We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“weekend with my sons” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Medieval Times Maryland Castle

Medieval Times Maryland Castle
Book In Advance
$65*
and up
Medieval Tours Dinner and Tournament in Maryland
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“weekend with my sons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

show was great service was slow and at the end during clean up the waiter spilled a whole glass of pepsi on my son.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ktfitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    126
    42
    11
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addison, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice time worth the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The show and the staff went beyond what I had expected. We all loved it. Show was funny and the horses beautiful and talented!!! GO GREEN KNIGHT :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Saxtonsreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
289 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great Live Family Entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Even though this show is part of a mall, as soon as you step into the lobby they try to put you into the medieval environment and they do a good job of it. The show is very entertaining with lots of sword fighting, jousting, performing horses and royalty. They work to pull you into the storyline with each section of the arena rooting for their knight. I didn't give them 5 dots as the food is obviously mass produced, though good enough, and the constant hawking of overpriced goods got distracting. It is rather pricey, especially you bring the entire family. The show was close to 2 hours long but it kept you entertained the entire time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wyosoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Fun, Entertainment, Food OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

If you want a grand evening of fun and entertainment, whether it be with your date, friends or family, Medieval Times Dinner & Tournament in Hanover is a great way to spend it. You're up close and personal to the action. There really isn't a bad seat in the house (but the best are mid-court like in a football stadium, so try to get these seats if you can) and when the tournament begins, you can feel the excitement. You become attached to a knight and you cheer and root for your knight as they jostle and joust in their medieval knight regalia. The kids will absolutely love the horses and the excitement and it's great fun for adults too. Now to the food. Not very good, but passable. And frankly, the service isn't very good either. It's clear they do not intend to compete with a stand-alone restaurant, but in this case, it's not the food you go for, it's the entertainment itself that makes the evening great fun. Hopefully, they will take a cue from some of us who give them good marks for entertainment, but not-so-good marks for food. In summary, if you want to relive medieval times, cheer against opposing knights, see good horsemanship, enjoy a good show, and experience what it may have been like this to live during medieval times (from goblets to banners), this pretty well-thought out recreation at Medieval Times Dinner & Tournament will not disappoint. Worth the money.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WDC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“TOO Much Fun...Ready to go again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Mrs. took our family here on a reward trip for having such an awesome basketball Season and little did I know the treat we were in for. I was not feeling well at all; but this place brought me to life. The line was long but kept moving. The drink glasses/mugs are so cool, even though a little bit pricey. But, here, it's like a once in a lifetime thing.

The staging, characters, and acting are the best and they are all so very friendly and crowd attentive. I was REALLY surprised about the food...GOOD....did I say GOOD. It was. It was a little slow getting drinks after seated; but all of the staff worked really well together.

You GOTTA go...couples or family...We LOVED this place and definitely will go again real soon! A great show for all with live horses, falcon, and all!!! :D

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Antonio K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medieval Times Maryland Castle also viewed

 

Been to Medieval Times Maryland Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing