We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was one of the nicest Comfort Suites I have stayed in. I'm a Choice Privileges member and try to stay at one of their properties whenever possible. This one certainly didn't disappoint ..... huge entry very well appointed with modern furniture for relaxing and that flowed in to the breakfast area. Good breakfast including eggs, sausage, bacon, waffles, yogurt, cereal, etc.

Room was HUGE with 2 Queen beds, desk, refrig, microwave, and separate area with sofa, etc. Only stayed 1 night but would stop here again without hesitation if in the area again. Easy on / off Interstate location

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imageworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    64
    26
    8
    12
See reviews for
70
48
14
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mounds View, Minnesota
Level Contributor
305 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

This was a great motel to stay at. The staff obviously takes pride in their motel - it was clean and well maintained. The room was large with 2 queen beds, a separate sofa area and a large work area. Each bed had 4 pillows and was very comfortable. There was a large worktable with a very comfortable desk chair. The room also had a microwave and refrigerator and coffeemaker. The room didn't have a luggage rack, but we had room on the long dresser and the coffeetable for both of our suitcases. The room was also very clean and well taken care of. There were 70+ TV channels. Breakfast had scrambled eggs, bacon, hardboiled eggs, cereal, yogurt, waffles, bagels, pastries, fresh fruit, fruit juices, coffee. At least 3 people were constantly replenishing food and cleaning tables and counters. The eating area was huge - more than enough room for everyone. Price was very reasonable especially considering all the space you had in the room. One of the nicest places we have stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNroadtrippers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

They treated us cordially and quickly. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

This was the last of six Choice Hotels (five Comfort Suites) that we stayed on our vacation. Our room had two queen beds that were very comfortable with plenty of pillows. In addition to the usual amenities of coffee pot, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, the refrigerator's freezer compartment was large enough to keep two large blue ice containers frozen and ready to be used when we left. Overall, the room was clean and quite sufficient for an overnight stay.

The reason why we took off two stars:
1) The 25" TV placed in a cabinet didn't have the same viewing flexibility as most of the other Comfort Suites that had free standing (and larger) flat screen TV's on a swivel base.
2) Breakfast wasn't on par with the other hotels on this trip.
3) While it was nice to have the option of using a fixed or handheld shower head, the water pressure was pretty weak, especially being on the ground floor.
4) Despite saying that internet access was free in rooms and "public areas", the "public areas" do not include the business center located in the main lobby. This is the only Choice Hotel we've stayed that charges a per minute fee to access the internet via their computer. As an extra rub, the default browser window has several large ads that span the entire width of the window. This just seemed a really tacky way to make extra money.

Room Tip: Bring your own laptop
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbg101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuiteshagerst, Webmaster at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Comfort Suites for your recent stay in our area. I am glad that you found your room to be comfortable.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• The management was approached about the possibility of eliminating the default browser window ads.

• Breakfast staff received additional training in presenting a proper breakfast.

• Maintenance was informed of the weak water pressure you experienced in the shower and instructed to look into the matter.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Comfort Suites. I think you will be greatly pleased and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
364 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Very friendly staff. The rooms were clean and spacious. This hotel is well built, solid and great for sleep. Well located near I-70. Negatives: There are about 10 long term workers who smoke on the back stoop of the hotel. They dont mean any harm but give the hotel at seedy reputation. they go to bed early but look like trash, smoke up the parking lot and back entrance. Must be West Virginia hillybillys. when I came in with my Antietam Battlefield souveniers, they googled it but were respectful. Crackers? But harmless and may be nice if got to know them. Staff is great. McDonalds next door. Loved it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimo688889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We decided to stay here because it appeared to be a newer Comfort Suites from the outside. Once inside you realize that a more modern facade has been added to the front of the building, but the remainder is far from new. We must have stayed in a different room than others who have praised this hotel. We were put on the first floor .. room 106 I believe. The picture hanging near the bed was wrinkled and had mold under the glass. The shower hardware had black mold or stains. It was very dark and dingy. The loud air conditioner worked but appeared to have been hit several times. There were cigarette burns on the tables. Then, as we lay down and turn on the TV to distract ourselves, we find the audio was very fuzzy.
I also want to note that there were several people hanging out in the back corner of the parking lot. Cars would drive in and stop to talk to these people, then leave.
This was definitely the worst of all of the hotels of a more than three week road trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuiteshagerst, Webmaster at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Comfort Suites for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon the receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Maintenance was informed of the problem you experienced with the audio on the TV in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to it’s repair.

• Management and security were informed of your report of people hanging out in the back corner of the parking lot and of the people who would drive up to talk with them and then leave.

We take our reviews very seriously. I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Comfort Suites. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

one of the nicest rooms ive stayed in anywhere, very clean, great priced

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hagerstown hotels
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#9 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown
Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown
#12 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 stars 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown
4.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
#2 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 1801 Dual Hwy, Hagerstown, MD 21740-6649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Suites Hagerstown.For history buffs you’ll find we are centrally located between three major Civil war battlefields and a Colonial Fort. Antietam National Battlefield is the closest and only a 15 minute drive. Harpers Ferry and Fort Frederick State Park are about a 25 minute drive with Gettysburg 39 miles from the hotel. This area also offers many historical attraction...s and museums.While in Hagerstown, sports fans can enjoy a baseball game at Municipal Stadium. Relax and take in a Suns game, the single-A affiliate of the Washington Nationals.Enjoy cultural attractions? Then you will want to visit the Washington County Museum of Fine Arts or spend an evening at The Maryland Theatre, home of the Maryland Symphony Orchestra.During your stay you will enjoy a 100% smoke free environment. Each large one room suite offers a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and hair dryers.Also included:Complementary hot breakfastIndoor pool and hot tubExercise roomFree wired and wireless high-speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Hagerstown
Comfort Suites Hagerstown
Hagerstown Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing