We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“great food, great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timbuktu Restaurant

Timbuktu Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 110 Restaurants in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food, great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

service was great, our waitress Lisa was tremendous, recommending all the right things. Crab cakes!!!! Crab Cakes!!!!!! one of the best crab cakes i've had. HUGE size too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank misterjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    180
    74
    36
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Have been going here for a couple years. So far only for lunch and for their great Crabcakes.
We order the sandwich with no bread. Prices are reasonable for the area; and, it has a reputation for at least 50 miles around. A place for good, honest Baltimore,
Chesapeake food (Crabcakes). The first time we went my wife was concerned since it was busy but, we saw lots of men going inside. We thought that maybe there was something other than food here.
Turns out that it is a popular eating spot for the area. It's near BWI Airport and Fort Meade.
It is located near the intersection of I-95 and Md 100, go east on MD 100, then exit to go to Dorsey Road (which is parallel to Rt 100) and continue east. They also have worthwhile nightly specials. Be prepared for a relaxed but bustling atmosphere. Remember that in this area all the Crabcake places have the world's BEST, Timbuktu Restaurant is a front runner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
382 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“The Worst Crab Cakes.... EVER”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The wait alone is bananas and because of their recommendation and reputation we endured a wait of a Friday night.. The crab cakes were huge and full of fillers, lite on lump crab.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dMoniqueRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf
Level Contributor
311 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Out of place & Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We've been going here for over 15 yrs! The crabcakes are unbelieveble! All their seafood is very good and their specials rock! The bar has generous pours and resonable prices. Sometimes there is await, but it s worth it. They bake thier own bread & deserts.Not anything like you would expect in this neighborhood and this close (7 min.) to BWI. When traveling into BWI, I'm "under orders" to not come home without crabcakes! My daugther from the west coast times her flights for meals here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
132 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“come in starving, leave stuffed & not broke”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Wasn't really wanting to go to this place because the camel theme made me think it was East Indian or turkish food or something ( not into that kind of food at all ). But I was with other people and they were paying so ..........
Got there and nobody could figure out why there is a camel theme all over (not even the employees).
The place is dark and dingy and cheap looking. Like an old converted hall or something where low budget wedding receptions are held.
The menu had a lot of seafood butt standard american cuisine as well.
The prices looked pretty good for value.
We ordered starters and when they arrived everything was delicious !!!
The portions are HUGE ! No wonder the place was so busy.
We were all stuffed before the entrees arrived.
So in summary, if you are hungry and want great food , lots of it, for a good value then COME HERE.
If you are a snob and want fancy and overpriced, stay away.
Would definitely come here again

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hiplainsdrifters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timbuktu Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Timbuktu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing