We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Element Arundel Mills
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Hanover
GreenLeadersGold level
Virginia
1 review
“This is a great Hotel”
Reviewed September 9, 2009

This hotel felt clean from the front desk to the room. It had a very nice smell through out, and was just very relaxing. The outdoor patios were very welcoming and the pool actually had a lifeguard on duty. The shower was amazing, when you step into the room there is a beautiful hardwood floor and kitchen then a huge bed and couch. It is just nice to have a home away from home feel. There is a pool table and board games big screen TV's it is just a great place to stay I would highly recommend it to anyone. There is also a huge Mall within walking distance. I love it and will stay there again next time I visit the Baltimore area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank browndes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    110
    44
    36
    37
See reviews for
96
76
38
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Overall, our stay at the Element was pleasant. Despite it's proximity to BWI, the rooms were fairly quiet. The styling is very modern and looks like an Ikea store. The beds are soft and the showers hot. The breakfast spread was good and the fitness room looked very nice.

My only real complaint was housekeeping. On the first day of our stay, housekeeping ignored the privacy-please magnet. On the second/last day of our stay, they again ignored the privacy-please magnet to ask us what time we would be leaving. I thought it was pretty tacky to ask when we were leaving an hour before check-out.

Also, the pool does not match the pictures on the website. Not a deal-breaker for me, but it wasn't a very big pool.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Socius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Usually efficiencies mean full size fridge, oven, etc, but terrible style and dated decor (such as a Marriott Residence Inn). Starwood stepped it up big time as this is basically a Westin in style (think Pottery Barn warm neutral brown/taupe colors with a bit of grass green) that has full sized stainless kitchen, tiled floors, huge bathrooms and all modern styling. Pricing is incredible, and you could easily stay there for weeks as they have all the amenities (dishwasher, new flatware/bowls, etc). VERY VERY nice. Attached to the other new concept - ALOFT - so good outdoor area to sit and drink cocktails, play pool, swim, and even has high end mountain bikes you can take out. Across from the mall so good location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spgISLANDtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We stayed at the Element Arundel Mills for 42 nights, spanning the beginning of June until the middle of July. My family and I sold our house and needed a place to stay until our new house was ready.
The hotel was nothing short of amazing, as was the staff. They truly made my family and I feel at home. They even were good to our dog, allowing him to stay in the room when we weren't there.
Each morning, we went downstairs for breakfast, where the staff had our 2 year old's highchair waiting for him. They even offered to get us alternate food for the kids, if they did not care to have the offering of the day. On Monday through Thursday, we enjoyed the free happy hour finger foods and drinks.
The hotel is directly across the street from the Arundel Mills Mall, and there are a ton of activities near the hotel.
One of the best hotel experiences I've ever had. Highly recommended to all!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFamily1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daddybear
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2009

The Element in Arundel Mills is quite a charmer! I love that ALL of the rooms are SUITES!! Are you kidding me!! The beds are definitely what they said, very heavenly and soft indeed. One of their features I like was the free breakfast and lite snacks hour. The morning crew doing in the morning are so sweet, helpfully, work hard to serve the guest here. I'm for sure coming back to the Element again and recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daddybear67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, MD
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2009

New hotel, modern stark decor lobby & roomy suites with comfortable beds. Within the
Baltimore/Washington corridor with lots of hotel parking and across the road from a huge shopping mall.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUSwimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

The Starwood "element" hotel brand is very unique and modern -- white, clean, airy interiors, high-tech lobby, trendy furniture, glass walls, HDTV's... When you enter the lobby you'll think you walked into the future of hotels! The Element Arundel Mills is brand new and extremely clean, but has some major flaws. I have spent 7 nights spanning 2 trips to this property and have noted the following:

- NO INTERNET / WI-FI. If you are a business traveler like me and NEED the INTERNET, you most likely will NOT have internet access at this hotel. We went days without, and even when it was "restored", there were still sporadic hours of downtime. On trip 2 to the element Arundel Mills, the Internet was still going up and down sporadically.

- "Full breakfast" Yikes. Misleading advertising, at best. Some slices of bread, mini-muffins and bowls of fruit. Nothing hot. On only one occasion there were breakfast sandwiches. Coffee pot was empty about half of the time.

- Housekeeping: Out of the 7 nights there, on 4 of the nights our room went without any sort of service. I think housekeeping treats the hotel as an "extended stay" hotel, since there are full kitchens and dishwashers in each room. No matter, some fresh towels and a daily room cleaning wouldn't hurt!

That being said, I think the "element" has a lot of potential. Starwood built AN AMAZING property, but seems to have management at this hotel which is letting basic issues like internet availability, breakfast and housekeeping slide... All in all, I think if the management can fix these issues and fix them fast, the element Arundel Mills could be a top-notch and trendsetting hotel.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pocketrocketsAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanover hotels
0.0 mi away
Aloft Arundel Mills
Aloft Arundel Mills
#6 of 14 in Hanover
516 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Hotel at Arundel Preserve
0.4 mi away
Live! Lofts
Live! Lofts
#4 of 14 in Hanover
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Arundel Mills BWI Airport
0.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Arundel Mills / BWI Airport
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arundel Mills / Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Element Arundel Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Element Arundel Mills

Property: Element Arundel Mills
Address: 7522 Teague Rd, Hanover, MD 21076-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hanover
#2 Business Hotel in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Element Arundel Mills 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Element is Starwood's premiere extended stay hotel brand. Element Arundel Mills is located next to Arundel Mills Mall, minutes from BWI Airport & just a short drive into Baltimore and Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Element Arundel Mills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Element By Westin Arundel Mills Hotel Hanover
Element Hotel Arundel Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing