We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Experience”
Review of The 1828 Trail Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hancock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The 1828 Trail Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hancock B&B and Inns
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed August 13, 2008

The 1828 Trail Inn is a top notch B&B and is a real gem on the C&O Canal. My two sons and I stayed there while biking the trail and were treated royally. Bill and Darlene are wonderful hosts and really made us feel at home. A hose to wash our bikes, a shed for bike storage, laundry facilities, and cold drinks waiting in the fridge were fantastic. Breakfast was totally delicious (croissant cheesy omelettes....yum) and Darlene even packed up some muffins for the road. The house has been magnificently restored and everything was impeccably clean. Even the towels were plush. They really have left no details unattended to. It will definitely be a stop the next time we ride the trail.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rxsrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
44
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2008

This was a fantastic value! My father in-law and I are biking the C&O Towpath and stopped off in Hancock, MD. The owners of the 1828 Trail Inn really took great care of us.

Their customers are mainly bikers and hikers on the Towpath, and it shows. They were completely set up to accomodate us at every turn--even helping us clean our gear and bikes after 60 miles of riding through mud! They have a safe, clean, dry storage shed for bikes and gear. They also allowed us to use their laundry facilities to clean our clothes.

The food and refreshments were plentiful and excellent. They even have special high-pro omelettes for bikers. Fantastic! The rooms were spacious, clean, and very tastefully decorated to match the period of the house. I have stayed at many B&Bs over the years, and they spoiled us.

If you are passing through Hancock, MD, this is the place to stay!

  • Liked — Meeting unique needs
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tvnolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2008

This is one of the best B&B's we have stayed at. We came for a relaxing, quick getaway. Bill and Darlene are warm, friendly and very helpful. They really have thought of everything. The house is beautiful and comfortable, everything is very clean. They have a shed to lock up the bikes, a laundry available to guests, and a nice little kitchenette area for guests. The bike trails we rode on are conveniently across the street. We stayed in the Railroad room and the bathroom had a jacuzzi tub and a large glass door shower. And a nice little private porch.
Breakfast was delicious and filling, we had a assorted fruit compote, croissant omelette, bacon, and muffins. There were many choices of juices, and the coffee and tea water are kept at a proper temperature.

There are restaurants within walking distance; we ate at the Lockhouse for dinner, and Weavers for lunch. There is a bike shop in town where you can rent bikes and get repairs, and they also have a small store with drinks and snacks. The stopped in and chatted with the owner who is friendly and helpful.

We had brought our bikes and rode on mostly the paved trail and the C&O towpath. The 21 mile long paved trail is called the Western Maryland Rail Trail and is centered in Hancock, Md. This is separate trail but it does connect up with the 184 mile long (Washington DC to Cumberland, MD) C&O towpath. We biked on both but the paved section is nice is you just want an easy ride.

  • Liked — The Inn is clean, comfortable, with great amentities and the innkeepers are friendly and really do make you feel at home.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lititz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mailtand, FL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

The 1828 Trail Inn is a real gem in the worn-down town of Hancock. The Inn is right alongside the C & O canal towpath and is a perfect place for bicyclists or hikers to spend the night. The owners are very friendly and have made a real effort to make the inn suitable for bicyclists: a shed to store bicycles, access to a washer & dryer, books and information about the canal and railroads. The inn has been beautifully restored and our room (the Railroad Room) was not only nice, but also had a small second-story balcony. Delicious breakfast, too. The only downside is that the town of Hancock is dreary and economically depressed.

  • Liked — location by the towpath/bicycle route and the Inn is beautifully restored
  • Disliked — the town of Hancock is unimpressive
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank maitlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2007

The hosts of this beautiful craftsman home know how to make weary bicyclists welcome. We arrived muddy from the C&O Canal. The hosts brought out a garden hose to help us clean away the mud. The inn has a locked shed to secure the bikes and you get a key to the shed. The hosts opened up the laundry for us, something we desperately needed after a previous day of heavy rain. The list of welcoming amenities just goes on and on from complimentary sodas and juices to lemon bars. The home itself is lovingly restored with private baths in every room. I would have slept well in this bed even if I hadn't been exhausted. There's a good restaurant directly across the street, something that matters when your bike is your mode of transportation. Our breakfast the next day was as good as any B&B I have experienced. We just found the hosts cared about our wellbeing in every possible way. They have a real gift for hospitality...and a special love for travelers on bicycles. In 9 days of bike travel through the Great Allegheny Passageway and the C&O Canal, the 1828 Train Inn was my favorite of the trip and my new standard for what a great B&B should be.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverLinings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Hancock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#1 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Berkeley Springs Inn
Best Western Berkeley Springs In...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring
22.3 mi away
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
#3 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
22.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Hagerstown
Ramada Plaza Hagerstown
#4 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1828 Trail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1828 Trail Inn

Property: The 1828 Trail Inn
Address: 10 W Main St, Hancock, MD 21750-1415
Location: United States > Maryland > Hancock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1828 Trail Inn overlooks the historic Western Maryland Rail Trail and the Potomac River. Named for the date of the beginning of the race between railroad and canal builders to open up commerce between Maryland and the Ohio River Valley, our Craftsman style home offers a comfortable base for biking, antiquing, sightseeing, or just relaxing. Restaurants and shops are within walking distance, and we provide special services for bikers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing