We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place for C&O Cyclists” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The 1828 Trail Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hancock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The 1828 Trail Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hancock B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Place for C&O Cyclists”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a really beutiful B&B very near the C&O aboult half way between Cumberland and Harpers Ferry. They are accustomed to cyclists, ready with a hose for the mud and a separate locked shed for bikes. The room are very nice, with clean modern bathrooms. The innkeepers are very friendly, really seem to enjoy meeting new guests, and rightfully proud of this restored building. The breakfast was delicious, and thoughtfully came with a baggie to pack up an extra muffin for the trail.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank tombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
44
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Everything about the 1828 Trail Inn was enjoyable. Darlene was a most gracious host. The inn was beautiful, peaceful, and simply pleasant blade to be after a long day of biking. Breakfast was delicious and the laundry facilities were a were a wonderful bonus, much appreciated because the canal trail is often muddy.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diblio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

My wife and I (blistered feet) stayed at the 1828 Trail Inn a week or so ago during our hike of the C&O Canal. Great decision. It is located just off the canal near restaurants and shopping. The owners were unobtrusive yet very accommodating. Never having stayed at a B&B, I was leery. Now I am a convert. The price is reasonable when you factor in a great breakfast, free, convenient laundry service and other extras not available in motels. It is great for bikers also.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms (2) near laundry room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Lovely Inn, wonderful accomodating inkeepers. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Restonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
277 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

The 1828 Trail Inn is one of the nicest places on the GAP-C&O bike route from Pittsburgh to DC, with prices to match. The house is charming, the rooms comfortable and the residents' lounge is a lovely place to relax with a glass of wine after a day on the trail - just as well because the local bar does not seem very cycle-friendly.

In addition to the gracious property, the Inn has some extras which cater for their clientele on the C&O Canal towpath and Western Maryland Rail Trail. They have chilled Gatorade in the fridge, a bike wash station, laundry facilities and secure bike parking. Breakfast is excellent - probably a bit too hearty if you aren't planning a day on the bike!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pittsburgh_cyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlysville, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

Bill and Darlene were wonderful hosts. Our room was cozy, the breakfast was fantastic! and the the cheese, crackers and cookies in the afternoon were tasty as we sat by the fire in the afternoon playing boogle. This home is beautiful and directly across from the rails for trails. We had to wait a day to ride because we woke up to 5 inches of snow in October, but it was nice to walk around Berkley Springs and have a yummy lunch. We plan on staying here again and bringing our friends next time. A great stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 22love2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Inn is well kept and the rooms are charming. The innkeepers are exceptionally nice and the breakfast in the morning is great! A nice little touch is the crackers and fruit afternoon snack with tea that is put out for the guests. I think the rooms are a bit pricey though when you then also have to add on a 10% room tax.

It is so convenient to getting on the bike trail (across the street) and biking for an afternoon on a lovely trail. It is also not more than 5 minutes away from Berkely Springs - which is a lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMcDonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Hancock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#1 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
15.3 mi away
Cacapon Resort State Park
Cacapon Resort State Park
#3 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Berkeley Springs Inn
BEST WESTERN Berkeley Springs In...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
22.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Hagerstown
SpringHill Suites Hagerstown
#5 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
22.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1828 Trail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1828 Trail Inn

Property: The 1828 Trail Inn
Address: 10 W Main St, Hancock, MD 21750-1415
Location: United States > Maryland > Hancock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1828 Trail Inn overlooks the historic Western Maryland Rail Trail and the Potomac River. Named for the date of the beginning of the race between railroad and canal builders to open up commerce between Maryland and the Ohio River Valley, our Craftsman style home offers a comfortable base for biking, antiquing, sightseeing, or just relaxing. Restaurants and shops are within walking distance, and we provide special services for bikers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing