We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel I Never Heard Of”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Hagerstown
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Booked a room at this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews. Had never heard of Plaza Hotels before - not sure if it is a chain or not. Very, very nice hotel that is kind of secluded. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Lots of places to eat in the area, but that's about it. Couldn't find any shopping or outdoor activities nearby on a Sunday night. For a clean, quiet, comfortable room at a great price, this is the place to stay in Hagerstown. Staying here again in October for races at the Hagerstown Speedway.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaceTrackHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

942 - 948 of 964 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2009

The decor of Plaza Hotel's lobby, hallways, and guestroom was dated: emerald green carpets with burgundy upholstery gave me an 80s flashback. I wouldn't recommend Plaza Hotel for a business trip if you're trying to impress coworkers. My room had all the necessities (iron, hair dryer, coffee maker, mini frig, flat-screen TV), so I had a comfortable stay. However, the room rate was a bit overpriced ($95 before taxes), considering that I've stayed in nicer hotels in more urban locales for $100/night before. I wondered whether better deals are to be had at the Holiday Inn Express next door.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FollowThisBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Overall, I'd agree with the majority of recent posts--don't pass the hotel by merely becauase it doesn't have a chain name associated with it nor accrue "points" for you.

I recently stayed at the hotel for 5 days for a hobby function where we've been meeting at the hotel for nearly 20 years (although this was my first time at the event). The hotel is well kept up, well lit and has all that you'd expect in a hotel. Staff was very pleasant and our room at least was quickly made up. A very solid choice for business or a stop over. I'd probably say its lacking for kids or families in terms of amenities, "fun", or asethetics, and certainly not a romantic setting.

the breakfast (at least that was offered as a buffet style one for our large group) was the minimum to get you going. A nicer offering would have been appreciated, but they did comp it for our group each day we were there, so that might have dictated the quality.

The pool was fine. It is a deep pool in a quiet room. There is an adequate exercise room on the 2nd floor that takes a bit to find.

The hotel is walking distance to a few restaurants (an Outback and a Wild Wings 3 and a really nice Bob Evans) and as someone said a "stone's throw" to a mall and several other shopping areas. Its access off the highway is not intiutive, but look for and follow the signs and you'll get there. Even after 5 days, I couldn't quite get my bearings in relation to the mall, but really the destinations are close.

Nothing more to add--I will just affirm what our fellow travelers before me have said about the Plaza Hotel- it's worth the stop if you're in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relambjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

The Plaza may be a bit tricky to get to, but honestly it's not much of an issue. Located perfectly for anyone travelling either I-70 or I-81, this property is located at an interchange that features almost every conceivable luxury for which a traveller might have need. Featuring an excellent restuarant and lounge, a friendly staff and very nice rooms to boot (at reasonable rates I might add) , don't make the mistake of dismissing this property solely because it is unbranded. The Plaza is certainly a very welcome suprise and we look forward to a return visit the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TigeAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

I recently stayed at the Plaza as a second choice, but from now on it will be my first choice. Just because it doesn't have a chain logo attached by no means detracts from the quality, cleanliness and service. I've stayed at pricier hotels and was not as impressed as I was with the Plaza. The location is excellent for travelers on Interstates 81 and 70. The Hagerstown Mall is a "stone's throw" away. I can't wait until this winter when I can stay there again and spend time skiing at nearby Whitetail Ski Resort. Nearby Black Rock Golf Course was on my agenda but bad weather prevailed. Finally, the food at the Fireside restaurant was as good as I've eaten in the finer New York and Chicago restaurants. The Plaza is a fantastic place to stay if you're in the Hagerstown area.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reallyhardtoplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

I recently stayed at this hotel as a getaway. Everything was in order from walking in to having pleasant people on the front desk to a perfectly clean room with a spotless bathroom. Everything was in working order ( many hotels you have to call the front desk for something). The pool was very inviting along with a relaxing spa. Later on we had dinner at the hotel restaurant called "The Fireside Rest. & Lounge" . We were greeted with a wonderful friendly staff. Our waitress was very attentive and friendly. Our meal was done to perfection and tasty too. We couldn't have it any better. The hotel throughtout was clean, appointed in a lovely decor, and a great staff. We would recommend this hotel on an A+ basis. We are looking forward to our next getaway and it will be at this hotel - The Plaza in Hagerstown, Md.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

My business traveling partner suggested we stay here (personally, I like to stay at chain hotels", so I went with it. For 79 Bucks, what can you expect. The rooms are outdated and need new carpet, drapes and total rehab. However, the staff seemed to have more charm that the average Hilton/Marriott....
All in all, I think we all need to keep in mind that you DO get what you pay for!
Bargain hunters might get a deal here, but then how can you complain?
So far, I have my slipper on, have noticed the unusal "trap' on the floor, but have seen NO bugs (yet).
Travel on!

Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
2  Thank daisy20071960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hagerstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
806 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
#3 of 21 in Hagerstown
693 reviews
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hagerstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Hagerstown

Address: 1718 Underpass Way, Hagerstown, MD 21740-6961
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hagerstown
#6 Business Hotel in Hagerstown
#8 Family Hotel in Hagerstown
Price Range: $84 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Hagerstown 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza Hotel Hagerstown, MD is conveniently located just off of Interstate 81 at Exit 5A and .5 miles North of Interstate 70. Our location is just minutes away from Historic Downtown Hagerstown, Hagerstown Premium Outlets, the Valley Mall and the Hagerstown Regional Airport. Accommodations for 158 spacious Guest Rooms and 7,158 total square footage of Meeting Room Space makes our facility ideal for Group Tour Business, as well as, a Corporate Event, Conference or Meeting. We offer Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast, Free Wireless High Speed Internet, In-Room Refrigerators, In Room Coffee-Makers, Hairdryers, Irons and Ironing Boards. Dining is always a memorable experience at our onsite Fireside Restaurant and Lounge offering a full menu of steaks, seafood and other American Specialties. The Fireside is known for their famous Maryland Crab Cakes and Delicious Prime Rib. If planning a business meeting, wedding or banquet the Fireside will cater your event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Plaza Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Hagerstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing