I saved the best for last--The rooms are large and nicely decorated, clean and fresh and the beds are quite comfortable. The tub/shower seems a bit smaller than most hotels but the bathrooms were clean and very nice.

Based on my overall assessment, I would return to this property if they can straighten out their customer service issues and the poorly arranged breakfast area.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the 5th floor corners for quieter areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kdmspecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Kdmspecial,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a comprehensive review. I appreciate the positive remarks on our hotel shuttle service and rooms. However, I am sorry that you received staff service and breakfast selections that was less-than-satisfactory. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. I appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here before taking off on our honeymoon and Holiday Inn Express took a lot of worries off our hands. They offer a park and fly option where you can stay the night and park your car up to 14 days all for about $100, which is much easier than staying home 30 minutes away, driving and dealing with traffic, finding a parking spot and then waiting for the shuttle to come get you. HIE had a shuttle that we scheduled to take us to our airline check-in area and then they came and picked us up when we got back. Will defiantly do this for anymore early morning flights I have. As always, the hotel staff was very kind and the hotel was clean and the breakfast was great!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justined0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Congratulations Newlyweds!! We hope you had a wonderful and safe honeymoon. We're glad we were able to relieve some of your stress by offering you the Park Stay and Go Package so that you would not have to worry about your vehicle while you were away. Maybe we'll get the chance to see you again next year for your 1st anniversary. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West and we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Arrived late evening and we were greeted by a friendly staff with a quick check in. Room very clean and comfortable. The hotel was well kept and brightly lit. The morining breakfast offered a good variety of foods and was well attented to by staff. Located within minutes of 295, BWI, and around the corner from the huge Arundel Mills Shopping Center. There is a Denny's in the front lot which is open late night. You will be pleased if you book this hotel.

Room Tip: This is a 5 floor hotel and I can't imagine a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TalyMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your comments and feedback as we value our guest opinion and strive to provide the best customer service. We're glad you had the chance to enjoy some our attractions as well as our delicious hot breakfast not to mention our wonderful signature cinnamon rolls. We thank you for staying here with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West and we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanover hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arundel Mills / Baltimore
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Arundel Mills BWI Airport
0.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Arundel Mills / BWI Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aloft Arundel Mills
Aloft Arundel Mills
#6 of 14 in Hanover
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Live! Lofts
Live! Lofts
#4 of 14 in Hanover
1,016 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Hotel at Arundel Preserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West

Address: 7481 Ridge Rd, Hanover, MD 21076-3122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hanover
#4 Business Hotel in Hanover
Price Range: $91 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express BWI is happy to report that we have completed our first floor renovation! You will love the new look, as well as the above standard service our hotel has to offer. We also offer free shuttle service to BWI Airport & local attractions within 5 miles. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express BWI Airport Hotel West! Conveniently located just 7 minutes from BWI Airport; and 3 minutes from Arundel Mills Mall featuring over 200 stores, Dave & Buster's and Medieval Times Dinner Theatre. Enjoy the comfort and services you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express, including the complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar with our signature Cinnamon Rolls and Simply Smart bedding and bath initiative. The hotel offers free local phone calls, high-speed Internet and shuttle 24/7 to BWI Airport, MARC Commuter Train, MTA Light Rail, and Amtrak Station. Tired of paying expensive parking fees at BWI Airport? Leave your car with us! Try our park and fly package! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - Bwi Airport West Hotel Hanover
Holiday Inn Hanover
Hanover Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing