We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Just went back after 5 years. No need to hurry back” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timbuktu Restaurant

Timbuktu Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 110 Restaurants in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Jersey
Level Contributor
165 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Just went back after 5 years. No need to hurry back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Five years ago I was a believer that Timbuktu was he best place for crab cakes. I couldn't wait to go there last night.

The waiter was not that good and service was average. I asked if the crab cakes and shrimp dinner could be done with he shrimp either steamed or broiled but not fried. Not an option. Fried or nothing.

I hate being told no!

The crab cake was good but not as good as I remember.

I was satisfied with the overall meal but had higher recollections. Maybe it was me thinking more highly of past meals than it actually was.

I would probably go elsewhere next time in the area

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beagles1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    180
    72
    36
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
507 reviews
333 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great place for a large group!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Met friends and relatives at Timbuktu from all over the DC area for lunch on a Sunday. Timbuktu takes reservations so the table was ready when we arrived, which is super!
Very good waitress. Great, extensive menu--if a diner couldn't find something to eat, the diner is not hungry.
Timbuktu specializes in crab cakes, which looked huge and delightful. I had a chef salad, which was delicious. Thought the rolls were especially tasty.
Can't miss with this excellent place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank panpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great crab cakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

this restaurant has a very good selection of seafood and steakes. their crab cakes and lobster stuffed with crab are very good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mohawk1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow Wow Wow I love it! Crab cake heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

One day, when traveling to DC, I went through BWI and headed to DC at about 9:45 PM. I was hungry and wanted something to eat but decided to drive a little bit and take an exit further down. While driving, I saw a restaurant..exited the highway and took a side road. On the way to a restaurant, I passed what look to be a bingo place with no windows and a food sign outdoors with special…I was not going to stop there. I kept on going. Parked the car at this restaurant and a smiling waitress comes up to me and says “sorry, kitchen is closed!”.
I headed back to the highway, but I was really hungry, so I stop at the bingo place…Timbuktu. Fearful for what I may find or if I was going to get sick… I went in. People all happy were exiting the restaurant and I asked them “what is the best thing they have here?” All at one time stated all different things. Crab cakes was The MUST on everyone’s mind.
The place is architecturally strange. I do not recall seeing a window. It is not a fancy restaurant with the prefabricated tables and chairs. Very simple, somewhat segmented rooms. It looked like the locals really enjoyed the place.
Crab cakes and soft-shell crab were ordered. Note that the prices were not cheap and everyone was really digging in and there were a lot of people there just short of 1000PM on a Thursday night.
Heaven came served on a plate. Two huge crab cakes, no fillers. Crab on Crab in a little fried cake … puts birthday cakes to shame. Softshell crabs that were perfectly cooked. With every bite, it got better and the “mmmmm” “mmmmm” “mmm mmm mmm” that came out of my mouth! WOW.
It was way too much food even for 2 people (depending on how much you eat). I heard that they have desserts but I don’t think people get to order them very often since the main courses are outstanding.
If you can get passed the bingo looking outside, you will have some of the best crab cakes ever and I have lived in DC, MD, VA.
Enjoy ever mmm mmm mmm bite!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Travel4Funk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkesboro, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Baltimore Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Very busy and popular. Eat in and take-out. Great food. Great Service, Good value. I want to go back! Crab Salad is delicious.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LakesideWilkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timbuktu Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Timbuktu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing