We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Some might like it....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Corral

Golden Corral
Ranked #10 of 110 Restaurants in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
asf1
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Some might like it....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I know Golden Coral has its fans. Im not one. Ive seen the commercials, and figured Id give it a shot. They do have lots of choices - salads, chicken, meat, etc... but I was not impressed with the quality. I know, I know buffet = quantity. The service was excellent though. One employee kept refilling my ice tea without me even asking; one employee got me some fried shrimp - they were supposed to be out... but weren't. The salad choices were good ... but if Im going to a chain, I'd prefer Chilis, applebees,etc...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank asf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    44
    25
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pa.
Level Contributor
190 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A Decent Buffet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

First off, keep in mind; this is not a fine dining restaurant. It is a down-home, buffet eating house. It can get croweded and loug. With that being said, it was a good experience – nothing great by good. We went to this Golden Corral later on a Saturday evening, and the wear of the day was showing.
The restaurant was not particularly clean, but nothing a good vacuuming and wipe down couldn’t fix. It looked like it was at the end of a very busy day.
The food was good; again nothing out of this world, but good food, and a tremendous variety. The salad bar was well stocked and a great variety of vegetables and dressings. They also had three or four soup choices which was nice. They had a great entrée and side variety from carved ham to pan seared shrimp and everything in between. There was plenty of fish and shrimp to choose from and the steaks were tasty. Not super tender, but decent and with a good flavor. The cotton candy and chocolate fountain was a big hit with the kids.
Our service was pleasant, she kept the table clean and drinks refilled. The staff tending the buffet was also pleasant.
For all of the food that is offered you can’t beat the price. One hint though, soft drinks are not included in the buffet price. We would return if we are in the area again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfamily1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not My Type of Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband excitedly wanted to go to the All You Can Eat Buffet at Arundel Mills. i am usually not a fan and this trip was no different. My husband loved the place and all the varieties of food, however, i was just the opposite. So please go with my husbands review if you love these type of places and try it...he loved it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank laTrendae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Quantity if not top quality!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

The buffet includes steak and shrimp and anything else your heart could desire!

Food was good but not great! Steak is not very tender, but a deal at the price!

You won't see any hungry or even any skinny people leaving!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Why can't they clean these places?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Food was okay, they did have cotton candy for the kids. Restaurant was rather dirty and very loud. The cook doing the steaks was very personable and made sure yours was cooked the way you liked. Rolls were non existant at this time. No place to sit for awhile until someone cleaned off some tables. Had to walk around a while w/tray. Wouldn't go back there.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 667ate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing