We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
93
8
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
93
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswasher and dryerbike tripcanal trailwestern marylandhomemade muffinsbike shopgracious hostsbike storagecovered in mudlovely homesecure storagenext morningnice bathroomcanal view roomspent one nightbreakfast was excellentgreat room
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 101 of 101 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2008

This was a fantastic value! My father in-law and I are biking the C&O Towpath and stopped off in Hancock, MD. The owners of the 1828 Trail Inn really took great care of us.

Their customers are mainly bikers and hikers on the Towpath, and it shows. They were completely set up to accomodate us at every turn--even helping us clean our gear and bikes after 60 miles of riding through mud! They have a safe, clean, dry storage shed for bikes and gear. They also allowed us to use their laundry facilities to clean our clothes.

The food and refreshments were plentiful and excellent. They even have special high-pro omelettes for bikers. Fantastic! The rooms were spacious, clean, and very tastefully decorated to match the period of the house. I have stayed at many B&Bs over the years, and they spoiled us.

If you are passing through Hancock, MD, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tvnolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

This is one of the best B&B's we have stayed at. We came for a relaxing, quick getaway. Bill and Darlene are warm, friendly and very helpful. They really have thought of everything. The house is beautiful and comfortable, everything is very clean. They have a shed to lock up the bikes, a laundry available to guests, and a nice little kitchenette area for guests. The bike trails we rode on are conveniently across the street. We stayed in the Railroad room and the bathroom had a jacuzzi tub and a large glass door shower. And a nice little private porch.
Breakfast was delicious and filling, we had a assorted fruit compote, croissant omelette, bacon, and muffins. There were many choices of juices, and the coffee and tea water are kept at a proper temperature.

There are restaurants within walking distance; we ate at the Lockhouse for dinner, and Weavers for lunch. There is a bike shop in town where you can rent bikes and get repairs, and they also have a small store with drinks and snacks. The stopped in and chatted with the owner who is friendly and helpful.

We had brought our bikes and rode on mostly the paved trail and the C&O towpath. The 21 mile long paved trail is called the Western Maryland Rail Trail and is centered in Hancock, Md. This is separate trail but it does connect up with the 184 mile long (Washington DC to Cumberland, MD) C&O towpath. We biked on both but the paved section is nice is you just want an easy ride.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lititz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

The 1828 Trail Inn is a real gem in the worn-down town of Hancock. The Inn is right alongside the C & O canal towpath and is a perfect place for bicyclists or hikers to spend the night. The owners are very friendly and have made a real effort to make the inn suitable for bicyclists: a shed to store bicycles, access to a washer & dryer, books and information about the canal and railroads. The inn has been beautifully restored and our room (the Railroad Room) was not only nice, but also had a small second-story balcony. Delicious breakfast, too. The only downside is that the town of Hancock is dreary and economically depressed.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank maitlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

The hosts of this beautiful craftsman home know how to make weary bicyclists welcome. We arrived muddy from the C&O Canal. The hosts brought out a garden hose to help us clean away the mud. The inn has a locked shed to secure the bikes and you get a key to the shed. The hosts opened up the laundry for us, something we desperately needed after a previous day of heavy rain. The list of welcoming amenities just goes on and on from complimentary sodas and juices to lemon bars. The home itself is lovingly restored with private baths in every room. I would have slept well in this bed even if I hadn't been exhausted. There's a good restaurant directly across the street, something that matters when your bike is your mode of transportation. Our breakfast the next day was as good as any B&B I have experienced. We just found the hosts cared about our wellbeing in every possible way. They have a real gift for hospitality...and a special love for travelers on bicycles. In 9 days of bike travel through the Great Allegheny Passageway and the C&O Canal, the 1828 Train Inn was my favorite of the trip and my new standard for what a great B&B should be.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank SilverLinings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews