We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly Bavarian”

Schmankerl Stube Bavarian Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 258 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edgewood, Maryland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Truly Bavarian”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We make a special two-plus hour trip to Hagerstown every now and then when we want a TRULY Bavarian German dinner. This time was no exception for the meal was excellent and the surroundings very pleasant. Plan on a leisurely meal as the foods are prepared to order and not to be rushed. Enjoy one of the many imported German draft or bottled beers or even the non-alcoholic Bitburger pilsner while you wait. Better yet, try an appetizer that was perfectly done, namely the fried camembert with fresh cranberry sauce. For our party of 8, we had a variety of dinners and EVERYTHING was scrumptious. The 'ulmer metzgerplatte' featured two grilled Bavarian bratwurst with sauerkraut, spaetzle and steamed broccoli all cooked to perfection. The spaetzle with Swiss Cheese and fried onion topping entree was just like the dish we enjoy when in Bavaria. The combo platter for two is quite sufficient as there are two of each of beef filet medallions, schnitzel, bratwurst all served with potato salad, sauerkraut, red cabbage, and haricot vert (green beans) wrapped in bacon. A great selection. The service was exemplary and our waitress was very cheerful. We finished our wonderful meal with a sampling of desserts to include a German cheesecake made with cottage cheese, a Black Forest cake and of course, a Bavarian apple strudel. A comforting and memorable meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    107
    31
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Deelish!!!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We found this restaurant on Trip Advisor, and wow what a great suggestion! :-)
The decor was charming, the restaurant was spotless, and the food and service were amazing! Try it ... you won't be disappointed!

Helpful?
1 Thank 4evrbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New Jersey
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wunderbar!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

WOW! What an amazing find! Schmankerl Stube has the BEST food in an authentic German atmosphere. The Sauerbraten was fabulous. The Münchener Sahnegeschnetzeltes was delicious (I have no idea how to pronounce it, but I DO know how to eat it!). They had potato soup and a special-of-the-day cream of leek soup ... I asked the server if the chef could combine the two .. and it was great! The desserts were absolutely amazing. If I lived closer, I'd want to eat there every day. It's THAT good!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Capebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Food, Extremely Clean, Better than eating in Germany”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We visited this restaurant on Mother’s Day, one of the busiest days to eat out. From the moment we entered everything was perfect. The host greeted us with a smile and I noticed the uniforms and they seemed to be authentic looking, very impressive. The decorations and even the window drapes are amazing. We ordered a sampler type platter that we could enjoy many different items all at the same time. All the sausages were full of flavor, the bratwurst and knockwurst were GREAT ! The black forest cake was moist and very flavorful. The slice was huge, and the was not something brought in on a truck, nope homemade.

They do accept reservations, even for 2 people. Wow very impressed we will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Soccer_Nana2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place is fabulous”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We found this restaurant on trip advisor and we weren't disappointed . The food and the service were equally wonderful . We loved everything about this place. A must try for sure.

Helpful?
2 Thank jm4site
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schmankerl Stube Bavarian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Schmankerl Stube Bavarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing