We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great location, terrible amenities” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Baltimore/Arundel Mills

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Baltimore/Arundel Mills
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Hanover
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great location, terrible amenities”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked at this motel because we had a late-arriving flight into BWI.

Given the odd room configuration, pricey breakfast, and very limited pool hours, I would not stay here again.

1. when the bathroom door is open it completely blocks access to the room door and to the closet on the opposite wall

2. the clear-glass enclosed shower stall is across from the mirror-covered wall over the sink. there is no shower curtain, so no one else can use the sink when you're in the shower, plus you have a good view of yourself naked while you shower...which may have been fun when I was young and slim but it not an enjoyable view now, lol!

3. the towel rack is on the back wall inside the shower stall, one hook on the door, a big piece of artwork over the toilet where a rack would usually be. where to hang your towel? no shower curtain rod as the shower door goes to the ceiling.

4. the beautiful, heated indoor pool is only open from 4pm till 9pm. what they heck? what if you'd like to swim for exercise in the morning? or just want to take your kids swimming?

5. the only breakfast available was $10 and it wasn't clear if it's a buffet or one plate. $40 for family breakfast? went to the McDonald's down the street.

6. they couldn't give us a paper receipt because we booked through a travel site, and because their printer wasn't working.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H13, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Baltimore/Arundel Mills, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our property. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience and again we apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. We would love another chance to provide you and your family with a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    116
    77
    43
    27
See reviews for
113
120
35
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I went to Maryland Live Casino. This hotel has Great location and less than 5 minutes from all of the action. The night auditor was Great. They have a shuttle that provide you transportation. Near the airport and shopping.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GwenAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The girl at check OUT was wonderful. Very kind and not rude at all like the girl at check in. She go her manager and our stay was comped. We had issues from the min we walked in the door. We only booked the hotel for the pool and it was closed which no one had ever mentioned a closing time. The beds were rock hard and the softness selector did nothing. The room smelled musty. When we told our concern to the girl who checked us in she could care less. Had it not been 1am we would have packed and left. We slept but not comfortably on the horrible beds and when check out told the sweet girl in the morning who fixed the issue. Knowing the beds are horribly hard and the pool closes in the evening we would not choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KRAN13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H13, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Baltimore/Arundel Mills, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we hope we resolved this issues while you were still with us. Thank you again for your feedback and if you would like to discuss this further, please let me know. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here on a quick business trip to Baltimore. It's located on the same road as the car rental facility for BWI, making access more convenient than the other airport hotels on the other side of BWI. Inside and out, it was a standard HGI. Rooms were clean, breakfast was good, and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catbert10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H13, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Baltimore/Arundel Mills, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hilton Garden Inn Arundel Mills. I will be sure to share your comments with the staff. On behalf of the HGI team we look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Dorothy Paez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, MD
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I purposely stay at HGI if there's one in the area. They're predictably comfortable, adequately serviced and staffed, and consistent across the board. Not many surprises. The staff at HGI Arundel in Hanover are extremely courteous, professional, and attentive. The hotel is starting to feel older than it is though, and that's disappointing. A freak empty coffee service greeted me, there was no extra blanket (I look for and use one if it's there, usually is), and there was some kind of equipment noise outside that did not quit. The staff was right on it bringing up cups and coffee, so kudos there. I got a half decent night's sleep, and was up early for my lecture the next day. First to breakfast, and the wait and kitchen staff were eager to serve. Got my day started very nicely. I won't avoid this HGI, but I will check out the options in the area. Summary: This was a really good deal for what I paid, but not my best night's sleep. This visit scores an A-.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the hotel may be quieter. Bright lights are on all night though, as it's n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Runnamukk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H13, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Baltimore/Arundel Mills, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Baltimore Arundel Mills. Please accept my apologies that the housekeeping staff overlooked the coffee station in your room prior to your arrival. I have shared your comments with the housekeeper and the rest of the Garden Inn team - your feedback is valuable to us and we appreciate your taking the time out of your busy schedule to recommend our hotel.
Warm Regards,
Dorothy Paez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I gave it five stars as it was inexpensive, the staff was very attentive, and the food was good. We only stayed one night but I will definitely use them again as the desk clerk made sure we had a shuttle to and from the mall and everything in the room was very clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H13, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Baltimore/Arundel Mills, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments regarding your stay with us. I will be sure to share them with the team. We look forward to holding you to your promise to return to us...and we hope it will be soon.
Warm Regards,
Dorothy Paez
General Manager, Hilton Garden Inn Arundel Mills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel more than once. The location and shuttle to and from the casino are a consideration in my decision to stay here. The rooms are alsway clean and the bed is very comfortable. Would def stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanover hotels
0.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Arundel Mills / BWI Airport
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arundel Mills / Baltimore
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore-Arundel Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Hotel at Arundel Preserve
0.4 mi away
Aloft Arundel Mills
Aloft Arundel Mills
#5 of 15 in Hanover
4.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Arundel Mills BWI Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Baltimore/Arundel Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Baltimore/Arundel Mills

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Baltimore/Arundel Mills
Address: 7491A New Ridge Rd, Hanover, MD 21076-3159
Location: United States > Maryland > Hanover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hanover
#8 Business Hotel in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Baltimore/Arundel Mills 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Hilton Garden Inn Baltimore/Arundel Mills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Baltimore/Arundel Mills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Baltimore/Arundel Mills Hotel Hanover
Hilton Garden Inn Hanover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing