We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great concept... Rooms need renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Element Arundel Mills

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Element Arundel Mills
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Hanover
GreenLeadersGold level
Parsonsburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great concept... Rooms need renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We really wanted to love this hotel but would not return unless there are updates. The location is great. It is right across the street from Arundel Mills and pretty close to BWI. The outside is nicely maintained as were the lobby, halls and other common areas. Check in was uneventful and we proceeded to our room. The room was a very nice layout and clearly decorated nicely several years ago. The walls were pretty marked up, area carpet was very worn, sofa was stained in multiple spots, and a strange oder permeated the room.
There were no wash cloths in the kitchen or bathroom. No hand soap either. The shower leaked badly even with the door closed. We called and asked for washcloths but they never showed. It was just a disappointing experience for what should be a great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Element Arundel Mills, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear QuietWater,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay in Hanover. We're glad you gave Element Hotels a try and disappointed we didn't meet your expectations. We're glad you enjoyed our convenient location and have passed along your comments to our management company. We hope this experience does not deter you from staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    99
    37
    30
    30
See reviews for
79
69
31
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California, Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked our room via hotels.com based solely on the price and location. We arrived around 9 p.m. and the front desk seemed to be handling a lot of housekeeping mishaps. That said, because of the commotion when we arrived the front desk upgraded our room. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean (although the furniture was well used), the bathroom had exactly enough towels no more no less. Basically we got everything we expected from this hotel. I wouldn't go over the top and say it was 5-star quality, but I would certainly stay again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: They do accept pets if you find yourself traveling with one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soogat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Element Arundel Mills, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Soogat,
Thank you for your positive review. We're happy to hear that your recent stay in Hanover met your expectations. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel is nice, but it did have some flaws. Nothing major. It was a great value and a great location. Unlike some of the other reviewers I didn't have any issues with the staff at all, everyone was very nice.

Some flaws were stains on the carpet of the hallways, hot items not being put out on time for the free breakfast, debris and trash came out of the sofa bed when it was extended out, NO extra pillow, sheets, or blankets to put on the sleeper sofa, sticky floor in the kitchenette area of the room, rumbling in the room as the planes go by overhead.

All in all because of location and price and comfy beds I would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We arrived at 3pm on Friday, August 30 for our family reunion. The hotel looked ok although oddly shaped. I requested to be relocated to another floor because the room was next to the elevator. We had to wait for 30 minutes for another room. The sheets in the room were dirty so we had to wait for another 30 minutes to get them to clean the room. According to the website the hotel had a pool, what it didn't say is it was a shared pool with the adjacent/attached Aloft hotel. The pool was smaller then my own backyard pool, indoors and wasn't open until 5pm on Friday. With a family reunion, a family birthday party and a wedding booked the pool was crowded. The hotel told us there was a happy hour at 5-7pm so having been to the Aloft in NJ happy hour we decided to go to the bar until our family events began. We were immediately told by someone at the hotel that the happy hour buffet was only for the wedding group, we couldn't use the pool table and we could only sit in one section of the lobby. Later that evening a family member discovered they also had dirty sheets and were told no one was on duty for housekeeping so they slept four people in one bed, which was an unacceptable answer. When they complained and asked to speak with the manager they were told, he won't be in until 11am. On Saturday, we came down for breakfast the next day which we were told was until 10am. The staff started breaking down breakfast at 9:15am and when I asked if she would bring out the items that ran out, she told me no. After returning from a day out with my family, I showered for the evening events and discovered we were given towels with spots all over them, I called the front desk but never received clean towels, luckily I always travel with my own, just in case. Sunday morning was when I finally broke, I was walking down the hall and saw a used condom. Now I didn't blame the hotel for this, it's what happened afterwards that I blame them. When I came off the elevator, I immediately told the front desk that there was a used condom in the hallway in front of room 517. I then went to breakfast and when I came back up to my floor after breakfast to my amazement the condom was still there on the floor. This was now a hotel management issue because they were aware of the problem. I decided to see how long it would take the to clean this up, well...2 hours after I reported the issue, the condom was removed from the hallway. The Element/Aloft Ardunel Mills could meet many people expectations but the lack of management oversight, horrible housekeeping and poor customer service makes this hotel a disgrace to the chain. Westin hotels needs to place this hotel on probation to clean itself up and send everyone to a customer service and hospitality class or they will face declining bookings because of these issues.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, you should ask to see the room and inspect the bathrooms and beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pllrdtr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Element Arundel Mills, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear pllrdtr1,
Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback. We are very concerned about your recent experience and the service you received. We would personally like to discuss your experience with you. Please reach out to our Assistant General Manager, Jose, at jzavala@ltdhospitality.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I arrived around 7 p.m. The staff was very helpful and was trying to help out a damsel in distress. They kept in contact with me while I was stranded at the airport. They were very helpful in recommending the Aloft bar next door (I really needed a drink) and they were quick to deliver extra towels and so forth. The room was very clean but I found the bedding to be a bit old. I do appreciate that they fulfilled my request to stay on the top floor away from the elevator and to avoid a pet friendly floor. The area is very nice and close to the major highways (It takes less than 40 minutes travel to DC). I did not eat in the area, decided the Wharf was the best place to find fresh fish. I did not eat the breakfast but it looked and smelled great. I only have three oooops to speak on: (1) They did not replenish the bathroom completely. (2) The keyboard and mouse in the business center area needs some major cleaning!!!!!! (3) The evening staff was delightful, but the gentleman manning the desk at 6 am in the morning was lacking. What I mean by this is he did not say "good morning, I hope you slept well" or "I hope you enjoyed your stay". He waited until we were walking out and mumbled something while he was eating his bagel. All in all, I would stay there again due to location. Last but not least, if you want a good adult beverage, walk over to the Aloft and see my buddy Christian!!!!

Room Tip: If you need to print out your boarding pass, take some wipes for the keyboard and mouse. The sevent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hairgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

The very modern, clean appearance was pleasing... Service from (2 of the 3) front desk staff was cold & unhelpful. The only reason I am scoring higher on service is for the cleaning staff.

Cons:
Poor water pressure from the "rain shower"
Seemed like it was cheaply repainted
Terrible customer service
Bad road noise

Pros:
Comfortable bed
Blackout shade
Free hot breakfast
Appearance

Just from my experience, I wouldn't return! Which is too bad since this is part of the Starwood hotel group, I expected better!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wideawake02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Element Arundel Mills, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear wideawake02,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit to Hanover. We're sorry to hear that your recent visit did not meet your expectations but appreciate your honest feedback. We have forwarded your comments and suggestions to our team and we will be addressing with the appropriate team leaders. We hope you give us another opportunity to impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This past weekend was our time staying at the very hotel & we love it! It's like walking into a little studio apartment. It has a refrigerator, microwave & dishes in case you want to do a little something. The shower has a huge square shower head as though it's raining on you. Love that the door to the shower was glass. Lovely. We were on the 6th floor so our view was beautiful! Love that this hotel is also by the mall, restaurants, grocery stores, etc. We will definitely be returning,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Msmaria_nicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Element Arundel Mills, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Msmaria_nicole,
We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and like our guest bathroom concept and amenities. It's great to hear you took advantage of our convenient location and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanover hotels
0.0 mi away
Aloft Arundel Mills
Aloft Arundel Mills
#5 of 15 in Hanover
4.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Hotel at Arundel Preserve
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arundel Mills / Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Arundel Mills BWI Airport
0.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Arundel Mills / BWI Airport
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore-Arundel Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Element Arundel Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Element Arundel Mills

Property: Element Arundel Mills
Address: 7522 Teague Rd, Hanover, MD 21076-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hanover
#3 Business Hotel in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Element Arundel Mills 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Element is Starwood's premiere extended stay hotel brand. Element Arundel Mills is located next to Arundel Mills Mall, minutes from BWI Airport & just a short drive into Baltimore and Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Starwood and Travelocity so you can book your Element Arundel Mills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Element By Westin Arundel Mills Hotel Hanover
Element Hotel Arundel Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing