We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Great Value if you are a member of the Carlson Club!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Great Value if you are a member of the Carlson Club!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Made last minute reservations while traveling through to New York. They don't accept pets but were very accommodating to my service dog. Other hotel chains have frowned at me in the past but I've never had a problem with Country Inns and Suites. The room was very large and comfortable. The beds were great after a long days drive. Hotel staff was extremely nice and the free breakfast was very good. Bacon, scrambled eggs, waffles, juice, toast, muffins, and on and on. Very tasty.
Easy off and on to the interstate. Very safe area too.
Don't forget the COOKIES!!!

travelers tip:
Be sure to sign up for the Carlson Club. We always stay at Country Inns and rarely pay full price for a room. I can use points plus $$ and almost always pay only half price. We've even stayed for Free many times. Get their Visa card and points add up even faster.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunnyrabbit812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    110
    62
    34
    31
See reviews for
191
108
21
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Wonderful staff. Everyone (the front desk, the breakfast staff, the cleaning staff, etc) were very attentive. We stayed here 4 nights to attend a family funeral and be with those in mourning. Hotel was clean. Bed was comfortable. We stayed in a room that was handicapped accessible as we needed it. Found the room accessible, would have preferred a roll in shower as this is easier for transfers for the person who needed it, but the tub bench helped. Only problem was a slight problem with AC, but it was during the recent heat wave. For some reason our choice was either very hot or very cold, we choose very cold and they provided extra blankets. Free breakfast was wonderful - lots of choices. Good service.

Room Tip: Found higher floors to be quieter. If need roll in shower access suggest you ask if they have avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PABNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Disappointed in the condition of the room. Found large toenail clipping between the beds, food on the floor, ripped bedding and an odd smell in the room. Bathroom was dark and the bath towels hung down behind the toilet lid.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debijoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns standards. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We were on the road traveling and had driven about 9 hours and we were exhausted. We called and Jean at the front desk was very nice. We drove off the highway and checked in. The room was comfortable and clean. I really can't complain about the price! A good place to hang for the night.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The staff was extremely helpful. Good location. The room looked clean and had nice decor. The bed was fabulous and the shower felt great. So why the bad review??

The thermostat on our AC didn't work, so it was either freeze to death or unplug it - which was also unwelcomed since it was over 95 degrees out during our stay.

Our room was located right across from the elevators, so it was really noisy. You either heard the people or the elevators themselves running all night. The first morning, we headed out to start our adventures and found someone's underwear hanging on our door knob. Thoughtful as that was, we brought plenty so we didn't need to share.

That morning we also found little ants in the bathroom and the counter in the bedroom. The room seemed really clean, so this was a surprise.

During our last night, I awoke to some sort of bug that fell from the heavens and hit me in the face (I even heard a ricochet noise as it bounced off). I jumped up flinging sheets, pillows, arms... Thinking I launched said mystery bug somewhere off into the night a safe distance from myself and the bed, I laid back down. Not yet asleep, I felt something crawling by my elbow and proceeded to beat at the sheets and finally woke my boyfriend who thought I was dreaming...until he started flailing about and swatting at his head too. We finally had to get up, turn on the lights, and shake out the sheets.

Breakfast for either of the two mornings wasn't that great either. The hard boiled eggs were unnaturally rubbery and tasted as much. The mixed fruit had a near-spoiled taste. The sausage and potatoes were good though.

The indoor pool is small and usually filled with kids. But it was nice for a quick cool down.

We didn't bother complaining about the other stuff because we were rarely in our room and the hotel was booked up so we had no other room options anyways. (And it was the weekend of the 150th anniversary of the battle of Gettysburg, so everywhere was booked.)

The hotel had so many positives but the negatives were enough that we probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oysterbaby11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel was a good value. Accomodations were lovely and clean. Exercise room was well equipped. Upon check-in on a Friday night the woman at the desk was extremely helpful. The only thing negative I have to say is about the woman working the front desk on Saturday and Sunday morning. She started yelling at the poor woman prepping the breakfast because she was putting out the food too early. (Obviously she was unaware that this had been prearranged due to early sporting events for the majority of the guests.) Yelling at another employee in front of guests is unacceptable. The only flaw at the hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for work purposes. Clean, friendly, comfortable stay, fairly decent gym that was better equipped than others. Fairly large room with couch. Good for longer stay. Decent breakfast selection Nothing negative to say.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dctraveler6010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hagerstown hotels
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#2 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Hagerstown
Ramada Plaza Hagerstown
#4 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.0 of 5 stars 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Hagerstown
SpringHill Suites Hagerstown
#7 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown
Address: 17612 Valley Mall Rd, Hagerstown, MD 21740-6995
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Hagerstown
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown Hotel Hagerstown
Country Inn And Suites/Hagerstown
Country Inn Hagerstown
Hagerstown Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing