We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good old-timey small town Diner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Weaver's Restaurant and Bakery

Weaver's Restaurant and Bakery
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Hancock
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good old-timey small town Diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Yes folks, the 50s are still alive and well at weavers. Place was busy as can be Thursday afternoon with plenty of waitstaff (Katie was cheerful funny and efficient.) Had both specials--fried chicken and liver&onions. Generous portions with good rolls, canned veggies just like Mom used to open, and delish lemon meringue pie which Katie thoughtfully divided so we could share. Quality is just about what it was in small towns 60 years ago when that's about all that was available except maybe chop suey. Well worth a nostalgia stop and the fruit pies and M&M cookies look irresistible.

Helpful?
1 Thank DC196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    53
    35
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is a Great Place? I think not.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Wanted to eat at a nice "home-town" restaurant. We saw Weaver' advertised and thought since it was around for so long, it must be a great place. Not so. It seems as if there are new owners who know nothing about hometown USA cooking. We were told the food was cooked fresh while we waited... not so. Chicken dry, mashed potatoes boxed and gravy... yuk! Couldn't eat it. We were highly disappointed. The waitress was hard to locate. Found out she was out having a smoke.

The place was also dirty. The carpet had food all over it. Disgusting.

Definitely a high-priced tourist spot. Keep going to the next town.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank doktra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
253 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Yes you must stop here for the desserts...the rest is country”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Heading back from Pennsylvania Turnpike to DC, it's worth your time to stop in Hancock, MD at Weavers' Restaurant and Bakery. If you can pass the pies and cakes on your way in and not taste heavenly calories, then you should have just gone to a fast food place. Ample portions on the menu of all your favorite American heart stoppers but you really came for the desserts, so enjoy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Convenient for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Had lunch here while riding the WMRT and C&O Canal tow path. Huge turkey club sandwich was fine, but didn't leave me room for all the yummy-looking pies and pastries at the bakery counter.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV Easten Panhandle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nothing Special - High Prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We were ignored when we first arrived. It appeared the two standing at the counter for 3 minutes couldn't perform the hostess duties so we just stood there.Once seated, our server was pleasant though. I ordered the reuben and in no way should you expect a "deli" style sandwich. It was less than an inch thick WITH THE BREAD! They had very nice looking pies that were reasonably priced but the menu prices were not "small town" at all! Average taste on the food...will probably try something new the next time i'm in town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tecjim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weaver's Restaurant and Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Weaver's Restaurant and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing