We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Definitely Not Clarion's Finest” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Definitely Not Clarion's Finest”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Upon arriving at the hotel it was obvious that it was an older Clarion, the outside was dated and not attractive. However entering the lobby, it was well maintained and clean, but for their prices you would think they could afford air conditioning in the public areas. The hallways and elevator was like a hot box, and don't even think of sitting around the indoor pool. It was like a sauna walking around in the pool atrium. The design of having inside balconies with a scenic overlook of the pool was a great idea in theory, but in practicality, it stinks. Having all those a/c units blowing warm air into the pool area only added to the heat. The rooms were clean and well proportioned. The breakfast was another disappointment. Powdered eggs and fake sausage, wow. But it was so hot, because the breakfast area is beside the pool, it was impossible for the limited food choices to get cold. I would not choose to stay at this property in the future unless it was mandatory or no where else to stay. Customer service was some of the worst I have ever encountered and they didn't seem to care. Buyer/traveler beware.

Room Tip: One with a really good a/c unit, you'll need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tobkn10ud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    38
    24
    20
    24
See reviews for
35
41
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chuckey, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

our recent stay at this hotel for a convention was quite enjoyable. The staff was so over-the-top in accommodating our needs that I had to write a review. We did not eat at the hotel so I cannot rate their restaurants. I would def stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

As far as this type of hotel goes several things were well above average and expectation, Received a lot of help and great service from Karen. Rooms clean, well appointed, pool rather over chlorinated the smell of which permeated everything. Someone needs to learn to make coffee, the breakfast and all day comp coffee was so weak it was really just colored water.
Everything else though good, and in a good state of repair

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pheephox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Parking lot had some parts that were lit up but some parts were dark and could use the lighting. Check In, we had to wait until we were acknowledged. If you had prepaid, they didn't care for you, as they already had their money. Room could have been cleaner. The door in our hotel had a huge gap around the frame, especially at the bottom and on the side, at least one inch. The floors had not been vacuumed very well, as the dirt was thick within the crevices. The bathroom tub was heavily stained black and mildewed. The bathroom set up was very cramped. When the door opens, it's right at the toilet. Barely slept in the bed as the sheets were itchy and smelled. The A/C was a window unit that blew out smelly air. Definitely not a noise proof hotel. Breakfast wasn't bad, but played it safe by eating cereal and fruit. Do yourself a favor and sleep/stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BizTravlerJunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hagerstown hotels

Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to stay here for a little getaway. We had planned on going to dinner, shopping and possible out for a few drinks, so we didnt want to drive all the way home. When we arrived to check in, the front desk attendent was very rude. It had seemed like we were interrupting her for some reason. She handed me our key cards and sent us on our way. The hotel is fairly large, so I had no idea where I was headed. Had to ask, on several separate occasions, where and when things were located (including our room). After some exploring, we found that there is a bar/resaurant and a night club attached to the hotel itself. This would have been good to know upon check in. However, we did have a wonderful time in both. We didn't even have to leave the hotel in order to enjoy an evening out! There is also a very large pool in the very center of the hotel. Our room was poolside so all we had to do was go through the sliding glass door in our room. The room was very clean and the bed was super comfy! All in all, we had a wonderful time and were very happy with our stay. At checkout, the manager was very friendly and apologetic about the rude employee the night before and assured me she would address the issue. Needless to say, we will defiitely be back for another stay.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brib245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here so that we could have a child free night. The location is excellent if you want to go to the bars that are next door. Everything is connected so we had dinner and then enjoyed a fun night of people watching at the bar next door, Cancun Catina West. The hotel front desk was very nice to deal with. The rooms were clean and spacious. The pool area looked great and would be nice to take kids to enjoy. They offered breakfast in the morning but we did not get a chance to use our tickets. My only compliant was the curtains were not blackout so there was quite a bit of light coming through in the morning. Overall a great overnight stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaMDGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed just one night but found the property to be neat and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful with regard to coming in with no advance reservation. The breakfast in the morning was more than adequate with hot options. Would stay there again if opportunity presents itself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HayesP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hagerstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#10 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Hagerstown
Ramada Plaza Hagerstown
#4 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown
Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown
#12 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Hagerstown
Days Inn Hagerstown
#13 of 21 in Hagerstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown

Property: Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown
Address: 901 Dual Highway, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel under $3 million renovation to be completed end June 2008. Located on the edge of downtown historic Hagerstown, MD. Off I-70. Minutes from I-81 Complimentary Deluxe Continental breakfast. Pool Bar. Landscaped gardens with rare water features. Beautiful new meeting rooms. Executive Business Suite and Board Room. Many choices available for meetings of all sizes and types. Full food and Beverage service. Perfect for Weddings, Receptions, Reunions, Business Meetings or just relaxing with the family and swimming in our heated indoor pool. Private Parking. Beautiful tropical atrium with heated indoor pool. Free Internet. Business Center. Want comfort and Luxury -as well as friendly and hospitable service - then come stay with us. New Photos will be posted as renovation proceeds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Hagerstown
Clarion Hagerstown
Hagerstown Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing