We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Surprise Find - Modern but comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LJ’s Restaurant

LJ’s Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 244 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Eastern Blvd.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Surprise Find - Modern but comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner at the bar. They have a really good selection of wine by the glass. The bartender was very knowledgable about both the wine and the food. They have a small but innovative menu and seemed to do everthing quite well. Loved the blistered olives and the tuna entree was great. With 2 appetizers, one entree was enough for 2 people. Very pleased with our dinner.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank pjj89511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    24
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I like LJ's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I used to have lunch at LJ's years ago and totally enjoyed it every time. They no longer serve lunch but I have had dinner there on occasion but not recently. My husband and I celebrated our anniversary there and birthdays several times. After reading some of the reviews, which are not favorable, I wonder if anything has changed since I've eaten there. I must try it again soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A downtown DC restaurant in Hagerstown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I eat at LJ's frequently and always enjoy their interesting cuisine, quiet atmosphere and attentive service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IraLourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Horrible buffet - Almost everything was cold”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

If you're ever in Hagerstown and looking for a good buffet, don't bother with this place. It was Mother's Day, and apparently mom did not need a hot meal. Everything from the fried chicken, salmon, and roast beef was cold. The macaroni and cheese was lukewarm. There was a pasta bar with a "chef" who cooked ingredients "to order" but went overboard with the garlic. The desserts seemed stale. Our server was nice. Overall it was a disappointing and over priced experience. I would recommend eating elsewhere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ima_little_hungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I would not recommend LJ's and the Kat lounge to anyone.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The food was way too salty. We tried the trout and were totally dissatisfied! Didn't even eat half of it! The presentation was poor as well. Thank God for the beer! We tried the house salad and again we were heavily disappointed! It was plain romaine salad..with some type of lemon dressing...gross. We didn't even want to stay for dessert fearing more disappointment. All and all we disliked LJ's and the Kat lounge. By the way, this was our second and will be the last time eating here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jasonb12400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LJ’s Restaurant also viewed

 
Hagerstown, MD
 

Been to LJ’s Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing