We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Only the price beats Olive Garden.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cantina Mamma Lucia

Cantina Mamma Lucia
Ranked #4 of 108 Restaurants in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Discover an authentic Italian restaurant in Hanover, Maryland. Cantina Mamma Lucia serves up delicious, traditional Italian food that your whole family will love. Founded in 1989 by Francesco, Dominick, and Anthony D'Antona, our family-run restaurant combines down-home Italian cooking with originality and creativity. Those same three brothers still own and operate the restaurant and catering service.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Only the price beats Olive Garden.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I expect more from the top Italian restaurant featured on trip advisor. This is simply a good place for pizza that happens to serve Italian food. If I was to return it would be only for the pizza, not the pasta. Good for a quick bite.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lope754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponder2900, Owner at Cantina Mamma Lucia, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Sorry you were disappointed with the lunch buffet. Please let me know the next time you stop in and I will personally make you the gourmet pizza myself which is only made to order. If you prefer to try one of the photographed entrees, we can do that for you as well since they are not available on our lunch buffet either.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    41
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
KC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good food, and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We liked everything about eating here.

It was pretty quick, order at the counter, then food is brought out.

Service was great, you could tell these guys were owners, or had some great interest in the business.

Food was very good, at reasonable prices.

Don't expect a lot of atmosphere, as it is in a strip mall, but it was pretty good.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank largebarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not bad.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Bruschetta was very tangy - it's delicious for vinegar lovers, and decent to good for non-vinegar lovers.

Had the Spaghetti with Marinara sauce, which was very good. The fettucine alfredo was just ok, though I liked that they put mushrooms in it for me.

Self-serve, so there is no tip which is a plus for budget minded folks. But you have to carry all your plates and food to your table. Overall, average to above average for the price. If all prices were maybe $1-2 lower, I'd rate it a 4.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PopT4rts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linthicum Heights, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yummmm...... Great for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We eat here a lot. Lots of choices for our family and the counter service makes it overall more enjoyable for families with small kids.

Lots of choices from pizza, pasta, salads, etc. You can get both Coke and Pepsi which is a big deal in our house. We have never been disappointed with anything we've gotten here, well except for maybe the cannoli - I've had better but still didn't have any issues finishing it

The only complaint would be space but supposedly more space or a better space plan is in the works.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Familyof5fromMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Md
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best Italian food in the Hanover area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My family has been going to this restaurant for the past 20 years; visiting at least once a week. It has a variety of Italian dishes from pizza, subs, entrees, and desserts. Cantina Mamma Lucia did an excellent job in catering my husbands 50th birthday party. They were on time, supplied all the tableware, and the food was great. If you are in the area and hungry for Italian food, stop by, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank patti0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cantina Mamma Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing