We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but problematic service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Arundel Mills BWI Airport
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

No complaints about the hotel itself. It's new-ish and has a nice lobby area. The location is excellent, close to the Arundel Mills Mall, with a free shuttle to get you there. Our problem was with room cleaning. They missed one day after we had specifically asked to have it done on our way out. Nothing worse than coming back late and exhausted to an unclean room and no clean linens. (The night person at the desk was very kind and brought us more linens.)

The next morning I called down and explained our room hadn't been cleaned the day before and asked to have it cleaned early. Again, nothing, and it wasn't until I went down to the front desk and asked again that it got done. How can it be so hard to get a room cleaned over the course of two days?

One of the women at the reception desk had a perpetual frown. Even a request for the free shuttle was met with an unhappy sigh and a muttered, "He just left here and I don't think he's available." However, when called, he was. In all cases she seemed to prefer saying "no" over "yes."

Finally, the beds are terribly uncomfortable. Not much to be done about that.

On the whole, I guess the location outweighs the other negatives, but because of our personal experience, we'll probably stay at the nearby Hampton (which looks quite nice from the outside and also has a free shuttle) the next time we stay in the area.

My husband is a platinum level Marriott member and has spent many, many nights at Marriott hotels to get to that level. It's always a disappointment when one of the hotels does not meet reasonable expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NinaVVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tad s, Manager at Residence Inn Arundel Mills BWI Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for your review. It is always helpful to see our service from the guest perspective. I'm very sorry about your concerns with the housekeeping service. I will address these with our Executive Housekeeper. There is no excuse for unfriendly service in the hospitality industry, it's just what we do! One of our key phrases here is "find creative ways to say "yes"!"

Please know that your experience is not typical. I hope you will try our hotel again on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 167 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed here for 50 odd days and loved every minute of it. Being across the carpark for the Arundel Mills shopping mall was great. It meant I could walk over to the centre without trying to find a carpark as it can be quite difficult on weekends. There are plenty of restaurants that surround the shopping mall and within 5 minutes of the hotel. There is also a casino 5 minutes away.

The hotel has a gym, laundry with plenty of dryers, free breakfast every morning, a supper service as well although I didn't use this as there is a full size kitchen in your room. There is plenty of carparking and and also has free wifi and a printer down stairs.

The rooms were cleaned daily and were very thorough.

Room Tip: Ask to stay near some stairs as the two lifts are soooooooo slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bucky1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tad s, Manager at Residence Inn Arundel Mills BWI Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for choosing Residence Inn Arundel Mills as your "home away from home" while on extended travel! Our team works hard every day to make our extended stay guests feel at home and appreciated. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our excellent location adjacent to Arundel Mills Mall and Maryland LIVE! Casino. We are already looking forward to your return visit! (sorry for the slow lifts!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed at the hotel with friends in June. The hotel is modern and clean. The rooms are spacious and have everything you need and more. Restaurants, a casino and mall are within walking distance. We will definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJDebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tad s, Manager at Residence Inn Arundel Mills BWI Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for submitting a review of our award winning hotel! We love to hear from our guests! Our location on the grounds of Arundel Mills shopping, dining and entertainment complex and Maryland LIVE! Casino makes us the perfect choice for a fun and action packed trip. Thank you for choosing Residence Inn Arundel Mills! We'll see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at the hotel on a Friday night after spending the evening at Maryland Live Casino. the location is very convenient to the casino and shopping. The room was very spacious, clean and cozy. There was a full kitchen. The only negative comment I have is that we went down to the free hot breakfast at 9:30. It ends at 10 am but when we got there they were out of everything. We had to wait about 15-20 minutes for them to make eggs, sausage and potatoes and bring more batter for the waffles. I will say it was worth the wait, the food was really good.. There was a girl that was working in the dining area that was really friendly and tried her best to get us food in a timely manner, the staff at the front desk were also very pleasant. I recommend this hotels and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tad s, Manager at Residence Inn Arundel Mills BWI Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your review! Glad you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and the awesome shopping and entertainment at the Arundel Mills Mall. We hope you were a BIG winner at Maryland LIVE! Casino! Please accept our apologies regarding the delay in food service at the complimentary breakfast. Our busiest time on the weekend is between 9am and 10am so we are constantly cooking food to make sure it's hot and fresh! We look forward to seeing you soon-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I've stayed at over 34 Residence Inn by Marriotts in the past 10 years, and this by far is the best. This hotel is nestled in a secluded and beautiful location and is in walking distance from the Arundel Mills Mall and plenty of restaurants. The staff were great as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EFAM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tad s, Manager at Residence Inn Arundel Mills BWI Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

When traveling by car, we like to stay in a Residence Inn. Having a kitchen and a free breakfast is convenient and the suite allows me to stay up late and read or watch a movie without disturbing my wife. Check in was easy and our room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikeb1Falmouth_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tad s, Manager at Residence Inn Arundel Mills BWI Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

We are pleased that you prefer Residence Inn as your "home away from home"! Thank you for staying with us and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was an unexpected stay but I am so happy we made the decision to stay here!! The staff was very pleasant and appeared to enjoy working here. They were in a playful mood (even thought we checked in around 9:30 pm). Check-in was a breeze. The room...amazing!! The room was very inviting and felt like I was at home. It was ample space yet warm & cozy. I love the wall decor. There was a full kitchen (not kitchenette). And I could not believe the fireplace...very romantic!! Unfortunately it was around 70 degrees so my boyfriend made me turn it off, lol, but still very nice feature to have. They had a nice variety in the "market" and the free breakfast was awesome! I love belgian waffles and I got to make my own. Their breakfast menu could accommodate any traveler and I really appreciated that. The cleaning staff were pleasant and I hated to leave this hotel. I plan to visit the area again this weekend & guess where I'm staying...yes, here!!! :) AND it's right near a mall & Maryland Live Casino!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank royalti2you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tad s, Manager at Residence Inn Arundel Mills BWI Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for staying with us! Our team appreciated your comments about our "playfulness". FUN is a huge element of our culture and we are always glad to include our guests! We look forward to inviting you back-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanover hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arundel Mills / Baltimore
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Arundel Mills BWI Airport
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Arundel Mills / BWI Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Arundel Mills BWI Airport
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Arundel Mills BWI Airport
0.4 mi away
Live! Lofts
Live! Lofts
#4 of 14 in Hanover
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Arundel Mills BWI Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Arundel Mills BWI Airport

Address: 7035 Arundel Mills Cir, Hanover, MD 21076-1387
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hanover
Price Range: $109 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Arundel Mills BWI Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Arundel Mills BWI Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Arundel Mills Bwi Airport Hotel Hanover
Residence Inn Hanover
Hanover Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing