We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Biker friendly R&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The 1828 Trail Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hancock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The 1828 Trail Inn
Save
You added The 1828 Trail Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 3 Hancock B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Biker friendly R&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Darlene and Bill operate an outstanding B&B that I would return to every time I'm on the C&O Canal trail. Not only is the property well maintained, the home is large and very accommodating for bikers and others. They have a secure facility for washing and storing the bikes. The amenities including Gatorade and water in every room as an extra benefit. Finally, Bill provided all guests with the best breakfast I have EVER tasted at a B&B. So, if you are in the area, stop and say hello to Darlene and Bill - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skis779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
40
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I first stayed at the inn in September of 2012 while biking from Pittsburgh to D.C. and loved it. We decided we wanted to go back to the area and visit the attractions you just have to pass by while biking to your next destination and we knew exactly where we were going to stay. We were welcomed back like old friends and able to enjoy the Inn a little bit more because this time we stayed two days. We biked the Western Maryland Trail and biked down to Fort Fredrick and spent a few hours there. We also spent some time in Fredrick and then left the Inn and traveled to Harpers Ferry for the day. It was a wonderful place to stay while enjoying the plethora of history in the area. Thanks Darlene and Bill I'm sure we will be seeing you again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful decorated it just depends on your needs they have a very basic room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our experience with Darlene at 1828 Trail Inn has been exemplary. From our first call to inquire about reservations until we checked out after our stay, she was incredibly helpful.
She advised us of the Western Maryland Rail Trail that parallels the C&O Towpath for the last twelve miles into Hancock from the west. It was a welcome relief to be on a paved pathway after 210 miles on the gravel paths of the Greater Allegheny Passage and the C&O. There was locked strange for our bicycles and free use of a washer and dryer.
Her husband prepared a wonderful breakfast of a croissant omelette and Darlene was his server and sent us on our way with some oatmeal raison muffins for a snack. What a great way to begin the day.
Steve and Diana

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We discovered the 1828 Trail Inn during our bike trip from Pittsburgh to Washington DC in 2009. To our delight, the Trail Inn (within easy walking distance of the WMRT and the C&O Towpath) provided generous accommodations. We stayed in a spacious, beautifully appointed, second floor room which overlooks the C&O Canal as well as the surrounding parkland. Even the bathroom is spacious! A laundry and refrigerator are literally across the hall. Bikes can be locked up in a clean outbuilding. There is a wrap-around front porch for relaxing as well as a comfortable commons room.

We have returned to the Inn several times. Its close proximity to Berkeley Springs is an additional draw. Even with all of the accommodations in Berkeley Springs has to offer, we would never consider staying anywhere but the 1828 Trail Inn. It has started to feel like a second home to us. And, NEW THIS YEAR, 2013 – a private deck and entrance were added to our room! Talk about another luxurious treat! The deck is spacious and a great place to enjoy the view (probably best view in the place) while sipping a glass of wine at the end of a long day.

Bill and Darlene are indispensable to the charm of the Trail Inn. They do everything possible to make our stays pleasant and comfortable. A phenomenal breakfast awaits guests each morning. Bill has a real gift for the kitchen. We love his Southwest Casserole! In season, there are even homegrown strawberries. No one goes away hungry. Bikers, have no fear, this place is for you. Once when I suffered an ankle injury, Darlene kept the ice packs coming until the swelling had gone down. My own mother couldn’t have done a better job. We have never experienced the same level of genuine friendliness and hospitality at another bed and breakfast anywhere we have traveled.

After all these years, we thought we should share our experience with others. Whether you are a trail rider or just looking for a pleasant place to spend a leisurely weekend, we enthusiastically recommend the 1828 Trail Inn.

Room Tip: While some rooms may suite personal needs and taste more than others, all are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here on our bike ride on the C&O Canal with two friends. Darlene and Bill were very welcoming and accommodating. The rooms were large with lots of extras: sitting rooms, jacuzzi tubs and more. From a biking perspective, they had lots of amenities including hose, towels, secure storage and laundry. The breakfast in the morning was fulfilling and balanced (not all carbs). Oh, and the coffee was strong and plentiful! I would stay here again even if it wasn't for a bike ride!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cyrusrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Very beautiful inn. Wonderful service with extras....tea, cookies, cheese, crackers out in the afternoon. On site laundry was very welcome. Great breakfast even with extra blueberry muffins to go. We were the only cyclists staying there the night we were there but the innkeeper was very a knowledgeable in general about the wants and needs of cyclists.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a great place to stay. Bill and Darlene are super friendly and helpful. We were biking for the C&O Canal and had a medical emergency. Bill drove the injured to the hospital and stayed with him until he was released, while Darlene welcomed the rest of us, made us comfortable, and made sure a local restaurant could accommodate us. The rooms were very comfortable and breakfast was first rate. I recommend this B&B to all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonShavor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Hancock
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#1 of 6 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
7.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Berkeley Springs Inn
BEST WESTERN Berkeley Springs In...
#2 of 6 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Cacapon Resort State Park
Cacapon Resort State Park
#3 of 6 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
13.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring
22.3 mi away
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1828 Trail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1828 Trail Inn

Property: The 1828 Trail Inn
Address: 10 West Main Street, Hancock, MD 21750
Location: United States > Maryland > Hancock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1828 Trail Inn overlooks the historic Western Maryland Rail Trail and the Potomac River. Named for the date of the beginning of the race between railroad and canal builders to open up commerce between Maryland and the Ohio River Valley, our Craftsman style home offers a comfortable base for biking, antiquing, sightseeing, or just relaxing. Restaurants and shops are within walking distance, and we provide special services for bikers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing