We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Service is hot at Grill Fire!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of George Martin's Grill Fire

George Martin's Grill Fire
Reserve with OpenTable
George Martin's Grill Fire is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 111 Restaurants in Hanover
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Milestone Parkway
Boston
Level Contributor
206 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Service is hot at Grill Fire!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My family and I recently enjoyed a great dinner at Grill Fire in Hanover (Arundel Mills), Maryland, just outside of DC, off of the Baltimore/Washington Pkwy. It's about 1/2 hr. away from UMaryland, College Park). It's a great switch from fast food on a road trip, and, I'm sure, a great place to eat any time. The service was outstanding. Our waitress, Yemisi, was one of the best we've had in a long time. The food came out quickly and was delicious. The spinach artichoke fondue with chips was excellent and the house garlic, cheesy bread was warm and tasty. There is a wide variety of food for all palettes. They bring cotton candy out for kids...our big kids had to have it too. We also enjoyed a free dessert on the house on our night there (fabulous strawberry shortcake). Hope you can enjoy it for yourself!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TallieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    29
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Emirate of Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
225 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“inconsistant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Went for lunch. Had BLT salad which was very good. Then had loaded mac and cheese. I really enjoyed it. My wife was not as lucky. She had the hamburger requested medium arrived rare to med rare. No one came by to check on us and so she had to eat just the edges. Disappointing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful restaurant, upscale, comfy booths, nice bar area with several flat screens. Our server was attentive and pleasant. We started with the chili pop shrimp, which was slightly spicy and interesting but just okay. The salads seem to be the best option here. The chopped tomato with blue cheese and balsamic drizzle was simply delicious. The portion was large enough to be an entree if paired with steak or chicken. Wish I had done that. My friends ordered the Caesar and neither raved about it. We all had steak. The filet special was average. My steak was not cooked as ordered but the Bordelaise sauce was quite good. Other friend had the ribeye and enjoyed it. There was a special on the Sonoma-Cutrer Chardonnay. Otherwise, the wines were pricey. We did not order dessert but found the cotton candy to be a nice touch on the restaurant's part. Overall, the food was pretty uninspired and expensive. I would stick with the salad if I were to return here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Passwordnotavailable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Surprised to find a Long Island Restaurant in MD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have eaten in the original George Martin in Rockville Centre, NY and in the GM Grillfire. This one in MD is in a new development and attached to a hotel. It is beautifully appointed, but the best part is the food and wine specials. We had a wonderful waiter and enjoyed our selctions of food and wine. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A little bit of urban chic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Tried the Grill Fire for dinner with my husband and a friend, with the idea of scoping it out for a business function. The "cool vibe" starts with the ultra modern, brand new hotel lobby entrance to the restaurant. Packed bar to the left, booths and tables to the right. Our waitress was young and sweet but requests for recommendations for both cocktails and food were answered with "I never tried that." A top notch establishment makes sure their servers are well versed and confident in the quality of their menu. The restaurant seems to have difficulty deciding if it is mainly a pub, or an upscale dining venue; the menu was a single page and limited. Luckily we were there for Ladies Night were a 3 course meal was a value at $24.95 and came with 1 glass of wine or sangria. We had cocktails and enjoyed the warm, cheese filled bread. Two of us chose the French onion soup which was not too salty but lacked any real flavor. The arugula, watermelon & feta salad was pretty, light, refreshing and a hit. My husband's chicken parm (from the limited prix fixe menu) was plump, crisp, moist and served overly properly cooked pasta. The swordfish was the hit of the meal. A generous portion, perfectly cooked to order and the best I've had in a long while. I didn't care for the accompanying vegetable medly as it was way too peppery for my taste. Dessert was either a raspberry sorbet with berries and whipped cream or decadent cookie with ice cream. Both were delightful. When we were given the check we were also handed a large cone of cotton candy. Not sure why, but it was different. It's definitely not a restaurant I would avoid, but I'm not sure I'd make a special trip back there either.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Martin's Grill Fire also viewed

 

Been to George Martin's Grill Fire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing