We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
21754
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel before an early morning flight out of BWI. The hotel has a shuttle that will take you anywhere in the area for free. They took me and a colleague to a nearby restaurant (there is a new casino too that they can take you to), dropped us off, and then came and pickup us up later. The next morning they took me to the airport and I was able to keep my car there for 5 days for free (choose the Park and Stay option). It was A LOT cheaper than parking but close to even if you include the cost of the hotel stay compared to parking at BWI. When I returned, I called them and they came and picked me up and brought me back to my car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soporifics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamikaBrown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accomodate all of your lodging needs. We look forward to seeing you again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    88
    21
    14
    5
See reviews for
56
47
17
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killeen, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Loved the hotel....really. Breakfast was good, loved the fresh fruit, and decent coffee. My problem started and "continued" with the $100.00 hold on my credit card for incidentals...My company had a pre authorized credit card to pay for my stay, I simply provided a personal credit card to cover amenities and incidentals. And thats where the Nightmare began!!! Instead of holding funds as previously discussed, they (holiday inn) "charged" me for every night on my personal card. Easy fix, right? Talk to management and everything should be fine?? How about i was charged not only once, not twice, THREE TIMES!! but to add insult to injury, they charged the full amount of my stay on my personal creditcard!!!!!!!!!! As I type this review right now, (having checked out a day prior) I'm still waiting for this hotel to correct the issue "they" created..... To be clear, I was refunded my funds the two previous times during my stay (incidentals $100.00 for 3 days at a time), but for the hotel to turn around and erroneously charge the wrong card!?!??! Simply unacceptable. Polite and friendly though they might be, untrained & unprofessional staff will ALWAYS leave patrons leaving feeling less than likely to ever return. Perhaps the Hampton up the street will have better trained staff....

Room Tip: Insist that you pay for incidentals as you need them!!!!! Or decline them altogether.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Frank B,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast.

However, We’re sorry you received poor customer service from our staff which was unacceptable. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very pleased with our last minute decision to stay here when our flight plans changed suddenly due to the weather(PHL to BWI). The hotel was very clean, comfortable and the shuttle service to BWI was v convenient!! The stay, park and fly program fit our needs perfectly! The staff at the front desk was courteous and suggested a bagged to go breakfast when we mentioned that we had a 6:15AM flight the next morning. Our car appeared un-touched--we parked in a well lighted area in the front- when we returned 14 days ater. We couldn't have been more pleased at our decision!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillowGroveGinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamikaBrown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We are very pleased to have met all your lodging needs, as it is our pleasure to provide you with the best customer service. We're really glad you enjoyed the On The Go Breakfast. We want to look out for the early risers as well, since breakfast is the most important meal of the day. We hope you had a wonderful vacation and we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I will give credit to the hotel because it's one of the original-generation properties that has been renovated. Lipstick can only do so much, and as a platinum member, I've stayed at lots of properties -- but this one's renovation is pretty favorable. Regardless, two of the top cardinal sins in the hospitality industry are lack of hot water and lack of functioning HVAC.

I noticed the hot water was lukewarm in the afternoon when I took a shower. Then, when I returned after a business dinner, the hot water ran cold. I contacted the desk, and they said the system had been reset 30 minutes ago. I waiting 90 minutes to take a shower again, and this time, it was very cold.

I'm not in boot camp, at war or in a state of emergency. And I noticed from reviews that problems with hot water have come up at this property before. As a consumer reporter, I give a warning to my fellow consumers. An otherwise good experience here has been tarnished.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PremierPlatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamikaBrown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We sincerely apologize for the inconvience that you've experienced at our hotel regarding the hot water. We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We have forwarded your comments and concerns to the General Manager, Karl Lyons. We would like for you to contact Mr. Lyons at the hotel 410-684-3388 to futhur discuss this matter and make it right by you. As always we thank you for staying here with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West and we look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel's park and fly program lets us start our vacation relaxed and stress free.The room is comfortable and spacious and the staff is friendly and helpful. The shuttle service is quick and efficient-both to and from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaraS500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamikaBrown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We're glad we could accomodate all of your lodging needs here at our hotel. It's our pleasure to provide you with the best customer service. As always we thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again during your future travels. We hope you had a wonderful vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel unexpectedly due to a flight cancellation. It was very clean, quiet, and smelled good :) The breakfast was very impressive - lots of options, and they even provided to-go bags to pack our own breakfast options to take to the airport. I was very impressed as it has been a while since we've stayed in a "chain" hotel, and this exceeded my expectations!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rch789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamikaBrown, Asst. Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We are very pleased that you've had a wonderful experience here at our hotel. We really appreciate your comments and feedback as we strive to provide the best customer for our guest. We hope to see you again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Staying one night at this establishment due to its proximity to the business I conducting the following day, I was pleased with my selection and would stay here again. This is Holiday Inn Express is typical of the chain and had facilities that met my needs very well. although I didn't use it, the Fitness Center was much better than average, had very good equipment, and looked appealing. Although it wasn't a disappointment, the breakfast wasn't impressive either. It didn't offer anything to make it stand out from other establishments. All-in-all, I would recommend this establishment for a short stay for anyone conducting business along the Baltimore-Washington Cooridor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SWODaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamikaBrown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We're glad we could accomodate your lodging needs. We're sorry our breakfast wasn't very appetizing for you. We really appreciate your comments and feedback as it helps us to make our establishment better for our guest. We will definiately forward your feedback to the proper department. We look forward to seeing you during your future travels. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanover hotels
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Arundel Mills BWI Airport
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arundel Mills / Baltimore
0.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Arundel Mills / BWI Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Hotel at Arundel Preserve
0.4 mi away
Aloft Arundel Mills
Aloft Arundel Mills
#5 of 14 in Hanover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Arundel Mills BWI Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West

Property: Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West
Address: 7481 Ridge Rd, Hanover, MD 21076-3122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hanover
#4 Business Hotel in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express BWI has heard your comments about the need to upgrade our hotel and are happy to report that we have just completed a 100% total renovation. From walls and cielings to carpet and furniture you will find we have thought of all your comments and needs. We eagerly look forward to your comments as you visit our location and see for yourself what a great product we have to compliment our staff that is eager to make your stay a great one. Hotel offers free shuttle service to BWI Airport & local attractions within 5 miles. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express BWI Airport Hotel West! Conveniently located just 7 minutes from BWI Airport; and 3 minutes from Arundel Mills Mall featuring over 200 stores, Dave & Buster's and Medieval Times Dinner Theatre. The hotel is an 18 minute drive to the Baltimore Inner Harbor, Baltimore Orioles at Camden Yards, and the home of the Baltimore Ravens at M&T Bank Stadium. Other attractions include the Baltimore National Aquarium, Annapolis Naval Academy and Historic Annapolis, Six Flags, Timonium Fairgrounds and Washington DC points of interest. The hotel is minutes to Northrop Grumman, Daimler Chrysler, Siemens, John Hopkins, Ft. Meade and NSA. Enjoy the comfort and services you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express, including the complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar with our signature Cinnamon Rolls and Simply Smart bedding and bath initiative. The hotel offers free local phone calls, high-speed Internet and shuttle 24/7 to BWI Airport, MARC Commuter Train, MTA Light Rail, and Amtrak Station. Tired of paying expensive parking fees at BWI Airport? Our park and fly package is the perfect solution! Make the Smart Choice for a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - Bwi Airport West Hotel Hanover
Holiday Inn Hanover
Hanover Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing