We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place for an Overnight Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great place for an Overnight Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here the night before an early flight out of BWI. Check-in was a breeze, room was comfy and very clean, pool area was nice (didn't swim, but looked great!), and shuttle to the airport was efficient, driver very friendly! Staff gave us some great local dinner recommendations and answered all of our questions- very helpful and knowledgable. Breakfast was good- lots of "hot" options as well as cereal, fruit, etc. if in the area, we would def return to this location!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdh713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLyons-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We're glad you've had a great experience here at our hotel. It's our pleasure to provide you with the best customer service that we can. We're very happy to have been able to accomodate all of your lodging needs. Again we thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    81
    21
    14
    5
See reviews for
54
42
16
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have stayed here twice, and will likely return. The staff is very friendly and the rooms nice and clean. A shout out to Ms. Atalaya who every time I passed through the lobby had a smile for me and everyone else that was around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flowerberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamikaBrown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks for taking the time out to give us your comments and feedback. We really value your opinion as it helps us to provide our guest with the best customer service. We're glad that we were able to accomodate all of your lodging needs and that you've had wonderful experience here at our hotel. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We look forward to seeing you again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are now renovated but poor job done quality of work is not good. Ceiling in the bathroom in my room was not even level lower in one side of the bathroom. Also room smelled like a musty basement and piss. Not sure why as most everything in the room looks new except the old style ac unit so maybe the smell is coming from that not sure. Overall one night stay to catch a plane but not the place for more than that.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pontadepedras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear pontadepedras,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

I trust that the above issues will not deter you from choosing us as your hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Spent the night there on a business trip, spent a long day at work so looking to relax before the flight home in the morning. So...check in an we are greeted by some very nicely dressed ladies and gentlemen hosting one very nice happy hour! What a welcome sight after a hectic work day and not only wine and beer but cheese, meatballs etc.

The hotel was great, check-in was smooth and professional, rooms and lobby were clean and well maintained as was the outside grounds. the bed was very comfortable with plenty of outlets (I use a CPAP). Everything was great, I'd recommend this to anyone as a great place to stay. The offer a shuttle to the airport and the rental car return in 10 minutes away.

Thank you Holiday Inn...was a very nice stay.

Room Tip: All nice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muldoon56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamikaBrown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We're very glad that you enjoyed our IHG Rewards reception. It is our way of showing our appreciation to all of our loyal members. We're glad you were able to relax and unwind with us after a long day at work. It was our pleasure to accomodate your lodging needs and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I was lucky this time and got the young man at the right to check me in. I noticed that those who were checking in through the lady on the left were struggling a little because she was training someone while she was working. This can be awkward for those waiting in line. While you wait, you see one guy, the trainee, behind the desk not doing much and you are wondering why he won't assist the next customer.

The rooms are smaller than most Holiday Inns.

It is a little bothersome to have to write down all those details of your car that some of us don't have memorized - Tag number, year make and model of your car - sorry but I don't know my rental car data that early in the game. I wish there was a better way to authenticate parking. Then again, why do you have to do it at all? This seems to be a safe area, a little remote, why would non-customers want to park there? Possibly the cheapskates who don't want to leave car in long term airport parking?

Folks, bring your GPS to try to find this place. Better yet, use the shuttle service which is very good and you won't have to worry about getting lost.

Room Tip: Stay away from the noisy first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmoore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear johnmoore4,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Our goal is to provide clean and comfortable stay to all of our valued guest and make their stay a memorable one. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Very clean, quiet and restful. Area restaurants and a casino are nearby. Staff are friendly, but the hotel is busy - so Patience is a Virtue. Breakfast is typical HIE fare but it needs to be more seperated from the front doors and check-in/out.

Room Tip: Always ask for the top floor - thin floors so footsteps are easily heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamikaBrown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We're glad that we were able to meet all of your lodging needs. Our property can be very busy at times so we really appreciate all of your patience. We do have tables in our lobby area, but they're for our IHG Rewards reception on Wednesday nights. Our breakfast area is down the hall away from the front desk. We apologize for the miscommunication regarding the location of the breakfast area. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your comments and feedback as it helps us to provide our guest with the best customer service. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We travelled with our 2 small kids & stayed overnight there in March 2013 to catch a very early flight out of BWI the next morning. Check in was easy. They even had a spin-the-wheel game to win a free snack or drink (which was a hit with my 7 year old). Room was clean as a whistle. Check out was fast. The desk clerk gave us easy & perfect directions to the airport. We did not use the shuttle service. I would stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamikaBrown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for staying here with us at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We're very happy that you've had a great experience at our hotel. Glad you and your family enjoyed the Spin the Wheel game at check in. All of our guest seem to really enjoy it, especially the children. Again we thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
0.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Arundel Mills / BWI Airport
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arundel Mills / Baltimore
1.8 mi away
The Hotel at Arundel Preserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Baltimore/Arundel Mills
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Arundel Mills BWI Airport
0.4 mi away
Aloft Arundel Mills
Aloft Arundel Mills
#5 of 15 in Hanover
4.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West

Property: Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West
Address: 7481 Ridge Rd, Hanover, MD 21076-3122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hanover
#5 Business Hotel in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express BWI has heard your comments about the need to upgrade our hotel and are happy to report that we have just completed a 100% total renovation. From walls and cielings to carpet and furniture you will find we have thought of all your comments and needs. We eagerly look forward to your comments as you visit our location and see for yourself what a great product we have to compliment our staff that is eager to make your stay a great one. Hotel offers free shuttle service to BWI Airport & local attractions within 5 miles. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express BWI Airport Hotel West! Conveniently located just 7 minutes from BWI Airport; and 3 minutes from Arundel Mills Mall featuring over 200 stores, Dave & Buster's and Medieval Times Dinner Theatre. The hotel is an 18 minute drive to the Baltimore Inner Harbor, Baltimore Orioles at Camden Yards, and the home of the Baltimore Ravens at M&T Bank Stadium. Other attractions include the Baltimore National Aquarium, Annapolis Naval Academy and Historic Annapolis, Six Flags, Timonium Fairgrounds and Washington DC points of interest. The hotel is minutes to Northrop Grumman, Daimler Chrysler, Siemens, John Hopkins, Ft. Meade and NSA. Enjoy the comfort and services you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express, including the complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar with our signature Cinnamon Rolls and Simply Smart bedding and bath initiative. The hotel offers free local phone calls, high-speed Internet and shuttle 24/7 to BWI Airport, MARC Commuter Train, MTA Light Rail, and Amtrak Station. Tired of paying expensive parking fees at BWI Airport? Our park and fly package is the perfect solution! Make the Smart Choice for a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - Bwi Airport West Hotel Hanover
Holiday Inn Hanover
Hanover Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing