We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice Place but the Food is Very Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Parrot Asian Bistro

Red Parrot Asian Bistro
Ranked #52 of 110 Restaurants in Hanover
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Red Parrot Asian Bistro in Hanover, MD was established with the concept of revolutionizing your cuisine experience and giving a one of a kind treat to your palates. We introduce variations of South East Asian cuisines offering Thai food, sushi, and Asian fusion for food lovers to enjoy. Here, at the bistro, we offer cocktail drinks, delicious Asian food and bubble tea. And best of all, we have a relaxing and wonderful environment for people to enjoy the atmosphere and the food. All of our entrees and rolls are made from scratch from the freshest ingredients to ensure that you are getting the best meal around. Try some of our favorites like the mountain roll, tempura shrimp with spicy sauce and avocado, or the lobster dynamite roll. We have great happy hour specials on appetizers, rolls, and drinks seven days a week. We define Red Parrot Asian Bistro to be a professional in South East Asian cuisine experience. Our goal is to reach out to the busy lifestyle of our guests. Our steadfast commitment is to serve the freshest, healthiest Asian inspired delicacies ranging from interesting selections of beverages and high quality foods.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
168 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice Place but the Food is Very Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Got the Pad Thai for lunch and, at best, it was average. Didn't have a lot of flavor. The atmosphere was really nice. I might go back and try the sushi.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GEOCacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy C, Owner at Red Parrot Asian Bistro, responded to this review, May 18, 2015
We really wish the Pad Thai had left you more impressed, but we appreciate the feedback. Making sure everyone enjoys their meal is important to us. We'd love to have you join us again and try the sushi!

All the best,
Red Parrot Asian Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    28
    14
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun place with a good menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My group visited Red Parrot last year, and returned last week during our fall meeting. They do Pan-Asian very well, have friendly and efficient service, and have an interesting drinks menu. It's a good place to go in a large or small group, and attracts a lot of business.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DrPWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
337 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Varied if uninspired menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I had some shopping to do near the mall, and we wanted to grab dinner at someplace with good food that wasn't too pricy. Red Parrot is located in a little strip mall down the street from Arundel Mills. It has a nice dinning room that is overseen by the bar in back. The menu has many east Asian options, mostly Japanese, Chinese, Thai and Korean. I had a glass of the house Malbec, which I found to be truly excellent. We ordered the Thai calamari as an appetizer, which was breaded and cooked very well and came with some sort of duck sauce. It was also completely devoid of tentacles, which we found interesting but did make them easy to eat- although we did have to request chopsticks. I enjoy sushi, but we decided to split a Thai Pattaya Seafood dish. This came with scallops, shrimp, mussels and many chopped vegetables in a chili sauce. Everything was cooked perfectly, but the asparagus pieces were cut on such a steep bias that they included the tough base of the stalks. It is also a pet peeve of mind when they make a special note in the menu warning diners that an item is spicy hot but turns out to be particularly as mild as this was. They had some interesting dessert items on the menu, but we decided to skip them this time. We will probably be back, after all.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank renfield1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food but a little pricey for Asian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The food is good here, got an Asian fusion kick to it. The dishes are a little pricier than your standard place. Got quite a selection, I chose a curry chicken dish with rice and it was yum!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 01kitty01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty Asian style food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

I go here a lot when I visit the Baltimore area. The food is very tasty with an extensive Asian menu that includes a wide selection of noodle, rice, curry and soup dishes. Servings are generous and the flavors of the dishes subtle and tasty using very fresh ingredients. You know that your meal has been taken straight off the stove to your table, piping hot and fresh.The atmosphere is relaxed asian influence with booths, tables and a bar you can sit at. Service is always friendly and attentive. Good place to go, if, like myself you travel alone a lot.you can people watch, find a quiet place or choose to eat at the bar and join in conversation with the staff or customers.
Vegetarian options are many, however the noodle and soup based dishes use chicken or beef broth. They need to have dishes created with vegetable broth for true vegetarians.
Highly recommended

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Archietew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Parrot Asian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Red Parrot Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing