We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Decent Room, Poor Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Decent Room, Poor Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Staff is sloppy and apathetic. Room was clean, comfortable and pretty nice. Walls are thin and you can hear the neighbors. Location is excellent, just a couple of miles from the airport, Arundel Mills, gambling and Fort Meade. If only the service matched the location...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wadd003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear wadd003,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. It is nice to know that you have noticed the cleanliness of our rooms. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. However, I would like to for the difficulties you had experienced with the hotel staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    81
    21
    14
    5
See reviews for
54
42
16
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Spent two nights and we were delighted. Business trip and did not spent too much time in the hotel. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Heat pump turned on and off frequently but that is expected in hotels. I would rather stay at comfortable temperature.
Breakfast was good, business center was adequate. Did not use fitness room but it looked great. Bathroom was clean and spacious. Shower was fuctional and adequate.
Staff was friendly and attentive. Parking area was clean. Hotel offer shuttle but we did not use it. It displayed airline departure and arrival in lobby which was great for travelling people. Over all good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UpperCapeResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamikaBrown, Asst. Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback in order for us to insure that our guests have the best customer service. We're very happy that you've had a wonderful stay here with us and that you will think of us in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Only spent one night here before my flight out of BWI but was very happy. Shuttle to and from airport plus local attractions. Great mall right down the road with many good resturaunts and bars. Staff was very friendly and rooms were modern and clean. Really very happy with my stay

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kryszkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, IN
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Some hotels will treat you like a second class citizen when you prepay through a secondary service like Hotwire. Not this place. I received great customer service from everyone from checkin to checkout. When they found out we were attending a game in Baltimore, they offered the shuttle to take us to the light rail station at the airport and were prompt to pick us up on our return. The hotel was clean and they provided everything that was needed. The breakfast was good and there was plenty to choose from. They had a cool automatic pancake machine. I will definitely stay here again next time I am in Baltimore.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, NY
Level Contributor
175 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Good stop for our brief overnight stay. Staff courteous. Room clean and updated. First floor lobby smelled of smoking but our room was ok.

Breakfast was nice but very crowded in a small room. Staff had a bit of trouble keeping food and supplies stocked during breakfast rush.

We would return.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MommaJage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here at the end of a very long trip so we could get out to BWI in the morning for our flight home. It is in a great location, right by the rental car return and they have a terrific breakfast in the morning. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are clean and new. It was the perfect end to our trip and we enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamikaBrown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West for your lodging needs. We are very pleased that we could be a great ending to your vacation. Hope you had a chance to enjoy our signature cinimmon rolls and pancakes at our breakfast bar. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope that you choose us in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our family stayed here for one night for an early morning flight out. We really enjoyed our stay. Front desk clerks very informative and helpful, and the shuttle driver was prompt and courteous. Rooms large and very clean. Only drawback was the LOUD airconditioner as someone previously had mentioned. Oh well...plenty of rest and relaxation in Jamaica. :0) Even though we had to leave by 6:30am, we were informed that the breakfast buffet would be setup by 6:15. They didn't disappoint and plenty of time to enjoy this complimentary hot buffet!! Absolutely delish!! Would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crabcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamikaBrown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express BWI-West. We are very happy that you were very pleased with your stay and also got the chance to enjoy our hot breakfast. We hope you had a wonderful time in Jamaica! Look forward to providing your lodging needs in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
0.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Arundel Mills / BWI Airport
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arundel Mills / Baltimore
1.8 mi away
The Hotel at Arundel Preserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Baltimore/Arundel Mills
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Arundel Mills BWI Airport
0.4 mi away
Aloft Arundel Mills
Aloft Arundel Mills
#5 of 15 in Hanover
4.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West

Property: Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West
Address: 7481 Ridge Rd, Hanover, MD 21076-3122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hanover
#5 Business Hotel in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express BWI has heard your comments about the need to upgrade our hotel and are happy to report that we have just completed a 100% total renovation. From walls and cielings to carpet and furniture you will find we have thought of all your comments and needs. We eagerly look forward to your comments as you visit our location and see for yourself what a great product we have to compliment our staff that is eager to make your stay a great one. Hotel offers free shuttle service to BWI Airport & local attractions within 5 miles. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express BWI Airport Hotel West! Conveniently located just 7 minutes from BWI Airport; and 3 minutes from Arundel Mills Mall featuring over 200 stores, Dave & Buster's and Medieval Times Dinner Theatre. The hotel is an 18 minute drive to the Baltimore Inner Harbor, Baltimore Orioles at Camden Yards, and the home of the Baltimore Ravens at M&T Bank Stadium. Other attractions include the Baltimore National Aquarium, Annapolis Naval Academy and Historic Annapolis, Six Flags, Timonium Fairgrounds and Washington DC points of interest. The hotel is minutes to Northrop Grumman, Daimler Chrysler, Siemens, John Hopkins, Ft. Meade and NSA. Enjoy the comfort and services you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express, including the complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar with our signature Cinnamon Rolls and Simply Smart bedding and bath initiative. The hotel offers free local phone calls, high-speed Internet and shuttle 24/7 to BWI Airport, MARC Commuter Train, MTA Light Rail, and Amtrak Station. Tired of paying expensive parking fees at BWI Airport? Our park and fly package is the perfect solution! Make the Smart Choice for a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - BWI Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore - Bwi Airport West Hotel Hanover
Holiday Inn Hanover
Hanover Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing