We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wish I spent more $$ and went somewhere else” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Venice Hotel Wedding & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grand Venice Hotel Wedding & Conference Center
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wish I spent more $$ and went somewhere else”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The first night we arrived after 9:00 PM and no one was at the front desk. So, I rang the bell and waited and waited. Then I rang the bell again several times and it appeared I woke the guy up who came out from the back. He greeted us and checked us in and handed us the room cards. Up to the room we went which was located all the way at the end of the hallway. We get there and the cards don't work for either card. We check to make sure we have the correct room which was written on the envelope and sure enough, it was correct. However, the person who was checked into that room was not happy we were outside their door trying to get in. So, back all the way down the hallway to the elevator to the front desk again and no sorry, it must have been a computer error. So, back up the elevator and again all the way down that hallway to now a room where the card worked. The room was spacious, the bed comfy. After an exhaustive day of driving and visiting family, we were ready for bed. As soon as we get to bed the fire alarm goes off. Again, out of bed to find out what is going on. We were told there is another glitch with the alarm and not to worry. It goes off again another six times during the night. So much for sleep. The second night, again we are exhausted from visiting friends/family and ready for sleep. We have a very long day of driving ahead of us in the afternoon and want a good nights sleep. Of course, that didn't happen. On the floor we were staying a lot of people were drinking and carrying on. They then decided to start yelling and screaming and running up and down the hallway banging on doors (ours included). After we complained, it took the front desk over a hour to get these people under control. We used this place just to sleep. We picked it because it was close to our family/friends and the price was right. We had no idea our stay would be so bad because the reviews on TA were not bad. Next Christmas we will pay more money and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michelemejia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venicegrand, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Grand Venice Hotel Wedding & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
First, I would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback and apologize for all of the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us.

I understand the frustration of traveling all day and just wanting to get to your room only to find the key doesn’t work. The issue has been addressed with the new front desk person and they have received additional training.

We did have a company come out to look at the fire alarm system that same night and the issue has been fixed.

Again, I apologize for your less than satisfactory experience. We are always striving to improve our property and hope that if you find yourself in the Hagerstown area, you’ll give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    99
    68
    37
    30
See reviews for
97
95
39
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Was in the area for work... and heard this hotel was nice from co-workers. The staff was great! Great lobby. The room was large, clean and had a nice HDTV. Was nice to have a fitness room to work out in ... and even free breakfast. I'm not sure when I will be back in the area for work -- but I will stay there again when I do.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venicegrand, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Grand Venice Hotel Wedding & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to send us your comments. We do have a wonderful staff and it shows to our guests. We know you have many choices when traveling and we are glad you selected our Best Western property. Our rooms are a great size for relaxing and enjoying your stay. We can’t wait to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The building seems to be well maintained and clean. The breakfast was fine for a continental breakfast, basic cereal, bagels and pastries and watered-down juice from a machine. My room was at least $25 - $30 per night less than any other place in Hagerstown. I think that's because it is in town and away from the interstates where all the shopping centers and newer lodging is. The neighborhood isn't bad but declining so that probably discourages people from staying there. But I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venicegrand, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Grand Venice Hotel Wedding & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you so much for sending us your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you saw the value in our prices. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Spent two days in the area at this hotel. The staff was very courteous and professional. The room was clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast was good, great selections. It is relatively easy to get to and is located near to many restaurants. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dianna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venicegrand, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Grand Venice Hotel Wedding & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dianna, thank you so much for taking time to send us your comments. I will pass along your kind words to our staff. We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast and your room. We are in a great location for access to restaurants, shopping, and historical sites. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The staff at this hotel was awesome. Always nice, friendly and offering to help with everything. Hotel is starting to show some signs of age and use but overall clean and acceptable. Bed was extremely comfortable and had one of the best night's sleep. Rooms are generous in size. Overall nice stay. Would stay again in a heartbeat and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brian W D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venicegrand, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Grand Venice Hotel Wedding & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Brian, thank you so much for taking time to send us your feedback and recognizing our staff. Our rooms are a great size for relaxing and enjoying your stay. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Attended a wedding at Thorpe lodge in the Catoctin Mountains. This hotel was the closest Best Western to stay at. The rate offered was reasonable. The breakfast was good, I like to make my own waffles. The room had a King bed and it was roomy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venicegrand, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Grand Venice Hotel Wedding & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to send us your comments. We know you have many choices when traveling and we are glad you selected our Best Western property. Our rooms are a great size for relaxing and enjoying your stay. If you find yourself in our area again, we hope to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beltsville, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Michele made my check-in a breeze. Very friendly & helpful. Nice breakfast seection. Everything was fine.Will stay again. The location is ideal & convenient to almost anything in Hagerstown. I especially enjoyed the snack table during the day and the privacy was greatly apprecialted..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venicegrand, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Grand Venice Hotel Wedding & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to send us your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Michelle always greets everyone with a warm smile and makes check-in so easy. We are glad you selected Best Western Grand Venice Hotel. As you stated we are in a perfect location whether you are looking to shop or visit historic sites. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hagerstown hotels
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 stars 585 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#10 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Hagerstown
Ramada Plaza Hagerstown
#4 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.0 of 5 stars 822 reviews
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
#2 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Venice Hotel Wedding & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Venice Hotel Wedding & Conference Center

Property: BEST WESTERN Grand Venice Hotel Wedding & Conference Center
Address: 431 Dual Hwy, Hagerstown, MD 21740-5713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Venice Hotel Wedding & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Venice Hotel Wedding & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hagerstown
Hagerstown Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing