We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Some Work”
Review of Super 8 Hancock MD

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Hancock MD
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hancock
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Needs Some Work”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

After looking up hotels online my husband booked this place because he saw that they had a room with a jacuzzi. The outside was pretty run down, room itself was clean but the wallpaper was peeling off the walls and it had a horrible musty smell. The gentleman at the front desk was very nice about it and took us to the smoking room which had a worse smell, smokey and musty. He then offered to spray the room with air freshener to see if that would help with the smell. We actually went down the road found another hotel then went back to advise due to the condintion of the room it was not acceptable and we would not be staying. We are now waiting for our refund.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    97
    74
    32
    26
See reviews for
70
80
59
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I was passing through and my car broke down and this was the closest hotel. I arrived around middnight tired and fustrated trying to figure out how to get home. I asked about availability and the girl( I think her name was angie something like that)was very rude started ripping up papers and rolling her eyes and complaining about having to start all over she gave me a room that was smelly she was very rude, cursing...if I had not needed to be their I would have walked out. I asked her about local rental car agencies and mechanics and she said she could not help me with anything but a room and walked away...I will NEVER stay here again and I will make sure NO ONE I know ever will either...completely unaccepitable!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellonwheels91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hancock hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2012

For a cheap hotel, I guess I wasn't expecting glamour and luxury, so the level of cleanliness was not as upsetting as the crib they provided for our baby. It looked like a hospital crib from the 1960's and violated current two SIDS safety standards: The "mattress" was way too soft, and it was too small for the crib itself, leaving huge gaps in between its edges and the sides of the crib. The staff suggested stuffing blankets in the sides, but as far as I know, this is also a safety issue and can increase risk of suffocation. As a result, our baby slept in our bed and nobody got any sleep. This is a huge problem.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guillaume23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had stayed in this hotel once previously and it wasn't spectacular but the service was ok and the rate was good. But this time we called ahead and asked if there were rooms available at the advertised price of 39 dollars the woman at the desk said yes. ( we had a coupon for the room rate to be 39 dollars "everyday"). When we pulled in and again asked for a room the woman said that she would not honor the coupon and the room would be 69.99, the classic bate and switch. When my husband went in to talk to the woman there was another customer asking for the coupon rate. The woman behind the desk refused her as well and was rude about it. We will never stay there again

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scook1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed on the outside upstairs room. First bad thing was trying to get the door open. It took two tries with keycard and trip down to the office each time. Third time they gave us key to the room next door, we couldn't get that one open either, on the forth trip down to the office they came up and helped us open it. The door was a bit tight to open and close also. Room looked ok, but was very small and crowded with too much furniture. Where the new paper was peeling there was black mold underneath. Morning coffee was not hot and Wifi only works in certain rooms close to office, of which ours was not.

Room Tip: Inside rooms might be better,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed here on a Saturday night in November. This motel is located near the I-70/I-68 split, and it's on the edge of Hancock in a quiet area with no traffic noise. Check in was quick, and the room was spacious and spotless with an efficient heating/cooling unit. Fridge and microwave in room. King bed was comfortable. Breakfast includes juice, coffee (strong!), muffins, bagels, cereal, etc.

Check out Weaver's Restaurant and Bakery in downtown Hancock. We got there at literally 5 minutes to closing on Saturday night, but the staff treated us just fine and we enjoyed a good meal without being rushed. It's a "home cooking" place with a pretty comprehensive menu and good desserts.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms are away from parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesOhio_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Stopped here on a cross country drive. Check in staff helpful, room was spartan and clean but needed a little work ( caulking in the bathroom etc) . Nice coffee maker for this level of motel and a full size refrigerator in the room. Complimentary breakfast provided but I didnt sample it as we left early and were seeking a Hardees biscuit breakfast!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Hancock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Berkeley Springs Inn
Best Western Berkeley Springs In...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#1 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring
20.7 mi away
Quality Inn Breeze Manor
Quality Inn Breeze Manor
#2 of 8 in Breezewood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
22.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Hagerstown
Ramada Plaza Hagerstown
#4 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Hancock MD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hancock MD

Property: Super 8 Hancock MD
Address: 118 Limestone Rd, Hancock, MD 21750-1110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hancock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Hancock MD 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Super 8 Hancock MD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hancock Super 8
Hancock Super Eight
Super 8 Hancock
Super Eight Hancock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing