We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortably escaped ravages of Hurricane Irene here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites Hagerstown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortably escaped ravages of Hurricane Irene here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed here over the weekend that Hurricane Irene ravaged the eastern seaboard of the US. Through Expedia, we booked two suites online with another couple, and we chose this location because it was reasonably close to the factory outlet malls and had several food options very close by. Also, it was pet friendly and we had to bring our two cats and our aging dog.

The suites were a good size and nicely laid out, though we didn't get the larger 1bedroom requested (and paid for) for the other couple, who were travelling with a toddler and a dog. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfy with good quality linens and abundant pillows. I appreciated the large leather ottoman placed in front of the pull out couch, and the very comfortable desk with free high speed Internet that was actually properly high speed. They provided also a full size ironing board and iron, and a hair dryer, amenities that can be lacking in some suite hotels in this price range. The fridge was full size, and the room also had a full ceramic flat top cooktop. a microwave, and a coffee maker. A full range of cooking and eating items were available, though we would have appreciated them including an actual corkscrew in each room. The one provided in our room was so dull and thick it broke our bottle's cork into a dozen pieces. The free microwave popcorn was a nice touch, as was the flat screen television viewable both from the couch and from the bed.

Note to families with small children: There are no tubs in these. Instead there is a large shower area with a single shower head. If your child doesn't like showers, you should perhaps find another place to stay. Also, the way the overly large (wheelchair accessible? ) door to the bathroom works, it ends up barely clearing the toilet. so be careful of children around this door.

The full breakfast in the morning was decent, though the potatoes were incredibly oily on the first morning (could have poured 1/4 of a cup of oil off of my spoonful) and on the Sunday, the weird sausage stuffing was a lumpen paste, even when the dish was fresh. The eggs were ok, but were obviously microwaved, and on the Sunday, they had runout of every single kind of breakfast bread, pastry and bagel by 8:30 am. Asking for more from the staff elicited a shrug, and a pursing of the lips, but nothing else. The coffee was pretty good though, with a mild, a strong and a decaf on offering, and they had to-go mugs with nice Starbux style lids.

On checkout we were interrogated about our dog (who hadn't issued a peep during our visit given she's blind and deaf) and informed huffily that we were supposed to pay a $50 "pet fee" upon checkin. We booked through Expedia and told them about our pets - it was our job to also once again inform the hotel? This was the first we heard about this and we dug our heels in, refusing to pay a fee after the fact. He pushed at us a bit then gave us a lecture about the fee before saying he'd wave it "this time only" and wagging a finger at us, with his nose in the air and his voice chilly and uppity the whole time, talking to us condescendingly and suspiciously as if we were simpleton criminals. This soured the stay.

Overall, it was a good place to stay, comfortable and well kept and stylish. While I might stay here again on a "ladies shopping spree", I wouldn't bring small children here though for long, and I wouldn't bring my dog back given the exorbitant fee and the staff attitude.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taryelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    125
    31
    12
    7
See reviews for
240
164
32
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

A few years ago, we decided to give Homewood Suites a try. This was our first and it is still our favorite. Good location. Close to the Interstates, shopping, and other attractions, but also quiet. Our room was airy and clean, as usual. The full kitchen is an added plus. The suite we were given during this stay did not have an easy chair. However, we were provided with a chair within 30 minutes of our request. The staff couldn't have been nicer and willing to make our stay enjoyable. We recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamblinRose60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgrhw, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Hagerstown, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear Rose,

THANK YOU SO MUCH..for this wonderful review. We are always pleased to read a positive review but it means even more to us when coming from a returning guest. I am so pleased that our staff responded so quickly to your needs. It is my hope that you stop by and introduces yourself upon your return to Hagerstown. We look forward to seeing you again and Thanks a million for being a loyal Homewood customer.

Safe Travels,
Francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Staff here go out of thier way to help - even when under pressure such as breakfast serving. The desk too was cheerful and helpful with enquiries. Our roomwas cleaned t a high standard. The bathroom layout is unusual but not a major problem. Re-cycling however does not seem to be high on the management agenda.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skanepog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgrhw, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Hagerstown, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our hotel. We are so pleased that we have an opportunity to serve guests from around the world each day. It was also interesting that you noted the need for re-cycling. We are currently working with our Hilton brand affiliates on our "Green Certification" this program would incorporate re-cycling standards as well as several conservation standards so that we do our part in perserving our global community. It is my hope that you visit us again in the future so that you can see our progress in this area. Thanks a million for choosing the Homewood Suites in Hagerstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

I enjoy staying at Homewood Suites as the rooms are usually nice and comfortable. I've stayed at this particular property 4 times in the past year as my daughter goes to overnight camp in the area. The hotel is always clean, staff are friendly, breakfast is good, and there is a pool, hot tub, and outdoor b-ball court. i would stay here again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stacybbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgrhw, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Hagerstown, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Stacy..THANK YOU SO MUCH for your kind review. I am so happy that you have visited us not just once but 4 times througout the year. I am so pleased that you enjoy your time at the hotel while your daughter is attending camp. It is my hope that we shall have the opportunity to meet in person the next time you visit our hotel. Thanks a million for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed here in July for a softball tournament. The hotel was very comfortable and inviting. The staff couldn't have been more helpful giving directions to the civil war battlefield of Antieam and recommendations for good pizza in town. The morning brfeakfast consisted of large hashbrowns, eggs, and sausage as well as fruit yogurt waffles coffee juices toast. There was plenty of variety for the vegan me and the carnivore softball daughter. The lobby has a large tv which was a great meeting place for the team, a basketball court and a nice but smallish swimming pool and hottub/jacuzzi. The room was clean and tidy. Coffee was provided and microwave popcorn, a refirgerator and stove and dishwasher. My only complaint would be that there was not an ice machine on my floor but there was one on the floor below. whcih was readily accessable by elevator an stairs. The hotel is located right off of rt 81 and convenient to local malls and shopping. Am planning to stay here again next year for the same tourney.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gammij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
327 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Arrived late (shortly after midnight) in July 2011. The mumbling, disinterested front desk staff checked us in.

Our first impression was that the place was HUGE. When we finally got to our room (down a series of LONG hallways that had the eeriness of "The Shining") we found our room to be well-appointed, clean, and quite large. We crashed shortly thereafter.

When we came down for breakfast at 8:30 (9 was the latest you could arrive) we found many choices unavailable. It became clear pretty soon that the staff wasn't going to be filling any of the hot food options anytime soon (nor did they while we sat in the breakfast area), so we noshed on what was available to us--primarily the fruit options and coffee.

As families arrived hoping to snag something for the kids, we saw them disappointed--the eggs were gone, as was the "breakfast special"--southwestern potatoes (whatever that was). Not sure where the food staff went, but, as we left, it looked more like things were winding down, and not continuing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MongoSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexford, New York, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

Our stay at Homewood Suites in Hagerstown MD was excellent! The service, the staff, the amenities...all outstanding! We would recommend this place to anyone looking for a hotel in Hagerstown MD. The location was perfect...restaurants and shopping within walking distance. The hotel itself had many amenities to keep the entire family entertained. We absolutely loved it!

Room Tip: Let the staff know what you prefer and I believe they will go above and beyond to get to set you up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KovsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hagerstown hotels
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Hagerstown
SpringHill Suites Hagerstown
#4 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Hagerstown
Courtyard Hagerstown
#9 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Hagerstown
Ramada Plaza Hagerstown
#5 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Hagerstown

Property: Homewood Suites Hagerstown
Address: 1650 Pullman Lane, Hagerstown, MD 21740-7132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hagerstown
#1 Family Hotel in Hagerstown
#1 Business Hotel in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Hagerstown 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Homewood Suites Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Hagerstown Hotel Hagerstown
Homewood Hagerstown
Hagerstown Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing